We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resource for hiking in Sedona”
Review of The Hike House

The Hike House
Ranked #8 of 112 Shopping in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hike House is Sedona's Premier Hiking Store. The store provides a unique technology that helps you find the perfect trail in Sedona (over 100 trails), Footwear, Gear, Guided Adventures and Energy Cafe (smoothies, cookies, trail mix station and coffee)
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great resource for hiking in Sedona”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were fortunate that our hotel suggested a visit here on our first day. In addition to providing a great place to buy gear that we forgot to bring, a hiking guide spent time with us marking up a map and identifying good hikes for the week. We ended up hiring one of the guides (Jason) to take us on a day-long guided hike, which allowed us to visit some incredible hikes that are not on commercial maps. A great resource. Highly recommended!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JLS102704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    10
    4
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
“Hike House has the most enthusiastic staff, greatest style on merchandise and impeccable hospitality!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The guys at Hike House made my first trip to Sedona exceedingly memorable! John and Jason have personally explored all this area has to offer and they happily navigated us to all the perfect locations. Their enthusiasm for their jobs , the outdoors and others was so refreshing!
As owners, Greg and Gracie share the same enthusiasm for the outdoors. They do an amazing job buying fashionable, yet functional, merchandise. They are both very hands on and welcoming !
Hike House should be everyone's FIRST stop when visiting. The most knowledgable, friendly locals in all Sedona!!
Thanks for all your time and hospitality,
April Mccraney

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mccraney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable Staff, Great Gear”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stopped in to get a good pair of hiking poles and they set us up with an awesome pair. This is not a discount shop, you pay good money for good gear, but this is backed up with a knowledgeable staff and solid advice. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible ”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This place was brilliant. My fiancé and I almost called it from Grand Canyon for more advice. So friendly. Went there twice during a 5-day holiday in Arizona. We would've gone a third but we worried we'd look like groupies. Also got great water sandals and trail mix.

Helpful?
1 Thank caropvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Amazing. Jason and the people at hike house made our trip! We arrived in Phoenix planning to hike the Grand Canyon but without much more prep. than that in the busiest season. Jason totally took care of us ensured that we not only got to do one of the most astonishing hikes of our lives (and we've done some nice hikes) but also took care of us for a lovely off trail hike in sedona. They were unpatronising and unswervingly helpful. We owe them our holiday. Thanks hike house!
P.s. I never bother to write review but in this case had to it was so good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jvantulleken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hike House also viewed

 

Been to The Hike House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing