We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a stay.”
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Junipine Resort
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was the most romantic place to stay ever. It was like having a timeshare... The house itself was kept nicely, lots of furnished items and no major issues at all. The heaters didn't seem to do a great job but we made up for that with the 2 wood fireplaces and some cuddle time. The best part was the jacuzzi... I will be recommending this place to everyone i know.

**Pictures are of the One Bedroom Jacuzzi model**

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_and_JillS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

My kids and wife have gone here twice now and it's just perfect for a low cost adventure for the weekend. The hotel rooms were very clean both times we went. there is a cool trail that goes along the creek in the back of the hotel that kids and adults both love. The restaurant has great service and the food is somewhat ok, but it's nice to have a restaurant close enough to walk to. And it can be very romantic.

Room Tip: Get one near the creek it's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Junipine after the new year for 3 days-- we loved the cabin we stayed in! It was very comfortable-- the beds were great and we were able to really relax. There were some issues with the fireplace getting pretty smokey, but otherwise a great place to vacation. We had cabin 7, which was beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We spent 5 nights at Junipine and absolutely loved it. We stayed in unit 33, it was very peaceful, clean, nicely furnished...I can only say good things about this place!
Junipine is a complex of condos, located by Oak Creek. Our condo was very private, we never saw or heard anybody from within the condo, which was also incredibly quiet and perfect for restful nights! The condo was very attractive, with a fully equipped kitchen, nice living room, dining table, beautiful fireplace and two spacious decks (which we didn't enjoy because it was winter). The bedroom was also spacious, with the most comfortable king bed, and had a fireplace. The bathroom was clean and with double sinks. THe only thing I didn't like about the bathroom was that the shower area was a bit dark and had a curtain, not a glass door, but these are really minor things. Since it was just my husband and I, the upstairs rooms were locked, but the condo could have accommodated more people. Each area had individual thermostats so the condo was always very warm. Also, the firewood was replenished every day, which was great.
Housekeeping was very good, you could opt for full service every day, or specify what kind of services you wanted day by day on a paper slip you leave out of the front door by 9am.
The personnel at the front desk was courteous and very helpful. There is a nice collection of free DVDs you can check out at the front desk.

Note that Junipine is a few miles north of Sedona, probably a 10-15 minutes drive from town. For some this might be inconvenient, but we actually loved being away from the crowds and the touristy shops. I honestly did not like at all Sedona's shops, restaurants and art galleries...they were all extremely touristy, artificial and showing the exact same tacky stuff. Sedona's Red Rocks on the other hand are absolutely gorgeous and worth the trip. So if you are into nature and don't care about strolling Sedona holding an ice cream cone, this is the place for you!

If you are into hiking, we really enjoyed hiking Bear Mountain, Wilson Mountain, and Brin Mesa. Jordan trail and Soldier's Pass are perfect trails to enjoy at sunset. Enjoying the colors of the mountains at sunset was an unforgettable experience. On the other hand, the view from the airport is not that great, because you do see the mountains,but you also see all the developments, and you are surrounded by hundreds of people. Avoid!

Finally, my only disappointment is that there are no recycling containers at Junipine. You can still recycle by taking your bottles, cans and paper to front desk, but there should be either recycle bins in each unit, or some other collection points in Junipine. It is such a beautiful, elegant retreat, why not make it better and cleaner through recycling?

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank myosotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband & I stayed at Junipine Resort with another couple. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom cottage overlooking the creek with a spectacular view of the mountain. We absolutely loved the cottage, very clean, organized, warm and inviting. The huge stone fireplaces was spectacular and an endless supply of wood was provided. The hot tub on the deck was great, and comfortable lounge chairs for our afternoon relaxation.
Beds were 'super comfortable'...I would compare to the great beds you get in Italy or Germany with the fluffy, white duvets. The staff are friendly and helpful for any of our tourist inquiries. We drove to the Grand Canyon one day...definitely worth the drive!! Drive is about 15 min. from town of Sedona, but an easy drive. Hiking trails and golf courses in the area are enjoyable. The only disappointment was the food in the restaurant, although we only ate there once as we purchased our own groceries & enjoyed cooking in our own cottage, that way we were able to dine & enjoy our spectacular view.
We will definitely return to Junipine again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The Junipine is neither your typical hotel, nor your typical resort. What it is is a condo complex where a management company runs a rental operation for the condo owners when they are not in residence. Although we did not look into any of the other units I would imagine the decor and the furniture would vary from unit to unit so different people could have different opinions on their lodging based on where they stayed. We were very pleased with our unit, full kitchen, a fireplace in the master bedroom as well as one in the living room, large deck with access from both living room and bedroom. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. They have a pretty good selection of DVDs available at the front desk for evening entertainment, an unexpected surprise, as was the fact that the daily maid service included restocking the firewood.
The location on Oak Creek is wonderful and the slightly cooler canyon air than the desert heat of Sedona was welcome.

Potential downsides: It is a 10-15 minute drive from Sedona, something to consider if you want to be able to ignore your car during your stay. However, There is a hiking trail leading upstream from the hotel which connects with the National Forest trail system so if outdoor adventure is your thing and you do not need the shopping/dining experience of Sedona, you could plunk yourself down at the Junipine for a couple of days and leave the car behind.
The restaurant was closed Sunday evening and all day Monday.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We loved the Junipine Resort. We had 6 adults and 2 children (5 and 7) and it was perfect for us. We were in units 12 and 13, which were both 2 bedroom/2 bath. The master is down and the other bedroom upstairs. The two units together were just right for 8 people. It took us about 10-15 minutes from the center of Sedona to get to Junipine, but the drive is worth it. The scenery between Sedona and the resort is gorgeous. The kitchens were very well equipped, with pots/pans and serving plates, glasses and utensils. The staff was extremely friendly and both units were very clean. Big DVD library that the kids used every night and each bedroom had it's own bathroom. And every day we received a new batch of firewood which we burned every evening. Junipine was a much better option for us than a hotel, as we could eat out at lunch, but have both breakfast and dinner at home. We went to both New Frontiers and Bashas for groceries. New Frontiers was all organic and a bit pricey, but had a nice selection. Basha's was more of a normal grocery store. There is a cute grocery, Garland's, about 5 minutes from Junipine, but it has a limited selection. (But does have a nice selection of beer and wine.)
The location of Junipine is really pretty beautiful. And at night off of the decks (we had multiple) the starry sky was really something to see. Junipine is a great place to stay for families!

Room Tip: We had two forest view units (12 and 13) and the location was great. Unit 13 was considerably more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caratex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
7.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
6.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
953 reviews
7.8 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
903 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £126 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years, Junipine, a Sedona resort, has provided incredibly luxurious Sedona Villa style creekhouses. The 1,400 square foot creekhouses are the most spacious, comfortable, and affordable luxury accommodations in the Oak Creek Canyon area of Sedona. Located eight miles north of Sedona on the banks of beautiful Oak Creek, Junipine Resort offers individually decorated one and two bedroom creekhouses that accommodate up to six adults. Each Sedona Villa style creekhouse is situated in a very private, wooded environment. Select from a secluded forest view, or an expansive creek view; with a private hot tub on your back deck, if you so choose. All creekhouses at this Sedona resort include fully furnished kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, and large wrap around decks. These are our signature amenities that you will not find anywhere else in Sedona. Romantic getaways in Sedona, family vacation time, reunions and special events in Oak Creek Canyon are all possible at Junipine Resort... your creekside retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona, Arizona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing