We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great views, great rates!”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Upon entering my room, I realized it was a single king but I had booked a double queen (booked online direct). It was brought to their attention and they were very nice giving me a bit of a credit and a nice blow up bed (instead of a junky roll away), which a gentleman set up and made for me. Becky was terrific, very apologetic and accommodating. The value is great and views are stunning! Rooms are clean and staff (as mentioned before) are wonderful. Sure, there was a little snafu but it was rectified and we were very satisfied with our stay and will stay there again and again!! :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaKish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear JessicaKish,

Thank you for your review, and for your patience with us while we remedied our mistake. We apologize again for the mix up in your reserved room type. While make every effort to ensure our guests do not have this sort of thing happen to them, sometimes things do happen and we truly appreciate you bringing the matter to our attention and for your patience with us. We are glad your stay was otherwise enjoyable and we truly hope to see you again in the future!

Well regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Matterhorn was the perfect accommodation for our first visit to Sedona. Great value, convenient location, friendly and helpful staff. Our room was clean and spacious, with understated tasteful décor. Located in the heart of Sedona, Matterhorn is nonetheless quiet and boasts great views from every room. If you're looking for an excellent base camp for your visit to Sedona, Matterhorn is a fine choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael V A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Michael V A,

Thank you very much! We are thrilled that your first visit to Sedona was a memorable success. We thank you for your kind comments, and for writing a review for other fellow travelers to read. We are pleased that you found our location, views and value to be everything you were looking for and more. We hope to welcome you back for your 2nd visit to Sedona!

Well wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very friendly and accomidating staff.... Convienient parking, super clean rooms with amazing views!!!
Located in the heart of everything....... Not super fancy, but cozy in a vintage sort of way....if you are looking for a place to stay that you will feel safe & not lacking in entertainment then The Matterhorn Inn is a good choice!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Loni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Loni L,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind comments and feedback on your stay with us. It was our pleasure to provide you with a clean and comfortable room to enjoy your red rock view, along with our helpful staff to provide recommendations. We are not a large property, but we agree that our rooms provide a cozy feel for our guests to feel safe and welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a family trip planned. Found out abut the chalet and it worked perfect! Originally it was going to be 6 adults but one couple decided to take a hotel room because he had a bad back and is up a lot at night. But, we all used the chalet during the day! We had our breakfast there and then just walked around town. So convienent for us! All 3 couples said they would book this again.
We had to ask about the mattress! All of us woke up talking about how comfortable the beds are!!!

Room Tip: The Chalet is perfect for a few couples! There are 4 Queen beds plus the sleeper sofa!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnesotaBwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear MinnesotaBwaters,

Thank you very much! We are delighted that you and your guests enjoyed spending time in our Chalet. We agree it is ideal for guests traveling as a group or for families as it is quite spacious and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip!

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Nothing wrong with the Matterhorn, but its a typical motel that doesn't really justify the tone of some of the Tripadvisor reviews. Its well situated on the main uptown strip, clean, with reasonably spacious rooms. Heating worked fine at night, and there was a view over the stores towards the red rocks. Service at the front desk was pleasant and efficient. But it's also a bit dated looking. The bathroom could use an update. The walls are paper thin, which wasn't a problem in my case because neighbors were quiet at night, but could be a problem even if they had just had normal conversations. There's no breakfast available on site (but easily bought only steps away). Pricing was reasonable, so to sum it up, you get what you pay for, which is an average motel in a good location, but nothing more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have more of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank born_to_run_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear born_to_run_Canadian,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you found our accommodations to be reasonably priced and our location favorable. We are also pleased to read that our guest service was adequate, and your room was clean and comfortable. We have recently completed room renovations which include a reduction of noise transfer. Although we are a basic and simplistic property, we never compromise our level of service or cleanliness. We hope you will consider another stay with us.

Well regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

My family and I recently visited Sedona for the first time and had the pleasure of staying at the Matterhorn Inn. From the moment we arrived, we were warmly greeted by Becky at the front desk. Check-in was quick and easy. Since it was our first time in Sedona, Becky gave us some great ideas on how to explore the town. She showed us to our room, which had an amazing view of the red rocks. We especially had a great view of Snoopy Rock. We took advantage of the trolley tour which departed from across the street.
The Matterhorn Inn is perfectly located in Uptown and has many shops and restaurants within walking distance.
Overall, we had an amazing experience in Sedona combined with the outstanding customer service we received at the Matterhorn Inn.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank JZAM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear JZAM4,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your time spent in Sedona. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations, and we are happy to hear that we truly succeeded in making your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Matterhorn is a perfect place to stay. Your view of the Red Rocks (especially "Snoopy") is breath taking. They are pleasant and helpful at the front desk and your room is always clean. The pricing is reasonable. You are on the end of the strip so you are in walking distance of many restaurants and shops!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Red Rocks. Stay on the second floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ultradebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Ultradebb,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments and we thank you for sharing the picture of Snoopy Rock as viewed from your terrace! It was our pleasure to provide you with clean and comfortable room accommodations, along with exceptional guest service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Las Posadas of Sedona
Las Posadas of Sedona
#24 of 48 in Sedona
753 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £111 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Matterhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona
Matterhorn Inn Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing