We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not consistent throughtout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“not consistent throughtout”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

we stayed there for 4 nights, here is our experience:
pros:
- people were super friendly, especially the valet parking guys
- great organic tea in the lobby in the morning
cons:
- almost every day one or both of of our keys were not working
- the door was jammed, you had to push very hard to get in
- night stand light bulb was out
- the bed (cal king) was too soft, hurt our back and shoulders
- the house cleaning was not consistent
- the tv channels were very confusing, hard to nav through

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiliconValley_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Greetings Silicon Valley_Gal,
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent visit. The team is incredible and takes great pride in what they do. The complimentary coffee and tea is a great way to start your day whether you are sitting in the lobby or out on the patio gazing at the incredible views. I appreciate the feedback to improve our service and certainly share it with the team.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    290
    114
    18
    18
See reviews for
273
537
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Amara. Check in was seamless. Valet guys are really nice and efficient. The concierge girl was also very helpful. Resort itself looks pretty nice. We did not get to experience everything the hotel has to offer. It was pretty rainy during our stay. We still managed to use the hot tub and pool area. We had a great room overlooking the courtyard and view of the rocks. We had a room that was probably one of the furthest and the walk and distance were totally fine. The wine reception at this location also had a non alcoholic option some lemonade which was a nice option for us non drinkers. The room was nice and fairly clean...older hotel it does need to be updated for the rates. I always have an issue with cleanliness...I realize I will never get that same clean feel like when I am home...but I don't get why hotels don't vacuum under the armchair or couch cushions or if the cushions are non removable give a vacuum around the crevices. The dust layers in some areas were plentiful. We did visit the restaurant (Hundred Rox) I have written a separate review for this this. I would not visit the restaurant again but would stay at this hotel again. Oh and location was great.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the Courtyard upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Greetings olivebaby.
I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time at the Amara. The staff is unbelievable and love what they do. Wine hour each night is a great deal of fun and we can always get you a non alcoholic beverage of your choice as well. I’m glad you enjoyed the spectacular views surrounding the property from your room and the courtyard.
Thank you for the feedback regarding the areas of opportunity. We certainly shared them with the team and it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to your next visit to the Amara.
Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
310 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A nice luxury hotel but was quite short staffed during the winter holidays which led to some disappointments. The concierge was on vacation (on vacation during a vacation week!) and the front desk staff seemed to have limited knowledge about the surrounding area. The restaurant was also low on staff, leading to 1 customer (not me) walking out angrily without being served. Beautiful view and reasonable amenities -- saltwater pool is all shallow which is great for the kids. Fitness room was bit short on equipment.

Room Tip: rooms with view cost more and may be smaller than those without
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank neur14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Good morning Neur14,
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your recent stay. I am sorry to hear we missed the mark during your visit. I appreciate you sharing as we will use it as an opportunity to improve our service levels and overall guest experience. It is a fairly small area but we would like to enhance the fitness center and are open to the feedback.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Wow, what an excellent experience at the Amara. From beginning to end, our one night mini-vacation at this hotel was exceptional.
This hotel must have the best staff ever, as we received above and beyond service from everyone working during our stay.
The hotel is configured in a horseshoe around a lovely courtyard and beautiful saltwater infinity pool on the banks of Oak Creek. The rooms are angled and staggered, so each balcony has a little privacy from the other rooms, and affords great views of the lovely Supai sandstone formations for which Sedona is famous. This makes all the interior rooms great, but for a real treat, try the creek view suite.
We received room 226, and we're thoroughly impressed. The room was well appointed, and colossal in size, with a living room area on one side, and a king bed and dining table opposite. The room opened out onto a huge deck, complete with a table and chairs to enjoy the view of the creek and pool. It made for a lovely spot to enjoy a drink while the creek babbled in the background and the birds played in the cottonwood and sycamore trees. But best of all was the huge, jetted soaking tub in the bath, with a big picture window to look out on the red rocks while soaking.
For food, the restaurant Hundred Rox is exceptional. We debated room service for dinner, but decided to try the restaurant, and were overwhelmed by the quality of our experience. My fiancée is gluten and dairy free, which can be difficult while traveling, but not here. She was taken care of from the moment we walked in, with the chef personally preparing custom appetizers for us to sample, and the wait staff ensuring that she received a great meal despite her dietary restrictions. In all our travels, this restaurant did the absolute best job accommodating her needs, while providing us both a wonderfully delicious and truly memorable dining experience.
One note, unlike other Kimpton properties I have been to recently, the Amara does not have alcohol in their mini-bar selection, so plan ahead by bringing some libations, or head to the bar.
Other than that, this resort is total perfection!
Our only regret was only staying one night. We will have to find an excuse to return soon, and stay longer.

Room Tip: The creek view suite is amazing, totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Partly by reading the reviews on TA I decided to stay at Amara for 3 nights, and I wish we had gone for the gold and stayed at L'Auberge de Sedona next door. The people at Amara were very nice, but the hotel itself does not warrant a resort and spa label -- and the $20 resort tax underscores that. Rooms are nice, but the facilities are patchwork and cramped. Amara is not a luxury resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tunkiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Greetings tunkiemo

I’m sorry we didn’t provide you with a gold medal experience. The property will be a receiving a face lift this upcoming summer, specifically the guest rooms, lobby, courtyard, and additional seating at the pool. It will receive the Kimpton touches and flare we are all accustomed to. Valet parking, daily yoga class, access to the steam and mediation rooms in the spa; as well shuttle service within a mile of the property is a great value for the $20 resort fee. Thanks for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent the weekend at the Amara. The resort is fabulous - comfortable, easy and fun! But the staff make it...every person we met was delightful and seemed to enjoy the work they did. A special shout out to Emily and Regan in the bar who were helpful and fun to be around. A great resort...already planning a return trip for next year. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Connie C,

Wow!!! Very high praise. Thank you for the shout outs to Emilee and Regan. They are certainly assets to our properly and well loved by many. We can’t wait to have you back. See you next time. Thank you for staying with us.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

What makes an awesome vacation ? Great location, excellent service and hospitality....Amara has it all ! Sedona has several other good options...but Amara makes your trip to Sedona special.
Was very impressed with their courteous, friendly staff who are always smiling and makes you feel special- this according to me is an asset that makes them better than other resorts around the place. Enjoy their pictursque view, infinity pool, perfectly located yoga rooms, delicious food and nice spa !! Highly recommend this place. Not to forget- THEY ARE DOG FRIENDLY WITH NO RESTRICTIONS- done leave your loved ones behind :)

Room Tip: 2nd floor , rooms next to the meditation rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Property: Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing