We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be pampered, enjoy outrageous care, and stay in the heart of Sedona red rock energy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Penrose B&B
Ranked #10 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be pampered, enjoy outrageous care, and stay in the heart of Sedona red rock energy”
Reviewed 28 November 2009

This was my second stay at The Penrose in Oak Creek Village. The village is just a 20 minute drive from the tourist center of Sedona. The setting is quiet, residential, and right in the red rocks. My room on the first floor opened directly out so I could enjoy the sun rise as it illuminated the rock formations. The staff go out of their way to coddle guests. Every need or desire is anticipated, including a library of DVDs, books describing wildlife, advice on hiking routes and points of interest. There's a fridge where guests can access all the bottled water, sodas, or Starbucks coffee treats you can swallow as well as a never empty fruit bowl. Breakfasts are superb, and special dietary needs are catered to. On departure, each guest receives a photo taken from the outdoor breakfast patio and a T-shirt. And my room had its own Jacuzzi to soak off the red dust after a day of hiking.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penjudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    28
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
339
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

I enjoyed a delightfully cozy 2-night stay at The Penrose (mid-November 2009). I chose to stay at this B&B for a personal retreat based on The Penrose website and TripAdvisor guest feedback. Both were accurate, reliable, and appreciated sources. This quiet hideaway offers the best views of the Bell Rock area – up close and personal, as well as spectacular star gazing against the midnight sky. My room (Mariposa) was impeccably clean, with lush white designer linens, plush pillows, and a comfy robe. Gracious hosts and staff with an attention to detail and care for my complete comfort made The Penrose a perfect choice for me.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enlighten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We spent three nights at the Penrose in the Mariposa Room. We loved our stay here. We had a personal balcony that overlooked the beautiful red rock of Sedona. Everyone here was very friendly and gave great suggestions. They always made our dinner reservations of our place of choice. The breakfasts in the morning were incredible! We sat out on the large patio each morning as the sun came up eating our breakfast. One example of breakfast we had was poached pear and yogurt with caramel praline french toast. The cook here is amazing! We hope to come back here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanttorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The Penrose B&B has a fantastic location at the foot of one of Sedona's red rock formations. The views are spectacular from the guest rooms and the breakfast porch. Having the owners on site was a pleasant change from other B&Bs. The Popes were friendly, accomodating and informative. The breakfasts were simply delicious and the company was engaging and friendly. We would highly recommend the Penrose B&B to anyone visiting the Sedona, AZ area. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyoming and NC
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed in the yavapai room and loved it. Being on the first floor has its advantages and the views were awesome in the room and on our patio. Private entrance made us feel like we were at home.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbsfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio,Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We recently spent three glorious days at The Penrose Bed & Breakfast. Located amidst stunning red rock formations, The Penrose provided both an easy access to Sedona’s/Oak Creek’s most famous attractions and a tranquil haven to retreat within at day’s end. Upon our arrival, we were thrilled with the manner in which The Penrose successfully captured a luxury resort feeling while maintaining the cozy atmosphere of a well-appointed home.
The suite option (Kokopelli & Javelina) afforded our family great privacy and the enjoyment of sharing breathtaking sunrises and sunsets from the balconies which spanned the length of each room. The bathrooms within our suite area simply sparkled. The large Jacuzzi tub in the Kokopelli and luxurious towels/spa goodies beaconed one to soothe away each day’s weary muscles. To cap off the evenings, we munched on homemade cookie bars (available each evening for those late night hunger pains) and watched the night’s falling stars stream across the crisp, clear skies.
The culinary magic of The Penrose was another enchanting highlight to our vacation. Chef Judy provided the perfect start to each busy day with a blend of scrumptious cuisine, lively conversation and lots of hot coffee. As Texans, we truly appreciated her vibrant twist on traditional southwestern dishes which made us feel as if we were dining in one of San Antonio’s finest Riverwalk restaurants. We spent equal time admiring and devouring each masterpiece!
Whitney and Christie Pope were delightful hosts from the moment we arrived...to the fond farewell which we reluctantly bid. Every desire we aspired for our dream vacation was made possible through their thoughtful planning. The Pope’s took the guess work out of our daily itinerary by providing informative folders listing local restaurants, tours and attractions. They were also available with lots of cheerful advice based on our interests. We left a part of our Texan hearts at The Penrose and we shall return to recapture the enchantment of this beautiful red rock oasis!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2009

I just got back from a 2 night stay at the Penrose..the view outside the balcony was stunning, breathtaking. The food was delicious. The atmosphere was so pleasant, as the owners are the loveliest of people. I had the misfortune of eating something unpleasant at the airport en route, and became ill while there. They guided me to a very good facility for local health care. Fortunately, I was better the next day, and enjoyed an excellent breakfast. I highly recommend this b&b, and did so at a conference I attended later in the week. I do hope I will be back one day.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti_Louisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
5.6 mi away
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penrose B&B

Property: The Penrose B&B
Address: 250 Red Butte Dr., Sedona, AZ 86351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penrose B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only b&b built on the side of one of Sedona's famous red rocks, The Penrose provides commanding views from every room of some of the formations that make Sedona a top-rated tourist attraction. Guests also enjoy gourmet breakfasts, flat-screen tvs, double jacuzzis or double showers, light airy rooms with uncluttered decor, and access to free drinks and snacks 24/7. For reservations of 5 or more nights, or 3 or more rooms, we require a deposit of one-half the total charge upon making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your The Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penrose B&B Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing