We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helped Wth Privacy Issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Auberge de Sedona
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Helped Wth Privacy Issue”
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Checked in to beautiful spa room, only to find it was ground level and nearly surrounded by sidewalks within the resort. Staff and guests could (and did) easily look in. I am not modest, but I am sure I scared a few people before I realized that ALL the shades had to be ALL the way down. Reception staff were very helpful. They moved me to a more private room, and even came out to check the new location with me.

Management should address the site lines in #63. Perhaps some form of privacy glazing could be installed in the side windows.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ascrrc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregVelasquez, Director of Sales at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, 11 June 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at L'Auberge de Sedona with the TripAdvisor community. We are addressing your concerns regarding the cottage site lines with our landscaping and engineering teams.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sedona!

Greg Velasquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,481
    451
    209
    96
    59
See reviews for
588
2,134
108
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2010

My wife and I were married at L'Auberge de Sedona on the last weekend of April 2010. The scenery was amazing and the food was great but far and away the best aspect of having our big day at L'Auberge was the amazing people that made every little detail their highest priority. From special ordering my mother's favorite beer for the reception to changing the type of bread an appetizer was served on to providing golf cart rides for grandparents everything that we could have wanted was provided by smiling and courteous people. The day was magnificent and literally nothing went wrong which I fully believe is due to the amazing staff at L'Auberge. I literally could not give them a stronger recommendation for any event that you could be planning.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallacesweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We stayed at l'Auberge de Sedona for three nights. I don't think we've ever been happier with a hotel. We stayed in a garden cottage which was large and well-appointed: king bed, wood-burning fireplace, private outdoor shower connected to the full bath, coffee maker in room, complementary pastries and coffee in the lodge each morning. The setting next to the creek is simply beautiful. We ate dinner two nights and lunch one day in their restaurant and thought the food was wonderful. The highlight of the meals, however, was the setting - right by beautiful Oak Creek, watching a great blue heron, ducks, and finches while enjoying fine dining. It couldn't be more peaceful. The hotel service was impeccable - very warm and welcoming. It is right next to downtown Sedona which is very touristy, but we didn't even walk down the main street. One of the three days we took a private tour (FIrst Class Tours) to the Grand Canyon. It was a long day, but an easy way to visit the Canyon. The hotel adds a 10% service fee added each day which covers all tipping except in the restaurant. Can't recommend this enough.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The resort does not measure up to its description or reputation. Value to price is poor and overall it is overpriced. The owners are adding additional units (cottages) onto an already congested property. The resort advertises creekside ambiance (necessary as there are few if any views of beautiful Sedona red rock country), yet few units border the creek. The views from the newer "spa" cottages are of the sides/backs of the neighboring units. Construction was underway from early am until evening during my stay, with noise, crews moving about the "serene" retreat. This was not relayed to me when I called to talk over the room options and dates. The spa also lacks views, although the pricey spa treatments were excellent. The restaurant was quite pricey (again price to value poor) and I had to laugh as it was not savvy to solo travelers --- I was shown to an inferior table at the edge of the room and had to point out a preferred available table. Then I was asked if I would like reading material! Train your staff - solo travelers are a notable demographic, expecting the same level of comfort, treatment as couples/groups. With that exception I would give the overall staff at the resort a very high rating.

Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank kamac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

I not a guy to make a review but I think people should know what they are paying for. Nice clean place to stay, but it's like a 4 star YMCA summer camp. Just a bunch of cabins crammed together with very little privacy. We rented a creekside cottage it was over $1200 for 2 nights. The way your front deck is layed out your looking right at your neighbors. Not at all what I expected. Put it this way I what to propose to my girlfriend there and I did not. So much for one of the most romantic resorts.
Also the maid service was lame very little effort in cleaning our cottage,
I tried to ask questions before I booked via e mail and got very little, sometimes no help.
On a positive note the have a no tipping policy and free cheese and wine every afternnon.
Bottom line wont wasted big money on this place again,

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Socallowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

I was looking for a special place to celebrate a milestone birthday and looked at different states to go but settled on Sedona, AZ. I reviewed different hotels and decided that the L'Auberge looked good. Because this is a special occasion we decided to splurge and get a cottage - it was much more than I wanted to spend but when I called to make the reservation the agent asked her manager if we could get a better rate and she quoted me a price that was still high but less than the original rate so I booked it.

I started to get nervous before we got here because the rate was high and I wanted to make sure that this was 'the' place I wanted to spend my birthday. I hit their website about a week ago (too late to cancel my reservations) and noticed that the cottage we booked was going for $10 more than our 'special' rate! Not good.

When we checked in last night I mentioned this to Becka the 'concierge' that checked us in and she stated 'Oh, our rates fluctuate'! At this point I was feeling my mood fluctuate and it wasn't good. She could have handled it better but clearly she doesn't know about customer service. Off we go to this 'garden cottage' - there wasn't a garden even close to it! From the side the deck overlooked the back of the restaurant and all the excess boxes, trash and extra furniture. The view from the front of the deck and the bedroom room looked at the entrance to the restaurant. We could see people coming, going and sitting on the restaurant patio. I was not pleased at all. On a positive note, the hotel left a bottle of champagne and strawberries for us. The room was very nice but I felt that our privacy was compromised. The window coverings consisted of 4 flimsy panels that barely covered the windows - not comforting when the windows overlooked the restaurant entrance.

This morning I asked to speak to someone about my dissatisfaction with the room and a nice young man at the desk suggested that he could help me. He was very friendly and seemed genuinely interested in making things right. He offered give us a 'complimentary' upgrade to a secluded cottage further down the path - he gave me the room number and circled it on the property map. He asked how soon we would be ready to move and I told him we could do it in half an hour. I called him in half an hour to let him know we were ready to move - He apologized and told me that house keeping hadn't finished with the room and it would be ready after breakfast. We waited for an hour or so and checked in with him to be told it would be the next one cleaned. We decided to walk down and check the cottage out and I was very pleased with the location and started feeling better about the place. We decided that we would drive to the Grand Canyon and check out the new room when we returned.

We returned this evening around 7PM and the woman at the front desk was helping another guest so my husband suggested that I walk down to the cottage and wait on the deck while he got the key. I headed out to the room and thought I was there but accidently walked up to the wrong cottage, I surprised a woman sitting on the deck in her robe, it was most embarrassing! She asked which place I was looking for and I told her, she then stated that there were people in that cottage! I thanked her and started to fume! What kind of outfit are they running here? I walked all the way back to the lodge to try and find my husband, luggage and our room. My husband wasn't there but Ryan at the front told me that he had moved us about an hour and a half ago to cottage #4. I explained that Matt had moved us early this morning to cottage #7. His reply was that #7 had been booked weeks ago. This place has no sense of customer service. I am now in cottage #4, the room has an odor and when we went outside to enjoy the deck the neighbors were out on theirs, smoking cigars!!!!

I will never come back here. I suggest that anyone else that wants to spend a healthy amount on a room/cottage and expect service to match it go elsewhere. I should have paid attention to a review that a gentleman made on trip advisor about a month ago - I would have cancelled my reservation before the cut off date. Unfortunately we are here one more night, on my birthday. What a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank flygirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

This hotel was top notch from the moment you arrived. You were met as you exited your car and didn't have to lift a finger from that point on. The hotel staff gave you complete attention and were friendly and helpful. The wine and beer tasting each evening was a nice touch. Personal shuttle service to the main road was a wonderful convenience.
We were upgraded to one of the new spa cottages and found it to be beautiful, comfortable and tasteful with a fabulous outdoor shower and a bed that made you feel as if you were sleeping on a cloud. Don't miss the Sunday brunch served by beautiful Oak Creek! This place was #1

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jh_ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
891 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge de Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge de Sedona

Property: L'Auberge de Sedona
Address: 301 L'Auberge Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-4260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sedona
#2 Family Hotel in Sedona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#2 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge de Sedona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Auberge de Sedona has the privilege of being one of the most beautiful hotels in the world. Surrounded by the towering red rocks of Sedona, we have an extraordinary and unique location on the banks of Oak Creek, where the air is cooler, the scenery even more beautiful and the atmosphere so tranquil and romantic that even the most seasoned traveler is awestruck. With staff who genuinely care – who greet you with warm, sincere smiles and go above and beyond to ensure you have a truly magical stay. We offer 87 meticulously appointed guest rooms and cottages spread across 11 acres of landscaped grounds. The cottages all have fireplaces and private decks; most have separate outdoor showers. Have a romantic dinner on our creekside patio, and you’ll see why L’Auberge Restaurant on Oak Creek was named "One of the Top Ten Restaurants in the Southwest" by Condé Nast Traveler. We’ve also received the Wine Spectator’s "Award of Excellence" 19 consecutive times. Our $25 million refurbishment includes a new indoor/outdoor wine bar and dining patio and an expanded spa for lounging after your day’s activities. And if you want more, there are lots of extras like yoga classes, daily duck feedings, evening stargazing sessions and pet-friendly rooms.But don’t take our word for it. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your L'Auberge de Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge De Sedona Hotel Sedona
Lauberge De Sedona
L'Auberge De Sedona Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing