We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a resort - beware of the extra daily fees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I agree with a previous reviewer, this would be a Holiday Inn in any other setting. I booked this hotel because of the view from the hot tub, which is spectacular. However, note the following if you want to stay here. There is a left and right wing - Avoid at all costs the left wing. This is were I stayed. Thankfully I was on the top floor. Even so, the view is a parking lot and there is an incredibility loud generator that is on 24/7 from the holiday apartments passed the parking lot. It is loud and sleep is near impossible, I requested to be moved to the creekside. There are only 4 rooms on the left wing that are creekside, so make sure you request one of those. I was not on the ring wing so have no idea what the setting is like there.

It is centrally located which is nice but, all in all, if you have a car and you are interested in taking walks, you really don't need to be in the 'center' of town. Don't get your hopes up, the view is great from the hot tub, the rooms are average at best.

There is no coffee in rooms so you have to go into the lobby in you PJ's to get a cup which is annoying, and the cups are small. The gym is okay for away from home use.

Also, annoying is that the charge a 'resort fee' of $20 per day, on top of your room fee! I had no idea about this until I checked out. The fee is useless - I'm not sure why the charge this as it is not a resort and the only extra is the hot tub, gym and pool which most hotels have. There is a tiny 'spa' in the parking lot if that counts.

The only thing it has going for it is the view from the hot tub. But I'm sure there are cheaper places in Sedona with comparable views.

I say try any of the other resorts in Sedona before this one.

Room Tip: Avoid the left wing - the view is a parking lot and there is a loud generator 24/7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trek8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

An unexpected and hidden (location) retreat in the heart of everything. Updated and comfortable,
Lovely backyard with peaceful atmosphere, Friendly people and reasonable food.
Originally we planned to stay just a night, but stayed 3 days:),
Would love to stay here again next time I am in Sedona

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spent one night at the Amara Reort & Spa in Sedona and wish we had booked a week. It is an incredibly beautiful resort with all the extras we've come to love from the Kimpton hotels. The pool and courtyard is absolutely breath-taking. The staff is friendly, helpful and the food in the restaurant is second to none. Try the braised rib...you will not be disappointed.

We can't wait to go back. Love the Kimpton properties!

Room Tip: Go for a courtyard room if you want amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovesagoodgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

As a Bed and Brakfast owner in Hawaii, I am picky about my bedding, food, service etc.
Besides being located ideally by the stream with beautiful views, this place provided ORGANIC food for our Orenda Gold School. I was so impressed that they went to the trouble of paying extra to provide excellent meals. The service was impeccable with unexpected little extras. I highly recommend the Amara Hotel!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The hotel is well located - they have a courtesy car to deliver you into the town and collect you to bring you back, probably because it is a bit of a hike up from the hotel which is down by the creek.
We had a creek side room which was good quality.
The outstanding thing was the very high quality of the Yoga Teachers providing the free daily Yoga sessions. The gym, and hot-tub were also fine. The pool looked good but wasn't in use because it was being maintained.

Room Tip: Creek side rooms are worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentishman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We came from Phoenix Palomar to Amara. As Phoenix Palomar was spectacular, I may have had high expectations for Amara. While the staff in Amara were absolutely great and we received top-notch service from each and everyone we encountered, my peeve is with the room.

I booked a courtyard facing room. I did get a courtyard facing room, unfortunately my view was completely blocked by a Cabana. Turned out it was the utility Cabana where they had stuff stored, therefore the drapes can't be tied up like the other Cabanas to give us a view of the courtyard! The front desk staff tried their best to find us a different room. It being the holiday season, the hotel was completely booked and we ended up staying at the room that was assigned to us, but it definitely dampened the mood. To their credit, once I got back and called them up, Kimpton did refund me the difference between a regular room and a courtyard view room, so that was appreciated.

We throughly enjoyed the courtyard by sitting by the fire, sipping our drinks and enjoying the view. We only had breakfast once at the restaurant and both food and service was good. Their shuttle service was pretty handy. I forgot the young man's name who was mostly manning the shuttle, but he was very friendly and gave us tips on where to go and eat etc. The room was pretty bland compared to Phoenix Palomar which is also a Kimpton Hotel.

Kids enjoyed the walk by the creek. We enjoyed the Happy Hour every day! I didn't use their spa, so no comment on that. Despite the small hiccup with the room, I'd still give Amara 5 stars.

Room Tip: Don't take room 122!!! Cabana in front of the room blocks your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZeeC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Three stars for my beloved Kimpton brand. I know. It hurts me too. With the exception of a Best Western the last 9 or 10 times ive traveled have been at Kimptons,so Im pretty much comparing them to each other at this point.

The staff is wonderful. Daniel who helped with some specifics on a reservation and a lovely girl who had face jewelry whose name I cannot remember (sorry!) were kind and helpful. I must, however, single out Mattea who went above and beyond any other employee Ive ever encountered at any property, ever. Not only did she decorate my room with red wrapping paper with surrounding lights running the length of it all at the entrance (ala a red carpet Christmas welcome), but she made a collage for me. A COLLAGE people! Magazine cut-outs, colored cardboard paper, letters spelling out my name, stars and hearts, pictures of Sedona and the hotel. Who does that? So awesome. So special. So appreciated. Thank you again Mattea. Ive saved the collage. :)

Unbeknownst to me I realized upon arrival that I had stayed at the property before it was a Kimpton. Honestly not much had changed except the rearranging of the lobby.The outdoor area was just as lovely as ever and the creek being right there is a great place to while away an hour or 4.

But the rooms...

Black lacquer cheap furniture, no art on the walls. And this was a suite they upgraded me to. It felt cold and uninviting. The complete opposite of how Kimptons normally feel. They're known for doing such an amazing job on putting their excellent design signature on each of their individual properties, but this one had none. Sadly because of this I would choose another property the next time I return to Sedona.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carissa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 49 in Sedona
913 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
979 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 49 in Sedona
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £197 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing