We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This resort really goes out of it's way to make your stay enjoyable. It's located in town, but they do have a shuttle which will take you & pick you up in town. Our room was decorated with the southwest touch. They had a wine reception nightly and we had breakfast there which was good and reasonably priced. They've also got the spa there, but didn't have time to use it. We loved sitting by the firepits at night, but the best was the fantastic view of the red rocks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

I enjoyed my stay here when we visited 2 years ago in fall. It was a family trip with my in-laws, and they loved it too! I think this place suites all ages and the fact that they have breakfast included made it easier for us. Sedona itself is such a beautiful place to be, but at this price range, no other hotel beats it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Chia2005,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am ecstatic to hear the entire family had a great time. Sedona is certainly a magical place and makes you want to find a reason to come back. We just hope you don’t wait as along to return next time

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights in July and loved it. The view is amazing - get a room overlooking the pool. The staff was the best. We arrived late after some travel delays and they gave us a great room and a welcome cocktail. You can walk down to the creek that runs through Sedona. There was a wedding near the creek the weekend we were there.

Walk up the hill and you are in the middle of all Sedona shopping and entertainment. We are definitely planning another trip.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool area and the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGW56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a corner room just overlooking the mountains and the river, through the branches of the huge tree : superb. The room was very quiet and the service good. everything very simple. The equipment in the room is basic but fitted our needs. The valet parking was excellent and the concierge very helpful. Great stay for exploring the vortex and the Sedona fantastic natural wonders and the mysterious Vortex effects.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back of the hotel and as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmLondon845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Had a few glitches in service but the hotel overall is fairly nice. The bed was comfortable and I slept really well. My room was also very quiet, set off away from the noise but the walls are thin so you'll hear voices and bumps and people walking out in the hall.

The location is great, just down the hill from all the shops lining 89A. The hotel restaurant, Hundred Rox, was also pretty good. I had breakfast and dinner there and both were good. Valet parking is included in the room rate so you don't have to find a place for your car in that really tight circle they call the entrance. They have a shuttle that'll take you anywhere within a mile of the hotel so you don't have to climb that steep hill.

Hotel is small but it has the amenities of a large resort. The spa is right next door and offers plenty of relaxation. Loved the small fitness center and it was usually empty when I used it. The wine reception is great. The day I went, it was French wines. And they even offer snacks too. The coffee that was set up in the morning was so convenient because there isn't a coffee maker in the room and the restaurant doesn't open for breakfast until 7AM. I just wish they had a selection of green tea. The stuff they had was ok but none of it was green tea.

The service glitches? Well I had a little trouble getting my car once. Valet guys seemed a little disorganized and it took way too long for them to get it. The front desk people were nice but a couple of them had attitude, like you're bugging them by asking a question or *gasp* checking out!

I go to Sedona a lot so I'll probably try this place again. I hope they work out some of the problems with the front desk attitude and the valet parking. This place could be great like some of the other hotels in the Kimpton group.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollyMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Mollymick,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent visit.
Your honest feedback is greatly appreciated and valuable to improving our service levels. Sorry for the delay in retrieving the vehicle.
The shuttle is a great way to get around town.
We can always put a coffee maker in room for all your stays if you would like.... Its nice to have the first cup of coffee in the morning so you can have that energy for the fitness center before heading out into the lobby Then on the way back fromto your room after working out, grab a cup of coffee or tea from the coffee bar in the lobby. Thank you for helping us raise our game. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.


Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very nice place. Oasis off the main street. Property was inviting and the beds were comfortable. Food was great although drinks were a little pricey. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definetly return to this spot.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank food_roadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

food_roadie,
Thank you taking the time to share your experience and for the kind words. I am ecstatic to hear that you that enjoyed your time in Sedona. It truly is an incredible and unique place. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We found the Amara on tripadvisor and took a chance since it looked so beautiful. The staff is the nicest most helpful group I can remember. The rooms are wonderful, we had one over the pool with a view of the creek. Loved the courtyard with the fire pits at night.
Highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with creek view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Midwestfamily195,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your kind words about the team. We are very fortunate to have great people that love what they do and where they do it. Recently we became a Kimpton property which we are extremely excited about and hope our guests are as well. Kimpton will continue to invest money into the property, specifically the guest rooms and lobby area (renovation coming this spring/summer). Regardless, we will continue to strive to raise the bar for the level of service in Sedona so our guests feel the value of being at a Kimpton. We hope to see you next time you are in Sedona.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
903 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £202 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing