We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Penrose: spectacular b&b”
Review of The Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Penrose B&B
Ranked #10 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2005

Having found The Penrose from its terrific web site, we stayed there for 3 nights mid April. What a fantastic b&b for our Sedona vacation. The inn is a beautiful house in a spectacular location. It is in the Village of Oak Creek, and I was thankful not to be in uptown Sedona or on the strip that is 89A. Instead, The Penrose is in a quiet neighborhood with fabulous views of the red rock formations that make Sedona famous. Whitney, who owns and runs The Penrose, knew of every hike we wanted to take and provided us with maps, locations, and a run down of what to expect. The breakfasts were delicious, and the cook accomodated my every picky need. The accomations were comfortable, squeaky clean, tasteful without being pretentious. We couldn't have asked for anything better and we would definitely stay at The Penrose again when we make it back out to wonderful Sedona. Check it out for a fabulous base for your Sedona vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 486 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Eugene, Oregon
13
Reviewed 18 February 2004

I had an excellent time staying at the Penrose.My room was very clean with a spotless and modern bathroom. The food was delicious, with good variety. You can get free drinks anytime from the little refrigerator in the breakfast room. They also have a good collection of DVD's.The view really sets the place apart. The Penrose is up on a hill, with a commanding view of the valley. Plus it is right up against the red rocks, with a great view of Bell Rock. I hiked all around Sedona, and the view from the Pernose parking lot alone is hard to beat.All in all a great place -- highly recommend.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2003

Superb setting very quiet and close to the Red Rocks. The owners were hospitable, served us excellent breakfasts, and very helpful in planning our days activities. We spent four nights in this beautiful home, and highly recommend "The Penrose Bed and Breakfast"

4  Thank 2,468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2003

For our honeymoon in May, we went to the Southwest. First stop was Sedona. We stayed three night at the Penrose. We both highly recomend it. First and foremost, the owner, Whitney, was just great, as was the entire staff. Whitney was super nice and very helpful and accomodating with all our requests. Everything was first rate, first class. The breakfasts were wonderful and varied. The views there are to die for. Go to their website, it is very professionally done and really depicts what it is like there. The rooms all have great views and wonderfull balconies. We loved the time we spent there. After staying there, I just can't imagine staying any where else if we ever make it back to Sedona.

7  Thank curlyomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 April 2002

I recently visited the Penrose Bed and Breakfast in Sedona, Arizona after visting its comprehensive website. Although there are many beautiful pictures on the webpage, none really captured the awe-inspiring beauty of the view from my room (the Mariposa). Bell Rock could be seen in the distance, while Castle Rock is literally in the backyard (and makes for a enjoyable hike on its own). The combination of the light, airy, but cozy room with the undeniably scenic, peaceful, and varied landscape made me feel happy just to be alive!

I would also like to say that the owner/host Whitney Pope, was phenomenally accomodating and attentive. He was quite happy to arrange DVD selections, sight-seeing trips, and dinner reservations, all at no extra cost, leaving me to enjoy the beauty with no hassle at all.

The breakfast was delicious, the rooms were perfectly clean (including the bathroom, about which I am very particular), the host was gracious. All in all, the Penrose met my expectations in every way and I would recommend it without qualification.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Javelina für uns perfekt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank hirocro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
954 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
5.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
A Sunset Chateau
A Sunset Chateau
#7 of 29 in Sedona
1,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penrose B&B

Address: 250 Red Butte Dr, Sedona, AZ 86351-7769
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: £168 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penrose B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only b&b built on the side of one of Sedona's famous red rocks, The Penrose provides commanding views from every room of some of the formations that make Sedona a top-rated tourist attraction. Guests also enjoy gourmet breakfasts, flat-screen tvs, double jacuzzis or double showers, light airy rooms with uncluttered decor, and access to free drinks and snacks 24/7. For reservations of 5 or more nights, or 3 or more rooms, we require a deposit of one-half the total charge upon making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penrose B&B Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing