We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

When we arrived at the Amara my wife happened to mention that she was celebrating the end of her chemotherapy treatment. Megan, who was on the front desk upgraded our room and the next day sent a bottle of champagne, some fruit and a wonderfully moving card to my wife. She was very touched by this magnificent gesture which brought tears to her eyes. Megan, you are a very thoughtful person and a credit to your employer. Credit also to the guys on the door and valet parking, always attentive and willing to help in any way. The management should congratulate it's staff for a magnificent job. Well done to you all.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard or creek view as the outer facing rooms have some dubious outlooks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Beachboy,
Thank you for the incredibly kind words about Megan and the team. We are very fortunate to have unbelievable people that love what they do and where they do it. Megan is one of many but clearly she made an amazing connection with your wife which is the highlight of my day. The team feels you are visiting their home and they want everyone to feel special, which you certainly are. Come back and see us soon.
Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. It was quite, clean and comfortable. The beds are very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was the relaxing environment that we were hoping for. It was a nice central location in town.

The valet was a great convenience but creates a lot of extra tipping that we weren't expecting, especially when our car was parked in the front row about 50 feet away from the door most of the time. Although there is no breakfast included the food at the restaurant is quite good and price fairly.

The wine and snack time was great. The hostess was delightful.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor by the pool and didn't have a view because of the towel cabana. Secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famfun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Famfun2013,

Thank you for the kind words about the property and the team. The beds are amazing and allow for a great night’s rest after venturing out seeing beautiful Sedona. Restaurant is a great value with some amazing views from the patio. Glad to hear you enjoyed the wine hour, it is truly a lot fun and you meet some incredible people.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Well whatever you do, don't leave anything there.

It was nearly $400 night for a small room. They did not describe the room properly. Then I left a few items of significant personal value and apparently they think it may have been given out to employees there. Well I hope they enjoy the watch from my father and bracelet from a relative that passed. I called and had left my name and number... they had found the items, but never set them aside with my info. For $400 you'd think they could drop the items in an envelope with my name and number vs. giving out what is NOT theirs to give. On top of this, I was strung along by one of their customer service agents... who begged for my email to set things right. Never heard from them again.

Hopefully some of you hear from me and find a different hotel!

Room Tip: No food was included. Customer service pathetic. Small and expensive room that was not described p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Unfortunately, this was our worst travel experience to date and I do not see how Amara is considered a Kimpton resort. While we had a less than acceptable reservation experience, we are always open to second chance opportunities. Prior to our arrival, we were contacted by Kristin Ingram asking if there was anything that could be arranged to enhance our upcoming stay. Since we have a baby, Kristen offered to make arrangements to have a crib ready in our room. Upon check in, we asked if the crib was set up in our room and the front desk staff replied “it should be”. Our room was located on the second floor of the right wing at the very end of the hall. Please note that the property has multiple sections that are connected by a series of stairs. Only the first few rooms have elevator access. The rest of the rooms are not stroller, wheelchair or handicap accessible. Upon arriving to our room, we quickly noticed that we did not have a crib, so I called the front desk. The response was “ok, we will send someone to take care of that for you”. Two hours passed by and still no sign of a crib? We were meeting friends and family for dinner, so while the valet was getting our car, I stopped by the front desk to let them know that the crib had still not arrived. They assured me that this would be taken care of immediately. Based on our experience so far, I thought it would be a good idea to call the resort before returning, just to make sure that the crib was ready. Thankfully, it was nice to hear “Yes, we have set up the crib in your room”. We arrived back to our room around 9:30 PM and guess what? No crib! I called the front desk again to find out what happened and the response was “Daniel told me that he set up the crib, I will send someone right now”. Around 10:00 PM, I heard some noise in the hall so I opened the door to find Daniel setting up a pack and play! Note to Amara, a pack in play is not a crib. For starters, one has a mattress and one does not. Frustrated beyond belief, we refused the pack and play and went to bed. Please also note that the rooms at the end of the hall share space with multiple rooms and the walls are very thin. You will be able to hear your neighbor’s conversations as well as doors opening and closing throughout the night. The following morning, I asked to speak to the manager Patrick Gaskin but I was told that he was not available. When I asked for an explanation, I was informed by the front desk staff that they do not even have cribs. If this is true, please remove this amenity from your website. The lesson learned was that our experience was far beyond a simple misunderstanding or oversight. Once you lose your customer’s trust, it is almost impossible to remedy the situation. We would not return to Amara again, even if it was free!

Room Tip: Do not stay at the end of a hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank GreatTraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent 3 night here and it was our first time at Amara.

Service is great (staff always smiling, asking you if you need anything else and being helpful). We had a negative and bland experience with one concierge staff who checked us in. We found her to be 'robotic' and 'uninterested' in her mannerism (would not provide options for us, kept repeating her 'no' over an issue that we raised,didn't smile or put a positive energy into what she was saying and didn't tell us about the Kimpton rewards program that we could have joined). Such an approach just doesn't work in a magical place like Sedona.

The best concierge service we received was from Mattea; she smiles, provides options to eat and do in the area and was always helpful and approachable. The rooms are quite and beds are comfortable (we had a padio room in the right wing area). The yoga classes are great, The pool and jacuzzi is just incredible (salt water, the creek and canyons are right in front of you). So overall the pool area, steam room, food at the restaurant and comfort plus Mattea's help and smiles made our stay wonderful. We'll be back. Thank you

Room Tip: Choose the right wing area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My family just spent two great days at the Amara. Our kids loved it, but it's probably an even better hotel for couples looking for a romantic getaway. The courtyard and pool areas were beautiful. There is a great hot tub, saltwater infinity pool, fire pits, and amazing views of the red rocks. The location was good for a family - right in the middle of Uptown Sedona with its t-shirt shops and restaurants - while being quiet and peaceful at the same time because it's at the bottom of a hill next to Oak Creek. The hotel is new to the Kimpton portfolio, and I understand it is to be renovated soon. Most of the staff worked at the Amara before it became a Kimpton property, but they are great Kimpton representatives. (In particular, Mattea at the front desk was great - very friendly and helpful!)

Room Tip: Selecting a courtyard room should get you a view of the red rocks and creek area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waj97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Five night stay which was wonderful and truly relaxing. Had two excellent treatments in the spa . Wonderful welcome on arrival . Hallways and corridors are rather dated , however our room was lovely and bed very comfortable. Felt the staff uniforms were rather poor and old fashioned ,and more care home than spa resort. Loved the firepits outside at night, all staff at the resort worked hard to ensure you were having a good time. Free wine hour was great as was free Yoga and free water , tea and coffee. Would return ! Sedona is one special place .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOTELINSPECTORABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 49 in Sedona
922 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
986 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 49 in Sedona
3,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £205 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing