We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views, breakfasts and hosts”
Review of The Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Penrose B&B
Ranked #12 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, breakfasts and hosts”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We just returned from a 3 day stay at The Penrose and had a wonderful time. Our room provided views of Bell and Courthouse Rocks, which are spectacular at all times of day, but are just breath-taking at sunrise and sunset. Whitney and Christie are very knowledgeable about Sedona trails and the surrounding area and happy to provide suggestions and advice. The breakfasts were beautiful and delicious. We highly recommend The Penrose and plan to stay the next time we visit Sedona.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DadzCanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    28
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
347
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I just recently returned from a trip to Sedona. We had originally planned to be hiking and camping in the Grand Canyon and Zion National Park (and had even planned to camp in Sedona once we had to make alternative plans), but due to the government shutdown, all such options were impossible. We called what seemed like every hotel in Sedona looking for a place to stay only to be told no one had a vacancy. An employee at one of those hotels recommended The Penrose, and we considered ourselves just lucky to have a place to stay. However, upon arrival, we couldn't get over how truly lucky we'd gotten. The Penrose is a clean, modern, and beautiful B&B. I'm not much for B&Bs that look as though someone has thrown every antique purchase he's ever made into a room just to give it an eclectic, vintage feel, so The Penrose was very much to my taste. The rooms are bright and have just enough character without being overwhelming. The views are simply stunning. The service is impeccable. The breakfast will go down as one of the best we've ever had. We loved it so much, we decided to stay an additional night. Whitney and Christie are the epitome of hospitality, and they add just enough small touches to set The Penrose apart from hotels and other B&Bs. We were particularly impressed that Whitney took the time to take our pictures in front of the red rocks and printed three photos for us to take home. Those pictures are some of the few we have of both of us during our time in Sedona. Whitney was also very knowledgeable about hikes in the area, and we're thankful we took his advice. In summary, what started as a huge disappointment (having to change plans at the last minute due to the shutdown and not getting to see the Grand Canyon and Zion) was made a lot better mostly thanks to The Penrose. If we are ever in Sedona again, there's no question about where we will stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LBD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I just returned form a trip to Sedona and what a wonderful stay at the Penrose. Christie and Whitney were both great, treat you like family and go the extra mile to make your stay memorable. We were in the Coconino room, at the end of the home and had the best view ever. The breakfast on the deck was great, the coyotes howling at night, the proximity to the best sites and the super friendly staff all made for a great stay. We didn't want to leave. Go and stay in the Coconino, you'll love it!

Room Tip: The Coconino
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I just returned from a 3 day stay at the Penrose with the Love of My Life.
We are both seasoned travelers and have stayed at a variety of hotels, boutique hotels and B&B's. The weekend was extremely nice and we felt at home as we were welcomed by our Hosts, Christie and Whitney along with their attentive staff.
Nice room, super gourmet breakfasts and the best view of the red rocks of Sedona. The Penrose is located very close to several Vortex spots and the energy was invigorating. We ate breakfast on the deck each morning and before breakfast enjoyed a cup of coffee on our private patio (in our Pjs). We felt as if we could touch the giant red rock mountains right outside our door. The B&B is located close to several good restaurants and just a 10 minute ride to Main Street Sedona. Try it, you'll love it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

After a twenty year build-up, our trip to Sedona still exceeded our expectations! The scenery was inspiring and beautiful; the Penrose B&B was gorgeous; the people were so helpful and friendly. I would recommend a visit with Whitney and Christy to anyone. We stayed in the Yavapai Room downstairs. It was lovely, clean and quiet. Loved the jacuzzi after a hot day of hiking, too. We would (hope to) go again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay here for our 15th wedding anniversary. We chose this B&B for the great reviews and the fabulous views ... And we are so glad we did!! Whitney & Christy, Francine, and Margie made us feel right at home. The views are unbelievable, the food fabulous, and you could not ask for better hosts! Very knowledgeable on the area, activities, and restaurants. They gave us a lot of good advice. And we enjoyed visiting with them all. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huntclub98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I were fortunate to find availability at the Penrose on short notice. The settings and accommodations were as advertised and better. Whitney and Christie were very cordial and made us feel at home. We have told our friends and this B&B is definitely on the list to re-visit. Sedona is a beautiful community and has excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtpoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
913 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
0.3 mi away
Cozy Cactus Bed and Breakfast
5.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penrose B&B

Property: The Penrose B&B
Address: 250 Red Butte Dr, Sedona, AZ 86351-7769
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penrose B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only b&b built on the side of one of Sedona's famous red rocks, The Penrose provides commanding views from every room of some of the formations that make Sedona a top-rated tourist attraction. Guests also enjoy gourmet breakfasts, flat-screen tvs, double jacuzzis or double showers, light airy rooms with uncluttered decor, and access to free drinks and snacks 24/7. For reservations of 5 or more nights, or 3 or more rooms, we require a deposit of one-half the total charge upon making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penrose B&B Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing