We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We wanted to spend a quick weekend in Sedona and have central location for site seeing. This was perfect.
The room was clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable.. The staff very accommodating. We had one fantastic breafast here and one not so much great breakfast. I guess it depends on the chef and who was working.
There was a free yoga class that we went to and it was for everyone..good and not so good. Nice touch.
Food and sunsets are abundant in this beautiful area. So for the short stay at a fair price..this was good.

Room Tip: Tell them you want quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unhappy12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the Amara for two nights in mid-September. We had a clean, spacious room with two Queen beds. We also had a small balcony and a walk-in closet. The beds in the room were very comfortable, and the decor was nice and appropriate for a spa hotel in Sedona. The bathroom was also very nice, but the faucet on the shower was hard to operate (they really should include instructions!) The pool area is beautiful with gorgeous red rock views (the pictures on the website don't lie!). There's a salt water infinity pool and a hot tub with plenty of comfy lounge chairs and even some cabanas (first come first serve, no charge). They also have food and drink service at the pool during busy times. We had dinner in the Hundred Rox restaurant and it was delicious - I highly recommend it. The hotel has a free wine happy hour in the lobby every evening - take advantage of that if you like wine! The location is great - it's right off the main strip and you can walk into Uptown Sedona to many shops and restaurants. They also have a shuttle that will take you to town. The only downside I could see is that there are a lot of stairs, so if you have trouble getting around, request a first floor room. Last piece of advice - join Kimpton InTouch Rewards and you'll receive at $10 voucher to "raid the mini bar" as well as free wi-fi in your room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miamigirl1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was our first stay at a Kimpton property. We like to choose smaller, more intimate hotels. This hotel fit the bill. Mattea, who was at the front desk, really made a difference! She made sure that we received an exceptional room ... corner suite, overlooking both the creek and the pool. She was patient, respectful, welcoming, and very knowledgable about the area. She set up horseback riding, golf, and a fabulous hike for us. We feel very fortunate to have met her!
We would also like to give kudos to John in the restaurant. He was perpetually happy and upbeat, extremely warm and welcoming. His attentiveness made us feel special, and we really appreciated him. We looked forward to seeing his smiling face every morning! We realize that Kimpton just took over the property in July, so we look forward to seeing how the chain will leave its mark after the facelift is done. Beautiful setting, love the saltwater pool! We will definately return.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room if possible
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FredandGinger0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We chose this hotel due to the good reviews. Friendly staff, fine rooms but no view since we did not book the 'garden' room.
The garden holds a very small pool but has a great view of one of the red rocks, pretty impressive.
I am not sure why, surely the hotel advertises as pet friendly i guess but the hotel was full with dogs, smaller ones but many BIG ones. Personally do not find it too hygienic if dogs stray the gardens, corridors and rooms.

So, hotel is really ok, rooms not bad but its not standing out of the crowd.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We chose to stay at the Amara (for 4 nights) after reviewing Sedona hotels on Tripadvisor. This one caught my eye due to the Kimpton Hotel chain taking over earlier this year. We were celebrating our 15-year anniversary, so wanted to stay someplace unique and special. After flying almost 3 hours and driving 2 hours, we were met by a blonde, young woman at the front desk, who did not greet us or welcome us, but immediately asked for driver's license and credit card when I said we were checking in. Not the warm reception I'd expected. Then the room request of 2nd/top floor was not accommodated (I understand it's only a request), but what upset me was that she didn't seem to care and didn't go out of her way to try to resolve it at all. The nice part was that two other young women, Christine and Mattea, went out of their way to provide excellent, professional, warm & welcoming customer service and helped get us into a top floor room by our second night. They even moved our bags for us, so that we could go out and enjoy the day!

A very special and appreciated detail was that they put complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our mini-fridge upon our arrival to help celebrate our anniversary...very nice touch!!

The king room was spacious, clean and well-appointed. I'm glad we didn't get a suite because there was plenty of room for the two of us. And, there was a really good-sized bathroom with a nice shower area and separate jacuzzi tub. We did pay extra to have a creek-side room, but the creek isn't much to look at (lots of trees), though it is quiet (except for the party at midnight in the room next to us one night). I think the rooms overlooking the pool/courtyard would be just as nice, and then you'd also get a view of the red rocks.

Regarding the 100 Rox restaurant, we did go to the bar for cocktails and an appetizer one afternoon. They offered happy hour specials, and we ordered the shrimp nachos, which were excellent!! We had awesome service from Emilie, as well. Then we ate in the restaurant one evening. It was hit and miss. We split two things...the Cobb salad, which was awful, but the burger was very delicious!!!

We enjoyed the complimentary coffee bar in the lobby every morning. There is a comfortable sitting area to relax and read the morning papers they provided. Or, you can enjoy the quiet morning in the courtyard overlooking the pool area and the red rocks. It was very soothing to sit out there as they have nice waterfalls in a few spots. As well, we enjoyed the complimentary wine hour each evening, also in the lobby.

The infinity pool & hot tub were nice, overlooking the red rocks. It is a smaller, more intimate property in general, so the pool area reflects that, and is one of the things I liked about Amara. The pool area was closed due to a wedding one afternoon at 4:30, but they tried to make up for it by starting the wine hour earlier, which was nice. Apparently they do have several weddings onsite, just an FYI.

I had a one hour massage at the spa with Jari. It was a very nice facility, what I would expect from a very nice spa at a resort. The massage was very good, though I did have to ask her to increase the pressure, but she did an awesome job.

I did like that the hotel was within walking distance of a lot of restaurants/shops. It is down a steep hill, as others mentioned, but we walked it a few times and it wasn't bad. It is kind of nice being down the hill too, because you are separated away from all the tourists walking about the town. Also, the valets are very helpful & fast if you need your car to go out. They did have a service that would give you a ride for free within a mile of the hotel, but we never used this.

Overall, most everyone at this hotel/resort/spa was very friendly and helpful. It seemed like they really want to try to make your experience special. I would recommend this to others, and would likely stay here again if we travel back to Sedona!

Room Tip: I would not pay extra again for a creek side room, though they are quiet (unless you have people par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbmcc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This property is really nice. The location couldn't be better and the views are out of this world. The staff are very acomodating and eager to meet your needs. The free wine hour was very nice and gives you an opportunity to meet other guests. We used the pool and cabanas and never had issues with space. I recommend staying in a room poolside, second floor for best views. We had breakfast at the restaurant and it was very good. My only constructive criticism for the hotel is that the yoga classes are given in a tiny studio which was packed and unconfortable. I just don't understand why they don't give the classes in one of the meditation rooms which were always empty (not to mention that the views are much better there). Also, while they advertise the classes as Hatha yoga, they are really just novice Flow yoga sessions. Other than that, our stay was just perfect....

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jake2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife (Julie) and I stayed here for our 21st anniversary. We have been to Sedona several times but never stayed here. Everyone at the hotel made sure that everything was taken care of for us. Julie and I left the hotel after breakfast the first morning to walk around and see the sights. When we returned to our room, we were surprised to fine a complimentary bottle of Champaign and a tray of chocolates and fruit along with a card from Daniel and Megan from the hotel staff, congratulating us on our anniversary. This is service way beyond the norm. We were extremely happy with the hotel, staff and everything they had to offer. I HIGHLY recommend to anyone wanting to come to Sedona to stay at the Amara Spa and Resort. You will greatly appreciate it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
911 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £203 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing