We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights, Clean, friendly, great location. The only issue we had was someone trying to come in to our room from the adjoining door in the middle of the night, that was NOT okay and we let the front desk know they needed to make sure those locks worked. We could not get it to close and lock properly. Having said that, we would still choose this place again for the value and location.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Micky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Micky C,


Thank you for the valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. We would like to take this opportunity to also thank you for bringing the incident of the failed lock on the adjoining door to our attention during your stay with us. We truly apologize for the unexpected and alarming inconvenience this may have caused you. We notified maintenance personnel immediately after you had informed our staff. We were successful in replacing the old locks, and the new ones are secure and functioning well. We are pleased that you had an otherwise enjoyable stay with us. We certainly hope you will stay with us again, and we appreciate your patience with us.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    254
    52
    4
    3
See reviews for
136
305
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I couldn't have picked a better place for my stay in Sedona. Check-in was friendly and efficient. I was quite presently surprised when I walked in the room. It was much more spacious than I had expected, and the view from the window and balcony was breathtaking. I loved the fact that the trolley station, several good restaurants, and even the Starbucks down 89A a bit were easily walkable. A special bonus is a charming coffee house called Theias was just across the parking lot for those who want something bit fancier than the coffee generously provided in the room. Oh yes, I don't want to forget two very important amenities for me - the little fridge in the room, and the free wifi. These two features made my stay even more pleasant.
I would highly recommend Matterhorn Inn to anyone who asked me for a recommendation, with two cautionary notes - if you have trouble walking up or down stairs, or have heavy luggage to carry you might want to stay on the ground floor since the stairs are somewhat steep. Secondly, the parking is a bit tight. After check-in time the limited motel parking area fills up fast. You can park for free in the public lot right across the street, but even that is usually filled until after most businesses close at 8:00pm.
For my next visit to 'Uptown Sedona', I will definitely being staying at the Matterhorn Inn!

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask about the senior discount! I booked online rather than calling for my reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Paul_Tucson,


We thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and that you found your room to be clean and comfortable with a breathtaking view of the red rock vistas. We appreciate your kind comments and feedback, as both are very important to us in order to make adjustments and improvements for our future guests. We understand that parking has become a growing concern and we are looking into ways we can improve parking convenience for our guests. Again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Great overnight stay at wonderful Sedona. ..with glorious red rock views from not only the balcony but even the bed!
Situated right in downtown. ..
coffee in the room...chimes throughout the town were heard...lovely
.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsy4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear gypsy4747,

We appreciate your kind comments and we thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the beautiful red rock view from your bed! We agree that we certainly do have a superb location to walk the Uptown area and relax quietly on your terrace after things close up. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Upon entering my room, I realized it was a single king but I had booked a double queen (booked online direct). It was brought to their attention and they were very nice giving me a bit of a credit and a nice blow up bed (instead of a junky roll away), which a gentleman set up and made for me. Becky was terrific, very apologetic and accommodating. The value is great and views are stunning! Rooms are clean and staff (as mentioned before) are wonderful. Sure, there was a little snafu but it was rectified and we were very satisfied with our stay and will stay there again and again!! :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaKish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear JessicaKish,

Thank you for your review, and for your patience with us while we remedied our mistake. We apologize again for the mix up in your reserved room type. While make every effort to ensure our guests do not have this sort of thing happen to them, sometimes things do happen and we truly appreciate you bringing the matter to our attention and for your patience with us. We are glad your stay was otherwise enjoyable and we truly hope to see you again in the future!

Well regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Matterhorn was the perfect accommodation for our first visit to Sedona. Great value, convenient location, friendly and helpful staff. Our room was clean and spacious, with understated tasteful décor. Located in the heart of Sedona, Matterhorn is nonetheless quiet and boasts great views from every room. If you're looking for an excellent base camp for your visit to Sedona, Matterhorn is a fine choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Michael V A,

Thank you very much! We are thrilled that your first visit to Sedona was a memorable success. We thank you for your kind comments, and for writing a review for other fellow travelers to read. We are pleased that you found our location, views and value to be everything you were looking for and more. We hope to welcome you back for your 2nd visit to Sedona!

Well wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and accomidating staff.... Convienient parking, super clean rooms with amazing views!!!
Located in the heart of everything....... Not super fancy, but cozy in a vintage sort of way....if you are looking for a place to stay that you will feel safe & not lacking in entertainment then The Matterhorn Inn is a good choice!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Loni L,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind comments and feedback on your stay with us. It was our pleasure to provide you with a clean and comfortable room to enjoy your red rock view, along with our helpful staff to provide recommendations. We are not a large property, but we agree that our rooms provide a cozy feel for our guests to feel safe and welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a family trip planned. Found out abut the chalet and it worked perfect! Originally it was going to be 6 adults but one couple decided to take a hotel room because he had a bad back and is up a lot at night. But, we all used the chalet during the day! We had our breakfast there and then just walked around town. So convienent for us! All 3 couples said they would book this again.
We had to ask about the mattress! All of us woke up talking about how comfortable the beds are!!!

Room Tip: The Chalet is perfect for a few couples! There are 4 Queen beds plus the sleeper sofa!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaBwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear MinnesotaBwaters,

Thank you very much! We are delighted that you and your guests enjoyed spending time in our Chalet. We agree it is ideal for guests traveling as a group or for families as it is quite spacious and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip!

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
3.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Property: Matterhorn Inn
Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona
Matterhorn Inn Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing