We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway to the Grand Canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sedona Pines Resort
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway to the Grand Canyon”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed at the Sedona Pines Resort over the Labor Day weekend and loved it. The cottage style units were perfect. They have a fully equipped kitchen, a deck, dining room and queen size bed. It's like a miniature house. It's a couple of miles from downtown Sedona. It has a very nice bistro and restaurant. The food was great. You can walk easily to the pool and restaurant. It's close to the parks. It's a easy drive to the Grand Canyon. We will stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry47087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    244
    82
    34
    36
See reviews for
172
321
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Best things about resort:
Having know one above, below or attached to you and being able to park right in front. The grounds are also really lovely with rivers and waterfalls flowing through out.

Best attractions or restaurants nearby:
Sedona center is just a few minutes away giving you all the amenities you could need. Don't miss going on the Verde Canyon Railroad for the 4 hour train ride. Check out Jerome, the trolley tours, Slide Rock State Park (very cool!) and ofcourse The Grand Canyon. Great restaurants to try were L'Auberge Hotel - dine right beside the Oak Creek, Enchantment Hotel - beautiful view of the red rock from the restaurant, The Barking Frog, The Cowboy Club - great burgers, Javelina Cantina - great mexicana, and the best we experienced was at The Asylum in the Jerome Grand Hotel - fabulous views and food!

Review:
We had read many of the reviews here and are sooooo happy we ignored the negative ones. We own at a Gold Crown Resort so compare all others to our home resort. We were very pleased with Sedona Pines Resort in all aspects and would definitely return one day. The staff were excellent including the maintenance workers that are continually working to keep the grounds, rivers, waterfalls, gardens and BBQ's clean. The cottages are small but very well designed and the use of the space is excellent. There is tons of storage space in the bedroom. The bed was really comfortable. There are lots of towels. The furniture was in good condition.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank micheleholmes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We totally enjoyed our stay at Sedona Pines.

Had read reviews before going so expected the smaller footprint of the casita. Actually it felt bigger than we anticipated, except the bedroom which was a little close, but not terrible either. It was cute and very different from a normal hotel or resort stay - liked the privacy of the individual units. Would certainly stay here again.

We spent most of our week here offsite hiking and exploring. You do need a car to fully enjoy the area. Spent most nights in town - good variety of restaurants available. Not really much to do here in the evening. We did play tennis once - free rackets and balls at the front desk - and enjoyed mini-golf on there free course another evening.

We did use the pool a couple of days, was clean but simple with a small hot tub. No poolside service, although you could place an order inside at the bar and pay and they would bring it out to you.

For such a small and unimposing restaurant the food was remarkably good - rated right up there with a couple of the top end downtown establishments.

Based on unit and amenities I would give it a solid 3.5*. It doesn't pretend to be a 5* star resort and as long as that is not what you are expecting you should enjoy yourself. RCI has it rated a Gold Crown - which is based on amenities not necessarily luxury - and I feel it deserves it.

Room Tip: The closer you are to the pool and restaurant the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaSunSeeker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Very Clean! Lovely pool. Beautiful star gazing! Staff is very friendly and the program presented was interesting. We would come back. We traveled with another couple and we had a 3 bedroom combo unit with a deck in between. Worked out very well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Me and my family visited the Sedona Pines Resort and enjoyed our stay. The property is well kept, as well as the unit we stayed in (the Casita). We especially enjoyed the pool and the mini golf course on site. If we go back to Sedona, I would definitely consider staying at Sedona Pines again.

Room Tip: The Casita has more amenities than the other units. It has lndry, kng sz bd, flt scrn tvs, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
205 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Each unit is a separate unit that is reminiscent of a mobile home, a nice mobile home. The feature that makes the units nicer than a mobile home is they have lots of windows, and the upper ones include some nice design features in the glass itself. There are no curtains over these windows and the lower windows have plastic blinds so it becomes quite bright in the units when the sun comes up.

There is nothing fancy in the units but they are very functional, albeit quite small. For example, the floors are vinyl/commercial carpet, and the counter-tops are Formica. We found that did not lack anything, but it was not like spending some time in luxury living. The rooms and the grounds were well kept. The pool was nice, and the word that comes to mind is functional. A nice touch was that they had a couple of extra spas (hot tubs) scattered around the property. A couple of things that stuck out for me: a barbecue beside out unit with charcoal furnished and a nice laundry that was free for guests - no need to scrounge for coins.

A couple of things that did not work so well. The units have WiFi, and sometimes it worked well and sometimes it did not work at all. It definitely would be difficult to work online while relying on their WiFi. The other thing that was kind of inconvenient is that the resort is a couple miles outside of town nestled among private property so it is not like one can easily go shopping or hiking.

We chose not to endure a timeshare presentation, but others have commented that they are kind of onerous. Overall, this resort is well cared for and quiet, but the word that really comes to mind is functional.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Oskarduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, MA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The units themselves are quite pleasant. They are compared to a house trailer in size however they have a lot of windows by ceiling. The ceiling which was reasonably high has some interest so it did not feel as cramped as a house trailers. When you are in Sedona, you want a view of the incredible red cliffs from your room. This you will not get. Basically you see other units from your balcony. They have water features spread throughout, with several outdoor spas. The mini golf was just quaint. The main pool area has a fence surrounding it, not too many shade areas, so relatively charmless.
They give you coupons for free drinks that have very little liquor in them. There are activities you can participate in. Do not go to time share presentation. This is definately not a gold crown resort which is the rating it gets on RCI. We went through an
RCI exchange. Go to Summit Lodge instead because of the views.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seck138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.2 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.1 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
6.3 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.9 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#21 of 48 in Sedona
1,179 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Pines Resort

Property: Sedona Pines Resort
Address: 6701 W State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9757
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#27 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sedona Pines Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sedona Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Pines Hotel Sedona
Sedona Pines Resort Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing