We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda spendy, but great view”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
NorthernMN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Kinda spendy, but great view”
Reviewed 24 February 2008

This was our most expensive night on our week long vacation in Arizona. I expected Sedona to be on the higher side, but I guess I expected more out of the motel for $144. I'm not sure how much the Best Western was across the street, but if you can get a cheaper deal, go for it. This motel was no better than any Best Western/Days Inn. As for the view, yes, it's beautiful right outside your patio door, but it's right outside EVERY door in the city!!
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. There's a typical coffee pot set up in the dressing area.
The bathroom/dressing area was cramped, especially the toilet/bathtub room. It was a tight squeeze to close the door.
We were picked up by the hot air balloon company at 6:45, and the lobby doesn't open until 8:00, so we left our key cards outside the door. When we returned for our car, all was well, but it seemed a little scary leaving them there. Overall, it was a decent motel, but shop around if you want more luxury for the price.

  • Liked — Proximity to touristy shopping
  • Disliked — No morning snacks
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    254
    52
    4
    3
See reviews for
136
305
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

My fiance and I stayed in the Matterhorn for 2 nights over presidents day weekend in February. We originally were going to stay in the Grand Canyon for 3 nights but some snowy and chilly weather encouraged us to do some hiking in warmer Sedona first and then head to the GC.

For those who dont know Sedona (i didnt), this hotel is located in whats called Uptown Sedona. If you're arriving from Flagstaff, you essentially drive through and around a mountain and through a national forest and when you pop out, the first thing you hit is "uptown sedona". It reminded me a lot of Lake Tahoe (without the lake), but a really cute town with a ski-lodge type feel, with the gorgeous redrocks in the background.

The Location:
The matterhorn is on the opposite side of the street from the Red Rocks, so rooms with views (all have balconys, some have views), really have views of the cute shops across the street, with the red rocks behind those in the distance. There is parking right behind the motel and there are tons of shops, restaurants, etc on the 3 or 4 blocks of the uptown sedona strip. There are some swanky spa lodges on the rocks side of the street that i imagine have even more amazing views. Also, we arrived from teh north (via flagstaff) and there were a lot of really cute, cozy cabins in the woods if you're looking for something more remote...like the Forest Houses)
The area called "west sedona" is only really accessible by car and has more the less cutsey, but essential amenities like supermarkets, some chain fast food restaurants, gas stations, and larger hotels.

The rooms: Our room was spacious. It has 2 double beds, 2 casual chairs, a dresser, a round table w/ chairs, a entertainment unit w/ tv, a balcony and full bathroom. The bathroom was as soon as you walked in and the sink area, though large felt really cold..its hard to describe but i think it just could have used a door to this area instead of being wide open to the front door. i felt a bit exposed in there. the toilet and tub/shower were beyond the sink area in its own room..and was teeny tiny. Those were really my only complaints. The rooms had plenty of towels, free soap/shampoo/lotion, hairdryer..the usual. The mini fridge was very small..but perfectly fine for us. The heat worked well and the free wifi was great for researching our hikes. The receptionist was really helpful in recommending dinner (see my review for the cowboy club) and directing us to a Safeway supermarket nearby.

All in all we loved the motel. Great location, and good amenities.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank arkachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpharetta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2008

Just wanted to let you fellow traveler's know the Matterhorn is a gem. If you are looking for a clean well appointed room in which to stay, this is it. The rooms aren't huge and the bathroom is quite small but the appointments are everything you need complete with an astonishing view of the sun setting on the red rocks from your balcony. We stayed in room #40 and it was delightful. The owners of the establishment couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. The location is right downtown with the trolley cars for further distances picking you up in front of the Inn. The price of this hotel was very fair for the accomodations.

  • Liked — the cleanliness
  • Disliked — stairs to the second level could be a problem for elderly or disabled
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loves2travel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

Just returned from one night at the Matterorn Inn. The motel is nice and clean and the people are great. They are redoing the pool which will be nice in the summer. There are real nice views out the winows if you are on the top floor which we were (as we requested.) My only complaint is that the walls are thin and I could hear the persons cpap machine all night. CPAP is a machine that helps people with sleep apnea, very loud and annoying. I was able to turn the fan on in the room to drowned the noise out but the fan was not as loud as most hotel fan systems. Nice location - payed $99. Oh yeah, no elavator to the top floor.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank chitownflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2007

This is an out of the way, yet centrally located property in Uptown. The rooms are a little small but well appointed. The pool is also small, but clean and refreshing. The location, is perfect. Located in the center of Uptown, it is just a short walk to awesome shopping and decadent dining. Hiking and nighlife are within walking distance, also. No pets whatsoever are accepted, so if you are traveling with FiFi you are out of luck. I don't recommend it for families either, just because, as I said, the rooms are small.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank tGypsyMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2007

When we visit Sedona we always stay at the Matterhorn Inn. For more than 25 years we've been completely happy with the comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated rooms, and the friendly, courteous and professional staff who recommend wonderful restaurants and fun activities. There are many interesting things to see and do within walking distance. The views from every room are breathtaking, and we can't wait to go back to this wonderful inn.

  • Liked — Beautiful, clean, relaxing rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RoccoTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

I stayed at the Matterhorn for two nights with my two hiking buddies, based on the superior Trip Advisor reviews. Somehow, I expected more. Yes, the check-in was friendly, the rooms were clean and the views were....well, hey, it's Sedona and yes, they were beautiful. But I would classify the Matterhorn as a "modest" facility with no amenities beyond what you would normally expect from an average motel. The location downtown was perfect and at night, all traffic disappeared. The walls were thin as we could hear the television blaring next door and the folks upstairs clomping around. At just over $150/night (including AAA discount, rollaway and extra person charges), I think it was too pricey for such modest lodging. But hey, it's Sedona. And the hiking? Unbeatable.

  • Liked — Views and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank HomeawayfromhomeAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
3.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Property: Matterhorn Inn
Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona
Matterhorn Inn Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing