We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice if you can get a deal...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sedona Pines Resort
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Nice if you can get a deal...”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We got a great deal on this resort using RCI. Here are the pros and cons in my opinion:

Pros:
the kids liked the mini-golf (free)
laundry facility is nice to have (they say free but only the washer is free - you pay to dry)
nice size pool
friendly staff
well-appointed rooms
everything you really need for your stay
pretty scenery

Cons:
room is literally like a manufactured room or trailer
very small for a family of four (one bedroom)
resort is south of town and far from most conveniences - 15 minute drive to downtown Sedona, 25 minutes to attractions like Slide Rock, 15 minutes to a grocery store
no store on site (they give you one little bottle of shampoo for the week - they need a store for toiletries, etc.)
window coverings are inadequate and there are windows above the main windows with no coverings. Our unit was also facing east/west with the master facing east. We were up with the sun!
pull out bed/couch was uncomfortable
not a fan of the once-a-week cleaning but we can make do as this is common in timeshares
much older crowd at this resort

All in all, not a bad place to stay, but not my favorite in Sedona. The most annoying aspect was the lack of window coverings as this made it impossible to sleep in. Hopefully they can address this. We did not try the restaurant as we have favorite places to eat in Sedona and Oak Creek.

Sedona itself is fabulous - we have been up many times. Do not miss Slide Rock and hiking along Oak Creek (the West Fork Trail is very nice). It is absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    245
    81
    34
    36
See reviews for
171
322
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here for a week. Very comfortable, clean, bright, well appointed. We enjoyed our stay. The staff were very accommodating. They have a mid week cleaning service which is really nice The food and service at the Bistro are excellent. Trent is the Chef and his wife, Kelly is an excellent hostess. The menu is very creative and delicious. We will return!

Room Tip: The rooms with the stream running behind are very nice. We were in cabin 712. I would suggest a un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My friend and I just returned from a week at the Sedona Pines resort in Sedona, AZ. What adorable cottages, with every comfort of home. They packed a lot of amenities in a small space, and used every nook and cranny for storage.

There was just enough room for two of us in the one-bedroom unit, using the pull out sofa and the bedroom. It took a little maneuvering to get around one another, but it was really quite comfortable overall.

Big beautiful windows allowed natural light in every room, and the water features running throughout the resort were soothing and peaceful.

The location was great - just outside the city limits.

I'd definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Every cottage has a lovely deck, with access to the 'creek' bubbling just outside the bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarieB605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We really liked Sedona Pines - they have thought of just about everything one could want. The cottage was very clean, and the grounds were lovely and well-landscaped. The kitchen had just about every implement one could want, and there are windows everywhere, plus high ceilings. There are all kinds of cabinets in every room. It was nice to have cleaning service once during midweek, as well as DVD rentals at the office (although it is time for them to upgrade the tvs). The laundry room was quite nice, too. The only negative was the lack of space in the bedroom for a king-size bed and the sheets and towels - they were not soft. I would recommend at least bringing your own pillow cases. But these issues will not deter us from coming to SP again. We really liked having our own, stand-alone cottage with parking right outside the front door and a lovely, large deck.

Room Tip: Cottages at the back of the property are in the quietest setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JillPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

If you're expecting a lavish, spacious five star facility, keep looking. These cottages are single wide trailers. Ours was beautifully furnished and equipped. Parking was available right by the door. The resort was clean, quiet and well cared for.
Free laundry facility. Adults only hot tub. The lady who checked us in seemed bored and tired but every other person we dealt with was great.
The wifi is spotty but you can get a strong signal in the reception area. AT and T does not reach this resort. I was unable to use my phone or iPad. Apparently this is a known problem that the resort has tried to remedy but the phone company can't help.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, tell the clerk. Some rooms have better reception than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We were there 4 nights and had a great time. The cottage (as they call them) was close to the pool and was in excellent condition. We were told they were 15 years old but that is hard to believe because they looked fairly new. The cottage was like a single wide modular home. It was too narrow. The bedroom was too small and the kitchen area too narrow (people had a hard time passing through the kitchen when others were cooking). The bathroom (toilet) was about 4 feet from my head while in bed. Side door has see-through material covering the glass. You need to close the bathroom door so that people outside don't see you (at night). Internet (wireless) worked great and was fairly fast. Be careful to log out after using since the wireless isn't secure and doesn't require a password. It was enjoyable walking around in the mornings and evenings. There is a swing that we found and enjoyed swinging and listening to music (on my phone). Pool was nice and clean and good size. They have a lagoon spa just for adults to enjoy. The tennis court was very small and not in very good condition (see photo). I don't think kids would have a lot to do here at the resort except swim. They did have a minature golf setup which was okay but nothing special. The food in the Bistro was excellent but a little high for what you get. Drinks were good. We didn't use the laundry or gym. The people there were all very friendly. The maintenance crew picks up your trash (put it out before 10 am) and they are constantly raking the rocks to have everything perfect. The location was very close to Sedona (gas, Safeway store, etc.). The literature we read said you can't bring pets but we were told by a salesman that they are dog friendly (didn't see any dogs). You can park your car in front of the cottage (this is very convenient). We had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage near the pool/bistro to cut down on walking. Stay away from the cottages on the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
314 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and had a fairly nice time. We booked through RCI. Our unit was close to the laundry which was great because I really needed to do some. Check-in was quick and easy, checking out was fine except for the $45 resort fee that we were charged (which probably pays for the "free" internet wifi, "free" laundromat, "free" gym, etc). I think that since the resort fee is a mandatory charge, they should just charge it at the beginning of your stay instead of zapping you with it when you're about to leave. It really was the only irritating thing about our stay.

The resort is a few miles outside of the tourist area of downtown Sedona so a car is necessary. It's quiet and the units (or cottages) are spaced far enough apart that you don't hear your neighbors at all. I liked that we don't share a wall with anybody unlike a hotel where you can hear your neighbors flushing the toilet, taking a shower or talking. My husband I took daily walks at dusk and except for the maintenance golf carts, we sometimes felt like we were all alone.

The one-bedroom unit is small. We're not big people and it was still tight in both the bedroom and bathroom. The shower/tub was pretty spacious, though and the water pressure was nice. There was plenty of storage in the bedroom and bathroom for all our stuff. The kitchen is galley-style and has room for only one person to work in there. But we ate only breakfast in the cottage and spent our days out. When we arrived in our unit, the table was set and the radio was on and playing some very relaxing music. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed and there were more than enough towels for the two of us. The unit has lots of windows so it feels very open and spacious. I liked all the light coming in but my husband didn't like it so much early in the morning when he was trying to sleep in!

We used the laundromat, the adult spa, and played mini-golf but we didn't do any of the scheduled activities.

I found that most of the recent photos I found on the internet of Sedona Pines were accurate. The resort itself is very clean and looks to be regularly maintained. Frankly it was way better than I thought it would be despite reading some unhappy reviews about it being in a "mobile home with stucco". The units are so much better than that. I'm really glad I stayed here. Overall, it was a great stay and I would consider it again next time we're in Sedona.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.2 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.1 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
6.3 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.9 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
1,177 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Pines Resort

Property: Sedona Pines Resort
Address: 6701 W State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9757
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#27 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sedona Pines Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sedona Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Pines Hotel Sedona
Sedona Pines Resort Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing