We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of The Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Penrose B&B
Ranked #10 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the Penrose. Our room was comfortable with a beautiful view (even in the bathroom!). We stayed in the coconino, which is possibly the smallest room, but with the best views! The breakfast was delicious every single day. The staff was helpful and kind. We enjoyed the special surprises the owners provide, such as evening cookies, free bottled waters, and a few others!we loved our time here! Great location for getting to hiking spots and Sedona!

Room Tip: Check out the website to pick your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marjory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Whitney and Christie are wonderful proprietors of this enchanting property.
The rooms are clean and cozy, each with an incredible view of the red rocks.
Located in a quiet area, which offers a relaxing experience.

Whitney never fails to offer advice and assistance for getting around the area, and they are so close to many ruins, sites, and shopping, you will be very happy for staying here.

I've vacationed here on two separate occasions in the past 4-5 years and I look forward to going back soon!

Also, the included breakfast cannot be missed! It is so delicious!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had a great experience for two nights at the The Penrose B&B. I'm really happy to stay this hotel and meet hotel's owner and family staffs. Let me super recommend you. You will have a brilliant exprience there. Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toshiyuki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Penrose with our grandson who is ten. Of course we loved the view, but were not sure how our grandson would like the visit. In summary, he loved it because he had a short climb up the hill behind the house and he thought that was great. Plus it was his first B&B and this was a whole new experience for him. So, in summary we had a delightful time and so did our grandson. In addition, our breakfast was over the top. We would recommend the Penrose to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It's hard to sing the Penrose's praises without repeating other reviews. The place really is as good as everyone says.

Whenever we travel, we try to stay in B & Bs, particularly for the personal touch that hosts provide. The Penrose is as good as any B & B at which we've stayed. The view from the eating area and rooms is spectacular. The breakfasts are as good as, if not better than, the breakfasts you get in the best restaurants. The hosts and staff are delightful and very well informed about the area. You can plan your day just from a short chat after breakfast. The rooms are a touch small, but the deck and large windows expand the space. Quiet. Clean.

Before we arrived, we thought the price of the room a bit steep, but learned after arrival that the hosts provide so much added value that a stay ends up being a good value. Little things like free drinks and snacks and an evening baked good added to the value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iambic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As a solo traveler I was looking for some peace and quiet away from the tourist mecca, but close enough to enjoy it if that's what I decided to do. The beauty that surrounds this B&B is incredible and the hosts and staff of the Penrose could not have been more accommodating. I stayed in the Mariposa room for the view I saw online and was not disappointed. Each room has it's own spectacular view of Nature's finest. The beds were amazingly comfortable, the room and the house itself was spotless and inviting and the staff was as invested in their guests as they would be their own families.
I was sad to leave this place and these new friends I made there. For an unmatched experience away from home, I would recommend the Penrose without hesitation.
Sue Fehling
Carol Stream, Illinois

Room Tip: Choosing a room at the Penrose is just a matter of taste in decor and whether you want a bath or a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfehling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Penrose is a great place to land after traveling, with spectacular views to excite any photographer, and a quiet respite, well-designed to accommodate the needs of a weary traveler; but, also well located as a launching point for exploring Oak Creek Canyon, the Grand Canyon, and many movie sites. The breakfast is a delight to the eye as well as the palate. The Penrose has a lot to commend it including the delightful owners and staff.

Room Tip: I'd choose upstairs on the east side -- the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
0.3 mi away
Cozy Cactus Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
A Sunset Chateau
A Sunset Chateau
#7 of 29 in Sedona
1,170 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Suites at Sedona
The Suites at Sedona
#2 of 29 in Sedona
1,173 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penrose B&B

Address: 250 Red Butte Dr, Sedona, AZ 86351-7769
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: £164 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penrose B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only b&b built on the side of one of Sedona's famous red rocks, The Penrose provides commanding views from every room of some of the formations that make Sedona a top-rated tourist attraction. Guests also enjoy gourmet breakfasts, flat-screen tvs, double jacuzzis or double showers, light airy rooms with uncluttered decor, and access to free drinks and snacks 24/7. For reservations of 5 or more nights, or 3 or more rooms, we require a deposit of one-half the total charge upon making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penrose B&B Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing