We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We arrived after an exciting ride along route 89A from Prescott, and found the hotel with no trouble at all. What a beautiful location with great views from our room!

Check-in was easy, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We also have a small dog with us, and arranged for a pet friendly room for a small additional cost of $15.

The room was nicely appointed, clean, and quite comfortable. (We also qualified for a winter special rate, so check out that offer.)

Will definitely be back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1lacrosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear 1lacrosse,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We appreciate your comments and are delighted that our location, views and clean accommodations were adequate for you and your pet's needs. We offer our Winter Special each year, and we are happy you were able to take advantage of our great deal. We hope to welcome you back next year!

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

If sitting on a balcony sipping morning coffee in the sunshine with spectacular red rock views appeals to you, and your goal is a comfortable place to sleep and a convenient home base for outdoor activities and exploring, the Matterhorn is great and moderately priced. If you are after a pampered resort experience, try someplace else. Bed and linens were outstanding, room very clean and updated. Windows might be better cleaned with a squeegee to avoid swirl marks that made the window look hazy/dirty in the sunlight. I could hear sounds and voices from surrounding rooms, but that would not keep me from staying here again and requesting a 2nd floor room. Desk clerk told me they are in the process of updating all the rooms.

Room Tip: 2nd floor to avoid hearing noise from rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Linda D,

Thank you for the valuable assessment of your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your balcony each morning, and that you found your room to be comfortable. We appreciate your suggestion on using squeegees for our slider windows; we are looking into that as an option. We are currently in the process of updating our rooms, and we hope to welcome you back soon to experience our new improvements.

Well regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Really enjoyed our night in Sedona, the Matterhorne Inn was in a perfect location with spotlessly clean rooms and a very friendly staff, the reccomendation of the Cowboy club for dinner was spot on.
A very good motel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robhiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear robhiam,

Thank you for your warmhearted review and electing to stay with us. It is fantastic that you found your room to be exceptionally clean and welcoming. Our staff strive to provide exceptional guest service, from recommending hiking trails to restaurants; we are glad that you enjoyed the Cowboy Club! We certainly look forward to your next visit; hopefully you will find the time to stay longer!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A fantastic hotel in a great location. We highly recommend hands down. We have been staying at this hotel for a number of years for our summer vacation. A great uptown location with easy walking to many shops and restaurants. You will not be unhappy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear George H,

We would like to thank you for being a returning guest for many years. It is always our pleasure to consistently provide you with a great location and a clean, comfortable room at a great price. We appreciate your kind comments, and thank you for spreading the word to fellow travelers! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Matterhorn Inn
In a word, this modest hotel was terrific. Located in the Uptown Sedona tourist strip, the location offered easy access to restaurants and shopping and our room was one of the largest in which we’ve stayed. Free wi-fi was available in our room and our balcony offered a spectacular view of the red rocks which surround the town. The bathroom offered plenty of hot water and good water pressure for showers. The king-sized bed was extremely comfortable and the flat screen TV offered plenty of viewing choices. I really cannot think of a negative for this wonderful motel: check-in and check-out staff were very friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend the Matterhorn Inn.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a good view of the spectacular mountains. We stayed on the second floor in Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Steve B,

Thank you very much! Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are happy to hear that your stay was superb. We are also delighted that you found our location, room accommodations and staff to all be top notch. Thank you for sharing your lovely pictures for others to see! We certainly will look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Some travelers want full service luxury, and others want a nice place to stay on a budget. If the latter is you, then the Matterhorn Inn is a great choice. We stayed at the Matterhorn for one night on a recent trip through Sedona. We chose it because of the reasonable price point (in Sedona terms), the uptown location, the free parking and wifi, and the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were quite satisfied. The motel is an older one, but the rooms are very clean and very nicely decorated. The views of the red rocks are as spectacular as advertised – we arrived in the dark and had a “Wow!” moment when we opened the blinds in the morning. The bathroom was small and the tub appeared to be a vintage original, but at least everything worked well. The king bed was definitely very comfortable, and the free wifi offered a good connection speed. There was also a small fridge and in room coffee maker. The reception was friendly, with excellent recommendations offered for dinner (The Cowboy Club) and breakfast (The Wildflower Bread Company). We would probably stay here again, although admittedly, our tour of Sedona drew our attention to several very tempting full service resorts. Still, if price point is a key factor in your decision-making, the Matterhorn is a very good choice. I doubt that you would find a better motel at this price point.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda_pledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear brenda_pledge,


We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. It was our pleasure to provide clean and comfortable accommodations for you and your guest. We have plans to make improvements to our property, including our rooms and the interior décor. We are basic; however, our exceptional level of service and cleanliness are never compromised. We hope you will return to stay with us again.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

my wife,baby and i along with our dog stayed here for one night. the hotel was very clean for being a pet friendly hotel.the price was not bad, our view was amazing and the location was great right along the main road close to shops and great dining, they had a very friendly staff, we would stay here again if ever gotten the chance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Shane M,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you found your room accommodations to be adequate for your needs. Our staff works diligently to provide our guests with sparkling clean rooms, and gracious guest service. We offer a limited number of pet friendly rooms, and we take special care to keep them just as lovely as the rest. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 49 in Sedona
1,292 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £113 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Matterhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona
Matterhorn Inn Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing