We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and scenic location just outside Sedona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quiet and scenic location just outside Sedona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed with friends in a timeshare condo that was a one-bedroom with a connecting guest suite that also had a kitchen and it's own bath. Pretty surroundings and a beautiful golf course. This resort is actually in Oak Creek Village just outside Sedona. It was about a 10 minute drive from downtown Sedona. Close to several good restaurants like Cantina Rustica and Miley's Cafe. There are also some outlet stores at a strip mall near by. Grocery store is about a 1-2 mile drive away. There is a restaurant in the club house that serves lunch and on Thursdays they serve dinner. We used the Concierge desk to purchase tickets for the Pink Jeep Tour and the Verde Valley Scenic Railroad. Concierge desk wasn't open the hours that it stated they would be. That was our only frustration with staying there. Several of the tours will pick you up there at the resort so you don't have to drive or find a place to park in downtown.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanson1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your thought about your recent stay here at the Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort. We were very pleased to read that our accommodations, location, and golf course met, if not exceeded your expectations. It was concerning to read that our concierge desk was not open during the hours provided to you. We will make sure to look into this and get this resolved immediately. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon the next time your travels take you back to Sedona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    263
    96
    47
    23
See reviews for
219
319
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were in a party of 6 but my husband and I had a one bedroom suite to ourselves. We stayed for a week and were very pleased with the facilities. Our suite was on the ground floor in Block 3. No problem with noise from the neighbors and we knew the suites above and beside us were occupied. The kitchen was well stocked and the living/dining area was spacious. The bedroom was of good size with lots of closet and cupboard spaces. We had a king-sized bed - comfortable enough. Bathroom was big- it had a big tub, a shower stall and lots of counter space. One improvement I can think of is to do better with the toiletries and the garbage pickup. A very small bottle of shampoo and conditioner just wasn't enough for 2 people for 3 days. The suite was clean but garbage pickup happened only on the third day. We did some shopping and cooking and there was no where to clear out the overflowing garbage can.
The lack of a view was not a concern as we were out very day either on the golf courses or driving around enjoying the beautiful country side. The city of Sedona was just 10 miles away. Lots of shopping and eating places. Overall we though the Ridge was a good place to stay for some R & R.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgarytripper11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for sharing you and your husband’s review of your recent stay here. We were glad to see that our accommodations exceeded your expectations and contributed to positive review. Your feedback about the toiletries and garbage is greatly valued. We will definitely take this feedback and see what we can do to improve upon these services. Thank you for the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I wasn't there much of day, so I can't really write a review on the amenities throughout the resort but my room exceed my expectations. I took a chance despite some of the reviews and was very please with my stay. I was very aware of the resort fee before arriving and the gentleman also told me at check in. There's absolutely no way I couldn't know about the resort fee. The nights was very quiet and peaceful (I usually go to bed around 8:30 to 9pm). I do my own personal inspection of my room and they clean everywhere. Even though I traveled solo, this Resort is for anybody except if you are looking to Party.

Room Tip: Building 20 has a great view even though it's facing the parking lot. Make sure you call in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Creek, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Bought this through groupon and was so pleased with the property and location! We' were only there for few days and enjoyed the hot tub and pool area. We also got to golf on the course located there. Only thing we thought could be approved upon was the lighting along the sidewalks at night Had a great time and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on second floor and facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed our accommodations and sparkling pool. There are plenty of activities to keep you busy while visiting, whether it is sunbathing, close-by hiking, or playing the perfect game on the 18-hole golf course. Thank you again and we look forward to your return to The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

There was no mention of hidden charge both at time of check in (prepaid in full) and check out (zero balance). Received $42.52 surprise charge on credit card statement after coming home. The explanation was mandatory resort fee $10+tax per night, which we were not acknowledged of and retroactively charged two days after our departure. House keeping came only once on Wednesday during our four nights stay. It's a time share facility about 8 - 10 miles from Sedona, takes close to 30 minutes round trip on surface roads. As other reviewers have mentioned, my cell phone service (AT&T) did not work on the property

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wongway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin S, General Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your most recent stay with us. Our Resort Fees are displayed on all booking websites as a charge that covers many resort amenities. I apologize that you were not informed of this charge again at check-in and/or check-out. Please contact me directly so that I can further discuss this fee with you. My email address is kristin.springstead@diamondresorts.com
Our housekeeping team will service the room on the third day of your stay as long as your stay is four nights or longer; however you can request a cleaning at any time for a nominal fee.
Additionally, AT&T does not have cell towers in the area causing intermittent and at times, no service availale to visitors in the area. However, Verizon does have full coverage and full service.
I look forward to hearing from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort is attractive, well situated and well maintained. The adjacent but unaffiliated golf course, nestled among dazzling views of the area’s red rock formations, couldn’t be prettier. But don’t expect much service, Just once during our weeklong stay, they took out our trash and brushed up the room. There are two heated and pleasant pools but no room service, no bar, no restaurant and no elevator. Most shops and restaurants are ten miles north in and around Sedona proper.

The Ridge is one of 250-some outposts of Diamond Resorts International, the time-share chain that specializes in selling portable rights to vacation homes, mostly condos. But nonmembers can often sample the Ridge without committing to buying s time-share. You can stay a week at discounted rates, though in return, you’re urged to sit through an hour-long “presentation” about buying a time-share. Two salespeople park you and your spouse at a card table and make alternating pitches to persuade you to buy.

For us the Ridge had one great, irrefutable merit. That was our room, No. 1408, a second-floor, one-bedroom suite with a fully equipped kitchen in Building 14. Staff told us that the buildings were 20 years old. But 1408 felt new. It smelled new. Everything worked, everything fit. It was remarkably furnished, down to a gas-fueled fireplace and a flashlight for power outages plugged into a kitchen wall.

Many rooms are studios, albeit bigger and better equipped than many a hotel room, and many first floor rooms face parking lots. Happily, up on the second floor, 1408 came with an unobstructed view of those glorious rocks. To gauge our flat’s space, we counted the doors. There were nine, including a sliding glass door to the balcony where we savored brilliant pageants of sunsets and stars. Thus if like Proust we wanted to root ourselves to a hotel room--not play golf, hike in the rocks, take the two-hour drive north to the Grand Canyon—the Ridge and our room would get five rocking stars.

One complaint—trivial until it wasn’t--is the Ridge’s advertised Sedona address. The Ridge is in the unincorporated and little known village of Oak Creek, not in celebrated Sedona. The night of our arrival from Phoenix, the Oak Creek address drove us and our GPS systems nuts. Finally the Ridge’s telephone operator managed to lead us there, turn by turn.

Room Tip: Insist on a second-floor, one bedroom, with a view of the rocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our resorts tranquil environment. The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort is surrounded by a panorama of fascinating red rock formations and an alluring golf course.
Our housekeeping team will service the room on the third day of your stay as long as your stay is four nights or longer; however you can request a cleaning at any time for a nominal fee. We offer all of our guests the opportunity to learn more about our product but, this presentation is certainly not mandatory.
Our rooms provide guests with spacious accommodations accompanied with helpful amenities. We take pride in providing guests with a comfortable yet luxurious experience and are happy that you had that feeling during your stay.
We regret if our location caused you any inconveniences in finding us. The part of town you were referring to is north of the Sedona town limits heading up the beautiful and narrow Oak Creek Canyon. This is still technically a part of the Sedona area. Oak Creek gets a lot of tourist traffic, but you can escape most of it at our quaint destination. Our team members are readily available to assist guests with any difficulties and we are grateful that we were able to help with your situation.
When choosing to visit the charming Sedona in the future, we hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Over priced. Rude staff. No maid service for a 3 day stay. Very pushy concierge. I didn't have a positive interaction with anyone that worked at the hotel during our stay.

I give 3 stars because the room itself wasn't that bad and the golf course is very pretty. I wouldn't recommend to anyone or come back again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeyDesiderio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin S, General Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We would like to apologize for the service you received during your most recent stay with us at The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to speak with you this morning. We will address your concerns and certainly look forward to the opportunity to host you and your family when your travels bring you back to Sedona. We will ensure that your next stay with us is much more enjoyable and that you receive the exemplary service that we pride ourselves in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.8 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
6.8 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#29 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Posadas of Sedona
Las Posadas of Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
No photo provided
1.0 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#33 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#20 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Property: Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Address: 55 Sun Ridge Cir, Sedona, AZ 86351-7389
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#15 Family Hotel in Sedona
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Digest gives a big thumbs up on this spectacular and challenging course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridge On Sedona Golf Hotel Sedona
Ridge On Sedona Hotel
Ridge On Sedona Resort
Ridge Sedona Golf Resort
Ridge On Sedona Golf Resort Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing