We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Views”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome Views”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Matterhorn Inn for 3 nights. Our room was on the first floor. The service was great, the room was clean, the views spectacular because you are right in the middle of town. The beds and bedding were great. The curtains were heavy duty so the light from the sliding glass door did not wake you up in the morning. Cable tv, wi fi.

My complaint is the guest noise that you hear when you are located on the first floor. You hear talking, walking, dropping, tv and the dragging of the patio furniture. Also the window behind the sink is not covered so the light of the early sunrise will wake you up if you are sensitive to the light in the morning. If you have good hearing and are sensitive to people noise, try to get a second floor room. We plan to stay at the property again, but only on the second floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Remy2011,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to voice your opinions. It is great that you enjoyed the views from your room and that you were comfortable during your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the bathroom windows letting in light in the mornings. We will look into adding blinds to those windows as a possible solution. We would love to welcome you back for another stay, in an upstairs room as you had mentioned. We thank you again, and hope to hear from you soon to book your next stay.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    251
    52
    4
    3
See reviews for
133
304
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

With everyone raving about the views at this place, I was surprised at how urban that view is. Yes, you get to see the red rocks, but roughly half your view is taken up by the two story shopping center across the street (I'm a little puzzled how they got that bucolic shot prominent on their website, was it taken on top the roof by a guy laying on his stomach?). That street is the main highway going through town so during daytime hours there is considerable hustle and bustle. All of the rooms appear to face in this direction. Very little traffic later in the evening but the occasional Harley will get your attention.

I suppose its location in Uptown is a a plus, especially if you've come to Sedona to browse the shops, if you've come to hike and explore, it doesn't really matter what area you stay in.

Sedona is expensive and the Matterhorn does represent good value for money. It is an older facility (1950's I believe) but the rooms have been updated and are quite large. Fortunately, it was cool enough that the noisy AC didn't have to be used much. And speaking of noise, it wasn't real pleasant listening to the sound of snoring coming from the adjacent room.

The staff is friendly and very helpful in proving information, Terri in particular. One thing I like is the windshield cleaning supplies near the lobby intended for use by guests, I wish more motels would do this.

So there you have it, some pluses and some minuses, overall I have to go with three stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Ethan A,

We appreciate you taking the time to review us. It is wonderful that we were successful in providing you with excellent guest service, and a clean room at a good value for the area overall. We are one of the few original Sedona hotels in Uptown (back then, the structure you saw across the street had not been built yet); and we have recently completed our room renovations. However, we are disappointed that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay, for the reasons you had mentioned. We do value your feedback and we will continue to make improvements. We hope you would consider another stay here the next time you are in Sedona.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had room #38.

Private balcony!!! Comfy king size bed. Shower with a view!!

Clean room and bathroom!

Walking distance to shops, restaurants, Tlaquepaque, trolley tours, jeep tours.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggbrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear ggbrenna,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed spending time with us here. We also appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was, and that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Well wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My first trip to Arizona and found this small wonderfully welcoming hotel even better than expected! Becky was friendly and helpful . Rooms were very well equipped, maintained and cleaned. Pool was delightful in afternoon sun. Views are simply sensational. I showed my daughter back in London and she simply described it as a Wild West set. Cannot recommend highly enough and will definitely be back. London Alan

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Who-is-sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Who-is-sylvia,

Thank you for all of the wonderful comments. It was certainly a pleasure to have had you as our guest. We appreciate you sharing your experience with your family and other fellow travelers. We thank you for noticing our on-going efforts to keep our facility well maintained and inviting for all of our guests to enjoy. We hope you will come and see us again soon for your second trip.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Matterhorn Inn in April. The weather was superb and the location in uptown Sedona is very good. There is easy parking, the Inn is within walking distance to numerous restaurants - the rooms are large.
The Inn has terrific redrock views - out across the highway and retail across the road - a distraction but if you stay on the other side of the road you will pay at minimum 1/3 more - so - easy to look out over your view.
The rooms are large and have been recently renovated - new carpets - good linens - although the A/C was old and quite loud - I turned it off and opened the back windows - no noise and air.
This Inn is good value in Sedona - the couple who run it keep it immaculate and are a very good source of information.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingCdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear WanderingCdns,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us, as your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall; and that you found our room renovations to be comfortable, with the exception of the a/c. The wall units work hard to cool the room as quickly as possible, which is a must in the summer. We are glad that you were here at a good time of year when the outside air at night is rather refreshing. It is great to know that you still enjoyed the view, and our supreme location to walk the Uptown area. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights, Clean, friendly, great location. The only issue we had was someone trying to come in to our room from the adjoining door in the middle of the night, that was NOT okay and we let the front desk know they needed to make sure those locks worked. We could not get it to close and lock properly. Having said that, we would still choose this place again for the value and location.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Micky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Micky C,


Thank you for the valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. We would like to take this opportunity to also thank you for bringing the incident of the failed lock on the adjoining door to our attention during your stay with us. We truly apologize for the unexpected and alarming inconvenience this may have caused you. We notified maintenance personnel immediately after you had informed our staff. We were successful in replacing the old locks, and the new ones are secure and functioning well. We are pleased that you had an otherwise enjoyable stay with us. We certainly hope you will stay with us again, and we appreciate your patience with us.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I couldn't have picked a better place for my stay in Sedona. Check-in was friendly and efficient. I was quite presently surprised when I walked in the room. It was much more spacious than I had expected, and the view from the window and balcony was breathtaking. I loved the fact that the trolley station, several good restaurants, and even the Starbucks down 89A a bit were easily walkable. A special bonus is a charming coffee house called Theias was just across the parking lot for those who want something bit fancier than the coffee generously provided in the room. Oh yes, I don't want to forget two very important amenities for me - the little fridge in the room, and the free wifi. These two features made my stay even more pleasant.
I would highly recommend Matterhorn Inn to anyone who asked me for a recommendation, with two cautionary notes - if you have trouble walking up or down stairs, or have heavy luggage to carry you might want to stay on the ground floor since the stairs are somewhat steep. Secondly, the parking is a bit tight. After check-in time the limited motel parking area fills up fast. You can park for free in the public lot right across the street, but even that is usually filled until after most businesses close at 8:00pm.
For my next visit to 'Uptown Sedona', I will definitely being staying at the Matterhorn Inn!

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask about the senior discount! I booked online rather than calling for my reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Paul_Tucson,


We thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and that you found your room to be clean and comfortable with a breathtaking view of the red rock vistas. We appreciate your kind comments and feedback, as both are very important to us in order to make adjustments and improvements for our future guests. We understand that parking has become a growing concern and we are looking into ways we can improve parking convenience for our guests. Again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Property: Matterhorn Inn
Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona
Matterhorn Inn Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing