We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Junipine Resort
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed 14 November 2008

My husband and stayed at the Junipine and it was better than we thought. It was so nice and clean and had everything you would need - even free DVD's. The kitchen was great and we loved the fireplace. Next time we will take more food since the kitchen has everything.

The cafe was closed while we were there, but were told about it ahead of time so we took some food. It is about an 8 mile drive to town to eat. If you are looking for romance, this is the place. We got a forest view and would get the creek view next time. I highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — Large rooms, fireplace and clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AZTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    175
    49
    23
    6
See reviews for
269
335
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

If you want to experience Sedona and Oak Creek Canyon without staying in the middle of all the turmoil and traffice, Junipine Resort is the place to stay. It is only a few miles north of Sedona in the heart of Oak Creek Canyon directly on Oak Creek. We drove back to Junipine to picnic because creekside here was the most beautiful spot we found. The staff was courteous and helpful. Our townhouse was perfect for two couples with the equivalent of two master suites and two fireplaces. The kitchen was adequately equipped. We liked the fact that these units are idividually owned and each one feels like a home not just a hotel room. On our next trip to Sedona we will definitely stay at Junipine.

  • Liked — The location and scenery.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We just returned from a one night stay at Junipine Resort. For my husband and I, it was our second stay at the resort. We first stayed at Junipine a couple of nights after our wedding a few months ago. We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to book a two bedroom creekview with a hot tub for my parents first visit to Sedona. We were not disappointed.

We were in unit 39. The appliances were a little outdated but still very functional. We used the oven and the microwave to cook dinner and everything worked just fine. The bedrooms, bathrooms and common areas were all clean and comfortable. The hot tub was very relaxing after dinner. The view from our balconey was beautiful also.

We also ate breakfast at the restaurant. The food was good and service was pretty good. However the restaurant is pretty small.

There is no way you can go to Junipine Resort and not feel completely relaxed. My parents enjoyed there stay very much and are looking forward to returning soon. It was a perfect one night mini vacation and it is hard to imagine coming to sedona and staying anywhere else.

  • Liked — The amazing location.
  • Disliked — The traffic getting to the resort.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EE<3Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2008

We stayed at Junipine Resort. October 2008.

We were looking for a quiet resort that had an outdoor hot tub so we could relax outdoors. The room price was comparable to others in the area, but to my pleasant surprise, the Junipine rooms are actually full apartments. We had a beautiful roomy 1 bd condo with a loft, kitchen, living room, outdoor patio, and very comfortable bedding (like at Westin). The hot tub was just outside the bedroom sliding doors and secluded.

The restaurant is small and closes early, but you can easily pick up a meal and take it back to your room. BL&D. There is a outdoor seating which was very comfortable for an evening dinner.

The resort is located on the north side of Sedona, outside the city, so it's a little more quiet. It's nestled in-between two mountain walls in the Oak Creek Valley.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cws4631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2008

The staff was very friendly and accomodating, the location is great and the units were very nice with great views. We had a medical problem during our vacation and despite a very busy weekend in Sedona, the staff was extremely helpful and worked with us and our problem. I hope to return soon and stay longer!!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dsmkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I would like to echo some of the same sentiments expressed in the review posted on June 15, 08 by dspolett (and other reviews like it)... We also were assigned a completely dated unit (though we had called and asked for an "updated" unit prior to check in), except that in our case, NOTHING had been updated since the unit was built - original kitchen, baths, etc. We stayed in Unit 26. Pretty disappointing for the price range - as we had certain expectations at this price level. While our unit was not in bad repair, the (dark turquoise?) carpets could have used a good steam cleaning.

Positives included the great location, sound of the creek, friendly hotel staff, restaurant that had reasonable prices, and finally - their housekeeping staff. This was one of the most spotless places I have ever stayed in, and that is a real accomplishment given how old all of the furnishings and fixtures were. Still, it was disappointing to spend that kind of money and be stuck in such a dated unit. Unless they begin charging for the units based on condition/updates (like many other resorts of this type) - we probably won't return.

  • Liked — housekeeping service kept unit spotless
  • Disliked — hadn't been updated since was built in the 80's
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlCracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, 9 October 2008
First of all, please allow us to apologize for not meeting your expectations and to express our appreciation for the feedback. We are committed to offering our guests quality and value in our accommodations at Junipine. As you may or may not know, our creek houses are individually owned and decorated by the owner. For participation in the Junipine Resort, the owner of the unit is required to meet and maintain the Resort’s standards of accommodations. All of the minimum standards we require meets or exceeds the Automobile Association of America (AAA) guidelines for a three star rated accommodations. Some of our individual owners go beyond those standards with upgrades to their units. We strive to meet all the requests of our guests in the assignment of their accommodations. Unfortunately in this case we were not able to meet your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

We stayed in unit 21. Kitchen and master bath were upgraded, but the upstairs room and bath weren't quite as nice. My husband and I stayed upstairs and ended up with bed bug bites! We will inform management about this problem, but in the meantime, I would suggest avoiding this unit until problem resolved.

  • Liked — Location in Oak Creek Canyon
  • Disliked — Bed bugs
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank TravFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2008
In response to your e-mail last week we immediately searched the room and its contents upon departure. We wouldn't dispute the bites you reported, however, we didn't find any evidence of bed bugs nor have we since Junipine opened in 1984. I hope you received my reply after our inspection.

One of the things that makes Junipine unique is the fact that we are surrounded by nature, and from time to time a bug will get in via an open screen door or window. We do our best to keep our "forest friends" where they belong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
7.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
7.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
7.8 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
892 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Property: Junipine Resort
Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years, Junipine, a Sedona resort, has provided incredibly luxurious Sedona Villa style creekhouses. The 1,400 square foot creekhouses are the most spacious, comfortable, and affordable luxury accommodations in the Oak Creek Canyon area of Sedona. Located eight miles north of Sedona on the banks of beautiful Oak Creek, Junipine Resort offers individually decorated one and two bedroom creekhouses that accommodate up to six adults. Each Sedona Villa style creekhouse is situated in a very private, wooded environment. Select from a secluded forest view, or an expansive creek view; with a private hot tub on your back deck, if you so choose. All creekhouses at this Sedona resort include fully furnished kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, and large wrap around decks. These are our signature amenities that you will not find anywhere else in Sedona. Romantic getaways in Sedona, family vacation time, reunions and special events in Oak Creek Canyon are all possible at Junipine Resort... your creekside retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona, Arizona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing