We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay at Matterhorn in Sedona.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Matterhorn in Sedona.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 nights at the Matterhorn Inn in Sedona. The location is superb. Located in upper Sedona on 89A, the inn is near great shopping and restaurants. The housekeeping was efficient, and kept our room very clean. After a day of hiking and exploring, we could count on our room being nicely cleaned and comfortable. Rooms have a balcony view of beautiful red rocks. We asked for a fan, for background noise, and the front office made sure we had one. I asked for an extra pillow and got one immediately. The staff was so helpful. I recommend this property to those traveling in Sedona. Makes for a nice home base. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenbrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jenbrandi,

Wow! Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are ecstatic that we were successful in going above and beyond your expectations. Hats off to our wonderful staff, especially our housekeepers! It was our pleasure to provide prompt service, exemplary room accommodations and a memorable stay. We will continue to strive to provide an experience like you had to all of our guests. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Well regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    247
    52
    4
    3
See reviews for
130
302
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The best things about the Matterhorn - location (can walk around the shops) and the view. The hotel itself is average. Thus the average of 4 stars (5 for the location and view, 3 for the room). We're happy we stayed there instead of a fancier but less convenient place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear David0514,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We are delighted that you loved our location, and that you chose to stay with us primarily for that reason. Our rooms are designed to have a cozy feeling-a nice place to rest, sit out, and enjoy the views after a day of shopping or hiking. We hope you will consider another stay with us.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We found the staff very helpful and kind. The Inn is close enough to walk to many of the
eateries, galleries and attractions. We would return. The Inn is high enough to offer a beautiful view of the red rocks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear ctraveler2,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that you found our staff to be courteous and helpful, and our location to be ideal for your visit to Sedona. We hope to welcome you back soon for another weekend getaway!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Matterhorn Inn for 3 nights. Our room was on the first floor. The service was great, the room was clean, the views spectacular because you are right in the middle of town. The beds and bedding were great. The curtains were heavy duty so the light from the sliding glass door did not wake you up in the morning. Cable tv, wi fi.

My complaint is the guest noise that you hear when you are located on the first floor. You hear talking, walking, dropping, tv and the dragging of the patio furniture. Also the window behind the sink is not covered so the light of the early sunrise will wake you up if you are sensitive to the light in the morning. If you have good hearing and are sensitive to people noise, try to get a second floor room. We plan to stay at the property again, but only on the second floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Remy2011,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to voice your opinions. It is great that you enjoyed the views from your room and that you were comfortable during your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the bathroom windows letting in light in the mornings. We will look into adding blinds to those windows as a possible solution. We would love to welcome you back for another stay, in an upstairs room as you had mentioned. We thank you again, and hope to hear from you soon to book your next stay.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

With everyone raving about the views at this place, I was surprised at how urban that view is. Yes, you get to see the red rocks, but roughly half your view is taken up by the two story shopping center across the street (I'm a little puzzled how they got that bucolic shot prominent on their website, was it taken on top the roof by a guy laying on his stomach?). That street is the main highway going through town so during daytime hours there is considerable hustle and bustle. All of the rooms appear to face in this direction. Very little traffic later in the evening but the occasional Harley will get your attention.

I suppose its location in Uptown is a a plus, especially if you've come to Sedona to browse the shops, if you've come to hike and explore, it doesn't really matter what area you stay in.

Sedona is expensive and the Matterhorn does represent good value for money. It is an older facility (1950's I believe) but the rooms have been updated and are quite large. Fortunately, it was cool enough that the noisy AC didn't have to be used much. And speaking of noise, it wasn't real pleasant listening to the sound of snoring coming from the adjacent room.

The staff is friendly and very helpful in proving information, Terri in particular. One thing I like is the windshield cleaning supplies near the lobby intended for use by guests, I wish more motels would do this.

So there you have it, some pluses and some minuses, overall I have to go with three stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Ethan A,

We appreciate you taking the time to review us. It is wonderful that we were successful in providing you with excellent guest service, and a clean room at a good value for the area overall. We are one of the few original Sedona hotels in Uptown (back then, the structure you saw across the street had not been built yet); and we have recently completed our room renovations. However, we are disappointed that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay, for the reasons you had mentioned. We do value your feedback and we will continue to make improvements. We hope you would consider another stay here the next time you are in Sedona.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had room #38.

Private balcony!!! Comfy king size bed. Shower with a view!!

Clean room and bathroom!

Walking distance to shops, restaurants, Tlaquepaque, trolley tours, jeep tours.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggbrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear ggbrenna,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed spending time with us here. We also appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was, and that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Well wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My first trip to Arizona and found this small wonderfully welcoming hotel even better than expected! Becky was friendly and helpful . Rooms were very well equipped, maintained and cleaned. Pool was delightful in afternoon sun. Views are simply sensational. I showed my daughter back in London and she simply described it as a Wild West set. Cannot recommend highly enough and will definitely be back. London Alan

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Who-is-sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Who-is-sylvia,

Thank you for all of the wonderful comments. It was certainly a pleasure to have had you as our guest. We appreciate you sharing your experience with your family and other fellow travelers. We thank you for noticing our on-going efforts to keep our facility well maintained and inviting for all of our guests to enjoy. We hope you will come and see us again soon for your second trip.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
1,108 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Property: Matterhorn Inn
Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona
Matterhorn Inn Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing