We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good beyond expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sedona Summit Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sedona Summit Resort
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“good beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I stayed three nights in an studio-sized room. I have to admit we are wahr one would call active travellers - so we arrived at the Summit after a long hike throughout the amazing red rocks. And that was what we looked like - dusty and exhausted.
Obviously the staff was a bit confused about my appearance at check-in but they tried to be as professional as possible. The situation changed after I presented a black credit card. Everyone was more than friendly from that moment on. During checkout we experienced some kind of situation. Even though I had a pre-paid accommodation voucher (which stated "paid in fully", explicitly) they tried to charge us an additional resort fee. After a 20 minute debate we were waived the fee (because we booked in 2013, and to that time there existed no fee).
But even during this debate the staff didn't lack friendliness.

Our studio was definitely beyond our expectations. The kitchenette had the right size for uns, all the kitchen equipment was clean und working properly.
We really enjoyed our stay, which was part of our honeymoon roadtrip, and were very glad that we had a room with a view!

It's true that the room service only goes through the rooms once a week. But that's exactly what we need.

If I had to criticize something it would be that walls seemed to be very thin. We could noised rumors from the studio next to us. Lucky for us - the guests there seemed to be quiet fellows.

Due to the early time of booking we got a very affordable rate with approx. 130 USD for a night.

All in all:
Great property, great view, great rooms, staff trying hard ;)
I'd come again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - 2nd floor or up ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan_Hikelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    616
    182
    91
    57
See reviews for
510
755
43
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom. It was a quick and easy drive to the main drag. The kitchen was a nice size and stocked with the basics-- we used the blender to make smoothies for early morning breakfasts. We had a patio but not much of a view. We were only a few steps away from one of the "adults-only" pools which was refreshing at the end of a long hot day. We also used the fitness center which had the basics but no barbells. They were a little pushy about getting us to listen to one of their time share presentations in which we were not interested. The key cards were often broken and we had to get them replaced a few times. Gorgeous spot about a quarter mile behind the hotel to watch the sunset. We went to Los Abrigados to play mini golf which overall seemed a better option, with more amenities and a better location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
1,136 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Located about 5 miles from the center of town sits this mega-complex composed of 41 buildings. The grounds are very nice and there are 4 pools which see high activity; this property is very popular with families.

Guest units are spacious (we calculated our 1 bedroom unit at about 800 square feet) and the full kitchen (with a free standing stove with oven) was welcome, especially since there are so very few restaurants in this area. Some units are designated as "P" (partial kitchen) units; these are the optional second bedroom units (a locked door separates the units). The interior shows well, the living spaces are updated with granite in the kitchen, carpeting that appears fairly new, and contemporary furnishings.

The bathrooms show their original age, however, with the original pink laminate shower enclosure and sink/counter top. All the cabinetry is done in the white washed light wood look that was so popular in the 80's and it, too, is showing its age with wear and tear issues. Our unit also had a mini washer and dryer but the clubhouse has 2 larger washers and dryers (no charge to use).

The residential buildings are mostly 2 floor structures with an outdoor staircase giving access to the upper units. Although the upper units are quieter, plan for the stairs as there is no elevator access and can require several trips to bring groceries upstairs, etc. Most residential buildings have 4 units on each of the 2 floors. The exterior colors are Sedona red, tan, and green. There are barbeques on the grounds and, of the 3 near our unit, 2 had problems operating.

The "club house" is the building for many functions: check-in/out, concierge, guest laundry, complimentary morning coffee, various club house activities, events, small fitness room, computers with printing capabilities, and morning newspapers (for a charge).

What would make this resort so much better would be if it offered a courtesy shuttle to the center of town (like the Diamond Resort in Santa Fe,NM has). There really isn't any other way to get to town besides putting keys in the car's ignition and searching for a space in town. We've seen Verde Lynx bus stops on 89A but never, during our various walks, did we ever see a bus travel the road.

The nearest restaurant is "Famous" (a pizza place with other informal eating options) which is one full mile down highway 89A, away from the resort. It is walkable. There are some other little shops in the center, including a book store.

For us Arizona residents, every trip we take to Sedona is all about the hiking opportunities and this resort's fairly remote location offered some exciting walks. Bordering the property on the north-west side, is Centennial trail and Girdner trail. Both of these trails are accessible from the parking lot for the new community college being built and very,very close to the resort.

Centennial trail is well-paved asphalt and takes the visitor on a one-mile round trip which is an absolute must place to go after a big storm when the clouds hover over the mountains and the setting sun puts on a show. The sunsets are the best we have ever seen.

Right next to Centennial is Girdner trail; it is a big walk, 8 miles round-trip but the trail is very poorly marked and difficult to travel. We gave up half way into it, leaving stacked-stone "cairn" markers whenever we could, and wondered if we would get lost.

Across 89A (near the high school) is a trail that goes up the side of the hills. It is not overly long and is not used very often but it is a public trail nonetheless. The scenery was pleasant and it is a hiking option.

Much better trail choices are about 2 miles in the other direction on 89A (turn up on Dry Creek Road and make a right on Thunder Mountain road to the parking lot). There are a great number of trails of every skill level going around the many mountains of outstanding beauty. We chose to walk to the trails from the resort and made a long trip of it all.

A highlight of our week there was avoiding a timeshare/vacation club presentation (our recommendation: bypass concierge and their enticements/discounts offers tied to presentation attendance). Our vacation time is precious and we are not anxious to waste a 1/2 day in this way. Our unit overlooked the "sales" office (marked "sales" office on the resort map). When you elect to attend a "presentation", that is where you will go... to the "sales" office.

Be aware that in January 2014, Diamond properties instituted a daily "resort fee" charged to RCI exchanges. Interval International and Diamond Club members do not pay this fee. The fee is $13.54 a day ($12 fee plus applicable taxes) and the clerk at the counter said it is for the internet, use of the resort amenities, etc. Our bill, with newspaper charges, came to a little less than $100 for the week. Too bad things are like that, where RCI members have to pay fees the other exchange clubs do not.

Best to ask for a unit as far as possible from the club house as possible. The evening movies at high volume may not be what you had in mind for your evening. The general club house and pool noise level is quite high, too, and the facilities are open until quite late. Our first room assignment was located above the main clubhouse pool and we got a taste for how loud the noise was. Our room had a maintenance issue (thank goodness) so we were moved to another quieter room.

As for maintenance, the first room to which we were assigned had a bedroom drapery rod that was almost completely pulled out of the wall. It is our vacation and we did not want to spend it with maintenance people in there fixing things (so we were relocated to another room). In general, the units are maintained reasonably well but the cabinets under the sink were heavily soiled with gooey dark corners where all too many hands reached down to open those cabinet doors. The solution: grab the scrubber and, with some dish soap, scrub away the black scum.

Our week long stay included a mid-week tidy service which was quite thorough. Between the hours of noon and 5 p.m., housekeeping made a visit. She offered to vacuum and change the sheets (which we declined), in addition to replenishing the bath and kitchen supplies and exchanging towels and dusting. The housekeeping staff really work hard and their day is very long.

We live most of the year in Arizona, travel to Sedona regularly, and have stayed at many kinds of properties in very different Sedona locations. This was our first time this far from Sedona proper. We enjoyed our visit. Diamond Resorts has an attractive property.

Room Tip: Get as far from the pools as possible. For RCI exchange guests, the internet is not free as it is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is a Diamond Resort property with rooms ranging from studios to 3 bedrooms. All with kitchen, living room, etc. the resort offers excellent concierge services and a variety of daily activities. The property is in West Sedona up on a hill. So some of the units offer excellent views of the red rock formations. But they can not guarantee a view- just a room type. This visit ( and I've been her 4 or 5 times before) I had a superb view. So I could sit on my porch and enjoy the view all day long (if I so chose).
Even without the best views, the grounds themselves are attractive.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We drove in to Sedona, AZ at night and upon waking the next morning, were memorized seeing this city surrounded by the beauty of the red rock. The resort had a resourceful, no pressure front desk staff that helped book our day trips and guide us to some great restaurants. Rooms were nicely appointed with new bedding, and all the luxuries of home. Complimentary daily resort activities included, yoga, hiking, swimming, music, guest speakers and various artisans. Sedona has a welcome and spiritual atmosphere. Sedona Summit is a Diamond Resort. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShamysShores2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I read all the reviews, including the negative ones, and booked with slight apprehension.
What I found was an excellent 1 bedroom suite in building 7 next to the adult pool. Although it did seem slightly out dated, It was clean, spacious and quiet.All kitchen appliances were new and first rate. The bed was comfortable, and so was the furniture.
I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a pleasant, quiet stay..
And also, everyone wants a view of the red rocks, but there are only a few rooms that have it.. Get over it if you don't get a view.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voiceman911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We had originally booked at another hotel Sedona and I came across Sedona Summit last minute. We ended up deciding on a 2 bedroom Sunset suite which is in their newer section, away from the main roadway. I believe the price difference between the regular 2 bedroom lock off and the 2 bedroom Sunset suite is about $300 so I was expecting a much better room and better amenities.

We arrived late after a delayed flight into Phoenix and drive through a massive lightening storm and did not check in until well after 11pm. The check in process was quick and efficient and the lady who checked us in could not have been more helpful. I had requested a room with a nice view on the second floor and was concerned about having to look onto the parking lot. Well it was so dark when we checked in there was nothing to see until the next morning. When I woke up, I was very pleased with the room we got. The room looked onto a hillside with trees and I could see a mountain range in the distance.

So far the service has been really good and the staff are friendly. We did not encounter anyone asking if we wanted to attend any timeshare presentations as the check in clerk indicated I was flagged as a club member and waived the daily resort fee.

I will not repeat what others have written about the pools, the lack of elevators (I knew this and still asked for a 2nd floor room), the walking required to get to the rec center (although this is nothing compared to the massive resorts in Mexico is you've been to those), sure there are a few minor little things that are showing a bit of wear and tear but this is definitely one of the nicer time shares that i have stayed at.

Note - they do not have a restaurant or grocery on site so if you arrive late, you may be out of luck getting any food until the next morning.

We had stayed in building 41, unit 444.

Feel free to PM me if you have any questions.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dpw198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.8 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
3.7 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.0 mi away
Poco Diablo Resort
Poco Diablo Resort
#17 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Summit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Summit Resort

Property: Sedona Summit Resort
Address: 4055 Navoti Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336-4907
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#20 Family Hotel in Sedona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sedona Summit Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sedona Summit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Summit Hotel Sedona
Summit Sedona
Sunterra Resort Sedona Summit
Summit Resort Sedona
Sedona Summit Resort Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing