We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penrose was Fantastic !!!”
Review of The Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Penrose B&B
Ranked #10 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at The Penrose, it was our wedding ann. what a incredible view. We had such a wonderful stay and hope to return again someday. The breakfast was so yummy and different each morning.
Whitney, Christine, Caroline and all the staff was wonderful, made you feel at home. We have stayed at alot of B & B, but have to say this was the BEST one.

Room Tip: The room had a fantastic view, dual shower, clean and quite, also had a cd player with a cd - romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Sheila2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Took my Father here for a weekend birthday excursion around Sedona and we had a wonderful stay.

Both Whitney and Christine (+ Francine and everyone!) made our short time there a memorable experience. The rooms were very comfortable, breakfast was fantastic, and the extra attention given by all felt genuine & sincere; much appreciated.

Adding, the views from the rooms are simply breathtaking, as the location is well-situated in the valley, quiet & remote from road noise. Not forgetting, the homemade bar-cookies are a nice touch; just delicious!

Final word: All in all, absolutely no complaints; definitely recommend! :)

Room Tip: The higher the better ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the Penrose in April this year and it was the perfect place to stay; we hated to leave. Your hosts’ Whitney and Christine Pope take very good care of you. The service is excellent and the views from our balcony in the Kokopelli room were beautiful. It was a joy to tip toe down to the kitchen an hour before breakfast each day, pour two cups of dark roast, perfectly brewed, coffee and return to our room to enjoy the red rock views from our quiet balcony. Breakfast was always delicious featuring delightful variations on fresh fruit cups followed by the main course. At night it was easy to heat hot water for tea and eat one of Christine’s freshly made delicious treats.

Whitney was knowledgeable and very helpful in planning our daily hikes. I liked his map so much I went looking through two towns to buy one just like it. The loose leaf binder in our room suggesting points of interest and restaurants was comprehensive and the destinations were as advertised.

You are treated like family here. You feel relaxed. You feel at home.

We will stay here again on our next trip to Sedona.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickPezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Penrose was recommended by friends and I feel like buying them a nice bottle of wine! What a great place! First there is the location...not right in Sedona but very close by, very quiet residential neighborhood right on the edge of the Red Rock area. All the windows in the place have incredible views. We stayed in the Mariposa room which had a balcony facing the Bell Rock. Sedona has awe-inspiring beauty, and the Penrose does a great job of making the most of this location. We had never been to Sedona before and the knowledgeable innkeeper gave us an excellent overview of hiking in the area. He showed us a map that had to have 100 hikes mapped out on it but he knew every one! The food is fantastic and they were excellent about adapting to our vegetarian ways (in fact they emailed us ahead of time to ask for special requests). You can either eat in a small dining room or on the deck, each with amazing views. They always had snacks and drinks available, and in the evenings put out yummy cookie bars. Rooms were very comfortable and clean and, like I said, amazing views out of all of them. When we were leaving, the Innkeeper gave us some cookie bars for the road. I think I am spoiled for any other B&B.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ALC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We just returned from a 3 day stay at The Penrose and had a wonderful time. Our room provided views of Bell and Courthouse Rocks, which are spectacular at all times of day, but are just breath-taking at sunrise and sunset. Whitney and Christie are very knowledgeable about Sedona trails and the surrounding area and happy to provide suggestions and advice. The breakfasts were beautiful and delicious. We highly recommend The Penrose and plan to stay the next time we visit Sedona.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DadzCanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I just recently returned from a trip to Sedona. We had originally planned to be hiking and camping in the Grand Canyon and Zion National Park (and had even planned to camp in Sedona once we had to make alternative plans), but due to the government shutdown, all such options were impossible. We called what seemed like every hotel in Sedona looking for a place to stay only to be told no one had a vacancy. An employee at one of those hotels recommended The Penrose, and we considered ourselves just lucky to have a place to stay. However, upon arrival, we couldn't get over how truly lucky we'd gotten. The Penrose is a clean, modern, and beautiful B&B. I'm not much for B&Bs that look as though someone has thrown every antique purchase he's ever made into a room just to give it an eclectic, vintage feel, so The Penrose was very much to my taste. The rooms are bright and have just enough character without being overwhelming. The views are simply stunning. The service is impeccable. The breakfast will go down as one of the best we've ever had. We loved it so much, we decided to stay an additional night. Whitney and Christie are the epitome of hospitality, and they add just enough small touches to set The Penrose apart from hotels and other B&Bs. We were particularly impressed that Whitney took the time to take our pictures in front of the red rocks and printed three photos for us to take home. Those pictures are some of the few we have of both of us during our time in Sedona. Whitney was also very knowledgeable about hikes in the area, and we're thankful we took his advice. In summary, what started as a huge disappointment (having to change plans at the last minute due to the shutdown and not getting to see the Grand Canyon and Zion) was made a lot better mostly thanks to The Penrose. If we are ever in Sedona again, there's no question about where we will stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LBD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I just returned form a trip to Sedona and what a wonderful stay at the Penrose. Christie and Whitney were both great, treat you like family and go the extra mile to make your stay memorable. We were in the Coconino room, at the end of the home and had the best view ever. The breakfast on the deck was great, the coyotes howling at night, the proximity to the best sites and the super friendly staff all made for a great stay. We didn't want to leave. Go and stay in the Coconino, you'll love it!

Room Tip: The Coconino
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
0.3 mi away
Cozy Cactus Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
A Sunset Chateau
A Sunset Chateau
#7 of 29 in Sedona
1,178 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Suites at Sedona
The Suites at Sedona
#2 of 29 in Sedona
1,178 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sedona Views Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penrose B&B

Address: 250 Red Butte Dr, Sedona, AZ 86351-7769
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: £159 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penrose B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only b&b built on the side of one of Sedona's famous red rocks, The Penrose provides commanding views from every room of some of the formations that make Sedona a top-rated tourist attraction. Guests also enjoy gourmet breakfasts, flat-screen tvs, double jacuzzis or double showers, light airy rooms with uncluttered decor, and access to free drinks and snacks 24/7. For reservations of 5 or more nights, or 3 or more rooms, we require a deposit of one-half the total charge upon making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penrose B&B Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing