We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mii amo, a destination spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mii amo, a destination spa
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just returned from Mii Amo and had a fabulous time. The setting in the red rocks is amazing. I highly recommend the hike in the red rocks. My room was great.. I had a suite that had a lovely living room , large patio and ample bedroom and bathroom. I enjoyed the treatments especially the JoJoba butter scrub.
The food at the cafe was great,but the service at the cafe could be excruciatingly slow. This is an area for improvement.
I found all of the staff to be extremely accommodating and professional .
I have been to a lot of Spas, including The Golden Door and Canyon Ranch and this is my favorite.
I have already booked in for next year...

Room Tip: View of the red rocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseSpaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    32
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
65
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

3-day journey at Mii amo Destination spa was the most amazing 3 days of my life. Setting in Boynton Canyon can't be beat. Room was fabulous and spa is top of the line. Every treatment I got was amazing. Recommend the Soul Seeker treatment. Went on hikes, did yoga, meditation, and lots of time in the spa sitting in the hot tub, sauna, steam room and getting massages. Best food I have ever had. Friendly staff. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This review is for the Mii Amo spa café in the Enchantment Resort (we loved being able to use the spa facilities during our week there as well as access to the very good food at this café). We really enjoyed Mii Amo’s healthy menu, especially their juice/smoothie bar which we took advantage of almost daily from dawn to early evening. We had breakfast in the café three times, so I can’t comment on lunch/dinner other than to say that the later menu also featured healthy foods (they even have quinoa) with many gluten free options; there seemed to be no difference between lunch and dinner menus.

I appreciate that they include nutritional breakdowns on each item, even their smoothies. With only one notable exception (a guy waiter who didn’t seem very outgoing), everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. My husband really enjoyed the oatmeal with fresh berries and brown sugar, and he thought the scrambled organic eggs and turkey bacon were very good. I enjoyed my frittatas and an omelet and turkey bacon (separate days – I’m not that piggy) and the fact that they incorporate fresh veggies into both and that goat cheese is available. Biggest love: Pomegranate Passion smoothie. I tried the Boynton Experience (?) with blueberries, pineapple, and coconut milk but it was too rich – the Pomegranate drink is just right. They’ll also mix any combo you like, and they have wheatgrass, too.

The only glitch would be some confusion over the gluten-free raisin bread on their menu: I ordered it with my frittata on the first morning, but a very rich and chocolate-y piece of (cake)bread was delivered instead; I asked the waitress if this was correct and she checked with the kitchen – they said that’s what had been delivered for the GF bread (and no raisins in sight so I don’t know what it was supposed to be). The same bread was served on the second morning, but on the third day (with a different waiter) regular looking toast was served. He assured me it was gluten free – again, no raisins in sight, so I’m not sure if there are issues with their supplier or not. When you’re dealing with food allergies, you’re relying on the menu description and the knowledge/training of servers and chefs to make sure your food won’t make you sick – so it’s a little unsettling to be served something that’s not “as advertised.” Otherwise, they seemed to have a very good awareness of food allergy issues.

We usually went early (6 or 7 am) when it was nice and quiet. The third time we went after 8:30, and it was pretty packed. Service was noticeably slow later in the morning when they were busy. For good canyon views, they have three inside tables (among others that don’t have good views), and our favorite was the four-top next to the patio door – with floor to ceiling glass, it’s like sitting outside (but warm and toasty) with your own private view (if there’s no one at the next table). There’s also a two-top table against a picture window in the main dining area. Outside, they have quite a few patio tables, but take a jacket because it’s nippy in the morning!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GF-Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Nice place, good food, very relaxing. The red rocks are cool and the mounting biking and hiking guide is Native American and is awesome! The room and room-service was very nice at Enchantment. The spa is rejuvenating and the staff was over and above my expectations. Brunch was jammed up and not managed well as they take walk-ins and reservations, having a restaurant background it could have been managed better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waddell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Super pricey, but super chill. The food is fantastic, with endless fresh juices, smoothies, etc. The service is superb, and every evening there will be a gift on your pillow. They will give you a luxe bathrobe as your first gift.

The dance studio has a great morning stretch. Make sure you try the mountain biking- very challenging but worth it- the instructors are patient and you can dial down the challenge if you want without a problem.

The massages and treatments are good, but in my opinion not excellent. It is a bit of a mill at the spa because the Mii Amo guests are sharing it with the much larger mother property up the hill, Enchantment. They can also use the Mii Amo pool, but I don't believe that children are allowed.

The famous red rocks will put you in a trance and mellow you out- worth the price of admission. There is absolutely a ton of new age rhetoric here- some people found it empowering, others just a charming extra, but it doesn't get in the way of your experience.

When you book, someone will ask you about your interests, spa treatment choices, and activities. Make sure you have at least 30 minutes separating your spa treatments and activities. For example, I had a massage one day from 9-10 and yoga from 10-11- I missed the yoga class and that was the only one that day. So, double check the itinerary they send you, because the group activities won't wait for you.

Room Tip: Try to get the best view of the red rocks that you can. Go to Enchantment for a drink to catch a wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have been lucky enough to have made 3 journeys to Mii Amo (so far) and it just gets better every time. The service is impeccable, the setting beautiful; I can feel my blood pressure go down just thinking about it! Truly a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetawayGal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at Mii Amo and enjoyed all the luxuries the spa had to offer. My friend and i went to celebrate a milestone birthday. We normally go to Canyon Ranch so that is my standard. This is far more personal, intimate ( only 30 people) and spiritual. Everyone , including staff and guests are extremely friendly and help you with your choices from pre-visit to last minute changes. We did organised and self guided hikes, mountain biking, pilates and yoga (treatments clay , watsu and stone were faves). Only downsides were the hotel guests were annoying ( too chatty , hanging around change rooms and pool, late entries to meditation) and need a few more high aerobic classes on weekends). Cafe should add more green smoothie choices ( kale). No cell helped slow us down ( and chill).

Room Tip: Ask for second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estherl1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
4.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
4.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
6.1 mi away
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mii amo, a destination spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mii amo, a destination spa

Property: Mii amo, a destination spa
Address: 525 Boynton Canyon Rd, Sedona, AZ 86336-3041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mii amo, a destination spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twice voted world's best destination spa, Mii amo is a destination spa within a resort, perfect for those seeking an uplifting getaway or a more profound, transformational experience in a healing environment. Located in red rock Boynton Canyon, the spa is grounded in nature, surrounded by natural beauty, and inspired by a Native American aesthetic. All-inclusive rates for 3-, 4- and 7-night destination spa stays include spa guest room, 3 healthful meals daily, two spa treatments daily and an abundance of activities, classes and resort amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mii Amo, a Destination Spa Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing