We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very wonderful”
Review of The Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Penrose B&B
Ranked #10 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So very wonderful”
Reviewed 8 August 2007

We stayed at the Penrose from Aug 3-5. We had the greatest experience staying there. Joy was wonderful and made sure that we got the horseback riding reservations that we had been trying for a week to get. The room (the kokopelli) was beautiful and had the most amazing views out of the many, many windows. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub which was so fantastic. The towels were soft and plush, and there were two robes for us to use. The bed was neither too soft nor too hard as other reviews have stated (personal taste, I believe).

There were DVD's and CD's that we could choose to listen to. There's a baby grand piano in the living room, and a telescope for your use. There were always little chocolates and the kitchen had fruits and drinks available at all times.

Breakfast was the highlight of each morning. We were served amazing meals. I am a very picky eater, and I tried some things that I would not normally have chosen. So good. We had a little hummingbird that hung out with us the first morning on the deck. There were bunnies and quail and various wildlife all around the area.

When we got home from horseback riding on Saturday night, there was a snake. We didn't get a good look at it because it was so dark and we just hurried past it...but that was a fun adventure.

Whitney was very kind and made sure we were comfortable. He took pictures of hubby and I and gave us a copy upon our departure. We also got t-shirts and lemon bars. :)

All in all, it was the best lodging experience we've ever had, and are definitely going to return to the Penrose.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — There was not a single moment that we didn't like. Honestly.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cndygrl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    28
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
352
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

If you want to avoid the crowds and traffic while enjoying a commanding view of the red rocks, this is the place. Conveniently located south of Sedona in a residential section of the Village of Oak Creek, it’s an easy 6 mile drive to the uptown tourist area. (We were there mid-week so no trouble with traffic, even with the road construction.)

We stayed two nights in the Coconino room which has an uninterrupted view of Bell Rock and Courthouse Butte…even from the two-person shower. Although small (by hotel standards but probably not for a B&B), the room was tastefully decorated and squeeky clean. Our only complaints were the matress was too soft for our liking and the water pressure was low. The breakfasts, served on the patio, were outstanding, and there was a refrigerator full of drinks, fresh fruit and bedtime snacks at our disposal. We were even given Sedona T-shirts when we checked out.

We booked the $625 Romantic package which included two nights, a $100 restaurant voucher (we ate at the Cowboy Club) and a choice of activity (we took the Pink Jeep Broken Arrow tour). If you do the math, the room rate turns out to be a bit less than a hotel like the Amara or L’Auberge.

  • Liked — Peace and quite, and the views.
  • Disliked — Mattress too soft for us (others might love it), low water pressure.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoReservations1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We stayed at the Penrose for four nights in the Kokopelli room. The linens were plush and the room was impeccably clean. Breakfast was excellent. The views are phenomenal from every room. They promptly addressed all of our needs. The location, just on the outskirts of Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek, was a plus- away from the traffic of the town. We had originally wanted to stay at a resort/spa but once we found the Penrose changed our mind. We had no regrets- it is only a few minutes away from the Hilton Resort where we enjoyed spa/golf for the day and then returned to the tranquility, views and personalized service at the Penrose. Thank you to everyone at the Penrose for a wonderful stay. We would highly recommend it. What a hidden treasure!

  • Liked — The views and service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blankenship98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2007

The Penrose B & B is a clean & comfortable place to stay with magnificent views from windows on all sides of our room.
We had our own balcony along with several other lovely choices of decks to eat a delicious, full breakfast. Chocolates, an evening snack, and a refrigerator full of drinks were there for our enjoyment. These owners thought of every comfort from supplying an ample amount of lotion for dry skin to CD's/DVD's for entertainment. Whitney, the owner helped us plan our hikes and drives while the rest of his pleasant staff answered questions about local restaurants. We received several surprise gifts at the end our stay and if you decide on the Penrose, you'll get them too! Sedona is a very touristy town so it was a pleasure to be away from it (only a few miles) in this quiet bed and breakfast. Thank you to the Popes for a delightful, relaxing stay at your B & B on the hill overlooking paradise. Paul & Diana

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Apples52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2007

We were at the Penrose for four nights. The rooms are on the small side but very tasteful. We stayed in two rooms - Kokopelli and Coconino; we like Coconino best because the view is outstanding, right out to the red rocks! Also, the Kokopelli room doesn't have a closet so your clothes are all hanging on a rack within eye-shot, making the room feel cluttered.
The water pressure in the showers was pretty bad, making hair washing quite a chore. The food was great and was served by the sweetest woman!
Something did taint our impression, though, even before we arrived. We were going to get married, just the two of us, and needed a place to do that. We inquired about doing it on the Penrose deck, and were told it would cost $450! We thought maybe the person who told us that didn't realize we were staying there, but when we got there and inquired, we were told that yes, the charge is $450!
I could see it if there was going to be a lot of people there...but it was going to be us, the officiant, and a photographer, for maybe 20 minutes! Come on...$450 is ludicrous.
We got the "Honeymoon package" and got massages. The spa that they use for this (New Sedona Day Spa) is not a spa at all - it's a storefront-type place with no locker room, no steam room or sauna, no robes. The "spa experience" just wasn't there. The massages we received on this first trip were pretty sub-par, too.
We told them that the massages weren't too good when we got back, and asked if there was somewhere else we could get our second massage. We were told we couldn't because the other places were "too expensive." We were pretty aggravated by that.
Our second massages were great, though. I'm pretty sure the spa was given the head's up that we weren't too happy with the first massages and they gave us what I'm sure were the best therapists they had. We upgraded from a 50-minute massage to a 1-1/2 hour massage, and the cost was astronomical (about $200 more, I think).
All in all, the Penrose was a nice place to stay but we were soured by the fee they wanted to charge us to get married on the deck.

  • Liked — The views
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3dogs4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

Nice room. Small, nothing too special. Nice hosts. Decent breakfast. Quiet location. Noisy fan and noisy when other guests came home at night and opened the front door. Beautiful location at the base of the red rocks. Smallest balcony ever, but it worked. Fridge full of lots of nice drinks. Dessert bars in the evening. The lemon bars were to die for! Nice touch when we left...tee shirts for each of us, photo given to us that was taken by the host at breakfast and left over dessert bars to go.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy fan
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susiemcbride92124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Penrose on a little two-day excursion to Sedona. After touring the rest of the town while there, we were thrilled with our decision. Although the Penrose sits a little outside of the main drag in Sedona (we actually thought that was part of the attraction), the views trump proximity by a mile. It's almost worth sleeping with your blinds open, just to see the sunrise on the gorgeous red rocks.

The whole place is tastefully decorated in a clean white palette so the focus is on what's outside the windows (as it should be!). The hosts/owners are extremely gracious and cook a delicious daily breakfast. We checked out a few other acclaimed hotels while there and would still choose the Penrose above all others. The only thing it lacked was an on-site spa, but there are so many close by that it didn't detract from all of the other wonderful qualities. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ASLChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
927 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
5.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Cozy Cactus Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penrose B&B

Property: The Penrose B&B
Address: 250 Red Butte Dr, Sedona, AZ 86351-7769
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penrose B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only b&b built on the side of one of Sedona's famous red rocks, The Penrose provides commanding views from every room of some of the formations that make Sedona a top-rated tourist attraction. Guests also enjoy gourmet breakfasts, flat-screen tvs, double jacuzzis or double showers, light airy rooms with uncluttered decor, and access to free drinks and snacks 24/7. For reservations of 5 or more nights, or 3 or more rooms, we require a deposit of one-half the total charge upon making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penrose B&B Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing