We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Junipine Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2007

This place is amazing. The staff at the front office were very friendly and helpful especially Chris. The resort is tucked away among the trees off of Hwy 89A. About a 15 minute drive to town. There were 6 of us that stayed in one of the creek houses. The rooms were a nice size. Since I was the youngest of the 6 and the more agile, I stayed in the loft. The spiral staircase going up to it was a little tight, but I was fine with it. Just dont wear socks only when climbing or you might slip. Wear shoes or go barefoot... and hold on to the rails at all times.
The deck was spacious and faced the creek area. We caught some trout from the creek and cooked them up right away. Can't get any fresher than that. The kitchen was a little cramped but fully loaded. Thank you dishwasher!
If you're looking for a place to entertain the kids, go to Disneyland. Junipine is a place for relaxation, taking in the beauty of the nature around you and getting away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DisneyMika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2007

This was our second visit to the Junipine Inn. We stayed once before in 2004.
This was a last minute trip.. I had called on Thursday, needing a 2 night stay for the following wednesday night.
TIP: don't ever book direct on the website. They always seem to say sold out, and you don't have the option of fine tuning your room selection. Always call the propery directly.

Our party was myself, wife, 3 kids and mother inlaw, so I was looking for the 2 bedroom creekhouse WITH a loft (identical to our accomodations back in '04)..
Also wanted a hottub. What good luck we had, in that on such short notice, they had just the room we were looking for.
We had creekhouse 50. Which is the cabin on the farthest left of the property, literally right next to the road.
However, road noise is negligble. There is a nice buffer of trees and a small slope, to make you not even realize you are right off 89A. (seriously, traffic noise here is a non-issue).

One other reviewer here, posted a picture of the map layout of the property, and the unit numbers. Use this as your guide if you make a reservation. I would have LOVED to have a direct creek view cabin tucked away in the upper middle corner of the forest, but we had to take what they had available. Next time i will make reservations well in advance, and specify my favored cabin number from the map.

The property is just fantastic. You are in the middle of Oak Creek Canyon, and there are just majestic trees and mountains totally surrounding you. The little lobby where you check in is nice and quaint. They have a selection of Junipine apparel, and also sell some of the basics (camera, film, toothpaste, newspapers etc...)
our front desk lady was excpetionally nice and helped get us into the cabin a bit early, as we arrived at 1pm.
They are also real good at recommending local attractions and she helped set up at a fabulous location for horseback riding for later in our stay.

The cabin layout was identical to what we had on our previous stay, so there were no suprises there.. It is just as beautiful as i remembered it to be. One thing to note, every one of these cabins are privately owned. So you are essentially staying in someone's 'second home'. As such, each cabin has it's own specific decor. But they are all have fully equipped kitchens, utensils, even salt pepper and spices. Coffee, microwave, etc.. etc... You also have the owners books, DVD movies, and music CD's to enjoy at your leisure. We had a real nice dinner one night with the fire going, the deck open, and some Norah Jones on the CD player in the background.

We had stopped at Bashas (about 15 minutes back, in uptown Sedona) to get our supply of food for the stay. I love going back to the creekhouse and spending a few hours cooking up some homemade breakfast and dinners.
The 2BR, Loft with hottub layout is awesome.. 2 fireplaces.. One in the family room right next to the gigantic deck, the other is a beehive kiva style fireplace in the master bedroom.
the master bedroom has it's own deck , which is alsowhere the hot tub is.. Very private, and very convenient!
The kids just love the loft. it has a spiral staircase which is tucked in between the kitchen and dining area.
The loft in our unit was gorgeous. Huge sky light to watch the start from the 2 twin beds. They also had a large round dining-type table with 4 chairs, and a TV w/ DVD in an armoire up there.

The views from the deck are incredible. Even though we had the far left unit, on the road, you still BACK to the canyon. So, no unit could possibly offer a bad view, since the layout of all the cabins is in like a crescent shape.
There is also a mile or so hike on property that you can do.. We didn't this time around, but plan to next time. The back of the property, being on Oak Creek, offers incredible little hikes, and we spent an hour or two happily roaming around collecting pinecones and rocks.
It's just such a great location, it really has everything right there.
Hiking, gorgoeus setting, creek, fishing if you wanted, etc.. etc..
the property even has those little BBQ grills scattered around in strategic locations. Several benches for sitting to observe nature, even a canopy or 2 for just relaxing.
It's a very serene and calming property.

You have the option of having maid service during your stay.
Or not.
Or you can just have them deliver fresh towels, and new wood (you are supplied with about 4 hours worth of wood each day, along with kindling, firestarter bricks, and matches.. We opted for just the towels and wood service.. also, a USA Today paper was delivered to the door each morning.
They do have the Junipine Cafe, on site, which is a full service restaurant and Bar.. They close early though, 8pm. You have the option of ordering from them, and they will deliver it, like room service. We skipped on the Cafe, as when we tried it on our last stay, it was un-impressive.. Perhaps it has changed now, but i don't know and didn't feel like finding out, as we did all the cooking ourselves.

A great trip to make (especially if you have kids), is about 10 minutes north, right on 89A is the Rainbow Trout Farm. Fabulous fun - you catch your own Trout, then grill it up and eat it right there on site (they of course do the full scale cleaning of the caught fish, for you). They also sell sodas and beer. We all loved this. (second time here as well... great memories.. just great)

I can't speak highly enough about this property.
When i told my wife i was planning a quick jaunt to Sedona she asked 'why don't we stay somewhere else, we've already been to the Junipine'... My answer was that the Junipine is the perfect setting to fit our entire family, vs. having to get adjoing rooms at another lodge elsewhere, or not knowing what we'd get by staying at another resort. Also the room rate was $305.00 per night, and thats real reasonable considering the accomodation and the ammenities. You are also about a 15 minute drive past the main Sedona strip. so even though it may SEEM you are out of the action, you really aren't, and it is super quiet back there in the forest at night. You will, however, hear the constant running of the creek water down in the canyon.. you literally are, after all, ON the creek itself. A wonderful noise.
I have no problems going back to the Junipine with just the wife for some romantic weekend action, just as easily as brining the entire family again.
I have read where people didn't care for the noise from the creekhouses around them. Second time staying here, and second time hearing no such noises.. So i guess it just depends if people are around partying or not..

We had a small issue with the plumbing, which was fixed rather quickly by the onsite maintenance staff.
All in all, I couldn't ask for anything more from this place. It will always be our destination whenever we go back to Sedona. no questions asked.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2007

Our entire stay was awful- right down to the last detail. The worst experience was the security guard that drives around the property in a golf cart. He was incredibly rude and degrading and treated us like we were drifters. We had spent the day hiking the creek and had our car parked off property since there was a line getting into the resort parking lot and we did not feel like waiting. We came out of the creek by the resort and were walking through the parking lot to get our car to re-park it in the parking lot when the security guard drives up in his golf cart and tells us to get out. We tried to explain that we were guests at the resort and were trying to get our car which was around the corner. He told us "your kind isn't welcome here", and that we needed to get out immediately. We did, we checked out right then and spent the rest of our stay at L'Auberge- which was perfect. I highly recommend you stay at L'Auberge De Sedona- it is worth the money!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank badfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2007

My wife and I just returned from Junipine resort celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. The main reason we picked this resort is because we wanted a quiet, peaceful and romantic place.

The resort was having a wedding the next day, and the place was filled with wedding guests who all got together on their decks outside and drank and partied until the late hours of the night, right next to our room. The resort requires all guests to be quiet after 10pm, but these guests got louder and louder, and more drunk as the night went on and the hotel mgmt did nothing about it.

We had to complain to the management twice, once at 11pm, and again at 1am, and finally the management had to call the Sheriff since the guests were so drunk and would not quiet down. They finally shut down the party at around 3am.

It was the worst night we've ever spent at resort, got very little sleep, the place was very loud and the management would only do something about it after we complained. If you get the right room on the right nights when there are no partiers on the decks, it could be a very quiet and relaxing place, but with 50 cabins all near eachother there is no way to ensure that.

The resort itself is in a great location, but management needs to take control of their resort and not allow this type of thing to happen, it is completely unacceptable.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank zinman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2008

Junipine hosts 5-10 special events each summer, and we do our best to make sure that these guests respect the privacy of others. On the rare occasion that we do have unruly guests, it does ultimately impact a couple or a family staying near the event. The discount that we offered prior to your departure was meant as a gesture to make amends for a situation that we handled as best as we could. We want you to know that we take your comments seriously and that we have made two changes to the way we handle noise complaints. Your feedback is appreciated.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Junipine Resort
800-742-7463

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2007

I stayed for two nights during the last weekend of April. The setting is absolutely lovely, and on my last morning I saw a bald eagle from my deck. The resort's private trail connects with the A.B. Young trail, which is a pretty and well-graded climb. This trail was recommended by the hotel staff, and I was told that it rises 2000 ft in 2.5 miles. I enjoyed it a lot, but the last half mile seemed really steep and hot, with no shade, so I turned around. Another hiker reported that she turned around in the same spot after encountering a rattlesnake. Views were incredible.

The hotel is well appointed, and quiet except when it is not. The rooms are fairly well insulated from noise, but the decks are far from private. Even moderately noisy neighbors on the deck seem very loud. For the price of the rooms, I think the resort could do a better job of shielding guests from their neighbors on the decks.
Also, the highway can be loud at times.

My suite had two fireplaces, and the round kiva-style one in the bedroom was very nice, except that the door was broken. There was also a broken chair at the dining table, and the kitchen faucet dripped. The staff and maintenance person were very responsive and concerned, but it would have been better not to have these issues.

The kitchen was great, with a new Kenmore range. I tried to drive into Sedona for some groceries, but the traffic was backed up for miles, so I turned around and went to the Indian garden store in the Canyon. It had some great handmade lasagna, and the guys there whipped up a green salad.

The restaurant was good, with the trout amandine being as tasty as reputed. I heard from the locals that breakfast is excellent, but I never found the time.

I found the store, the resort and the area so hospitable, I wondered why I had even wanted to drive into Sedona.
The Junipine is wonderful, but perhaps a little pricey, and in need of additional maintenance.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank serendipity11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2007

A leisurely breakfast at our creek house, lunch at various restaurants in Sedona, and dinner from room service delivered to our creek house worked well for us. What a pleasure sitting in our dining area overlooking the rocky cliffs, woods, and creek while eating breakfast or dinner! Our favorite entrees were the baby back pork ribs and the salmon.

Each morning we received a copy of "USA Today" at our door. Housekeeping washed our dishes, gave us clean sheets and towels if requested, and cleaned up the place. We had no complaints.

Following are a couple of negative observations regarding our unit. The windows in the living room and dining area needed washing, and there were a couple of marks on the living room carpet near the fireplace. Neither point interfered with our overall enjoyment.

In summary, we appreciated our spacious unit; attractive furnishings and decor; and the quiet, beautiful location away from busy Sedona. We actually enjoyed the 12-minute scenic drive to and from Sedona. We rate this property a 5.0 and would recommend Junipine to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaveAndBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2007

My wife, three teens, and myself recently stayed for three nights in a two bedroom creekhouse at Junipine. One bedroom had a king bed and the other had two queen beds. There was a loft with two twin beds, so there was plenty of room. We enjoyed having a fire every night and it was located in a beautiful setting on Oak Creek. The place was adequately furnished but is not like a five star resort. I liked the setting, the roominess, and the fact that it was away from all the congestion of Sedona. You can fish at the property or hike from there as well. I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rlsderbycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
7.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
986 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
7.8 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 49 in Sedona
922 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £129 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years, Junipine, a Sedona resort, has provided incredibly luxurious Sedona Villa style creekhouses. The 1,400 square foot creekhouses are the most spacious, comfortable, and affordable luxury accommodations in the Oak Creek Canyon area of Sedona. Located eight miles north of Sedona on the banks of beautiful Oak Creek, Junipine Resort offers individually decorated one and two bedroom creekhouses that accommodate up to six adults. Each Sedona Villa style creekhouse is situated in a very private, wooded environment. Select from a secluded forest view, or an expansive creek view; with a private hot tub on your back deck, if you so choose. All creekhouses at this Sedona resort include fully furnished kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, and large wrap around decks. These are our signature amenities that you will not find anywhere else in Sedona. Romantic getaways in Sedona, family vacation time, reunions and special events in Oak Creek Canyon are all possible at Junipine Resort... your creekside retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona, Arizona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing