We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous sized room with great views!”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

How wonderful to look at the stunning Sedona red rocks at sunset from your patio at the Matterhorn Inn in the heart of uptown Sedona. Very clean large room with comfy beds, helpful staff, and plenty of parking for one's car.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hursto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Hursto,

We thank you for your review and kind comments. It is fantastic that you truly enjoyed your stay with us, especially the breathtaking view from your room! We are delighted that you found your room to be rather comfortable, clean and well appointed. Our kind and helpful staff eagerly await to welcome you back again soon.

Well regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Booked based on a recommendation from a friend. Location is fantastic. Views are nice! Room size isn't bad though the closet is too small to place a full sized opened suitcase in and still close the door. Balcony patio is great.

Another reason we booked was because their website said they had pillow top beds with plush bedding. The mattresses are awful. Feels like sleeping on the floor. They're not pillow top-mattresses...just plain, cheap ones. Also note that the beds are doubles and not the standard queens you find in rooms with two beds.

Lastly the a/c is pretty loud. Finally turned it off as it kept causing my infant to startle in her sleep every time it kicked on and it did so frequently.

Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arizona_1518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Arizona_1518,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is nice that you were referred to us by a friend of yours and that you found our location and views to be very great. However, it is unfortunate that you had a less than satisfactory stay overall. We understand your concerns about our air conditioning units. We often recommend to guests to have the fan speed on "low" so it doesn't blow as intensely. The temperatures at night are pleasant enough that you could leave a few windows open instead. We are disappointed that you will not elect to stay with us again, but if you should change your mind, our door is always open.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We loved the location and the spacious room. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and they have large bottles of water for only $1. We will certainly be back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lexilu5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Lexilu5050,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you found your room to be spacious, clean and comfortable. Our friendly staff are always eager to assist our guests in any possible way. We also do have the lowest price in town for bottled water! Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back soon.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This Inn is perfect for anyone looking to stay in the heart of uptown Sedona. Everything is within walking distance and the inn itself is awesome. Very comfortable beds and the staff is super friendly! ! Would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Sedona.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Ryan L,

Thank you, we appreciate your kind and thoughtful comments. We agree that we do have an ideal location for those looking to stay in the heart of Uptown. Our views are great and we are glad that you found your room to be comfortable. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Well regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I chose this hotel because I was taking an art class across the street. Wanted to write this so the hotel would fix their internet connection. I had to go to the coffee shop( which I enjoyed ) behind the inn to get a fast internet connection. Other than that the price was right compared to the Best Western and the room was clean and nice.

Room Tip: I choose location because of access to the Art Center and I did not have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanpauloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear sanpauloo,

Thank you for writing a review for us, we certainly value your feedback. We are glad you chose to stay with us, both for the close proximity to your class, and our reasonable rates. Thank you for bringing the complimentary Wi-Fi speed to our attention. We will do our best to improve this flaw; as it is rather unfortunate that it hindered your stay with us terribly. We are pleased that you enjoyed the view and your room was kept clean and comfortable overall. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 nights at the Matterhorn Inn in Sedona. The location is superb. Located in upper Sedona on 89A, the inn is near great shopping and restaurants. The housekeeping was efficient, and kept our room very clean. After a day of hiking and exploring, we could count on our room being nicely cleaned and comfortable. Rooms have a balcony view of beautiful red rocks. We asked for a fan, for background noise, and the front office made sure we had one. I asked for an extra pillow and got one immediately. The staff was so helpful. I recommend this property to those traveling in Sedona. Makes for a nice home base. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenbrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Jenbrandi,

Wow! Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are ecstatic that we were successful in going above and beyond your expectations. Hats off to our wonderful staff, especially our housekeepers! It was our pleasure to provide prompt service, exemplary room accommodations and a memorable stay. We will continue to strive to provide an experience like you had to all of our guests. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Well regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The best things about the Matterhorn - location (can walk around the shops) and the view. The hotel itself is average. Thus the average of 4 stars (5 for the location and view, 3 for the room). We're happy we stayed there instead of a fancier but less convenient place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear David0514,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We are delighted that you loved our location, and that you chose to stay with us primarily for that reason. Our rooms are designed to have a cozy feeling-a nice place to rest, sit out, and enjoy the views after a day of shopping or hiking. We hope you will consider another stay with us.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#21 of 49 in Sedona
1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £117 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Matterhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona
Matterhorn Inn Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing