We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patio room without a patio? Balcony with a view? Neither!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Patio room without a patio? Balcony with a view? Neither!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

You would think that by reserving a "patio room" you would be getting a room with a patio, right? Not at Amara "Resort." When I inquired at the front desk why my patio room doesn't have a patio, I was told that all the second floor rooms are called patio rooms, even though they don't have patios. Okay. I asked what you need to do to get a patio. Apparently, you reserve a "courtyard" room -- then you have a patio. Odd. Let's switch now to "balconies" -- which Amara's description on TripAdvisor says each room has, with a view of Sedona's beautiful red rocks or the hotel's gardens. Sorry -- not true. The "balcony" for our room is perhaps 18" wide -- not big enough for a chair -- and has no view whatsoever. We look at the building next door. Very disappointing. Not worth the premium price. I do like the staff, though -- very nice.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Bob B,
Thank you for sharing your experience and nice comments about the staff. I’m sorry we didn’t honor your request or offer for you to move rooms and instead made it more confusing for you. We will certainly use this as a learning opportunity with the team.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    303
    121
    19
    18
See reviews for
286
556
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent 3 nights here during our spring break trip with our 9 and 7 year-old daughters. I think the hotel (I have a hard time calling it a resort) would be okay for adults, but it wasn't really geared toward families. The room was a tight fit for 4 people and had only 2 small drawers for clothes. 3 of us had to live out of suitcases. The pool area had a beautiful backdrop for sunbathing adults but the atmosphere didn't invite kids to play in the pool. (I realize this is a "plus" for adult guests - but feel the need to point this out for the benefit of those considering staying here with children.) In fact, my daughters both commented separately that they didn't think the hotel was "kid-friendly." We ate breakfast in the hotel and weren't offered any kids' menus, crayons, etc. I also thought the service at the restaurant was not great - it took numerous requests just to get a promised refill on my coffee. We found out on the day we left that they kept a bucket of toys at the front desk to offer kids at check-in, but whoever checked us in hadn't made the offer. It is worth noting that we felt that Sedona as a whole wasn't really geared toward kids, but we were using it as a base to go to the Grand Canyon and to do the Pink Jeep tour (which we all thoroughly enjoyed). That being said, even my husband and I weren't completely sold on this property and would probably try a different hotel if we ever return to Sedona, even without the kids. I certainly wouldn't pay more than $200/night for it. (We had booked a Kimpton winter special rate.) So although the hotel was fine, we didn't feel it was anything special and certainly not a place that we would recommend to other families with younger children.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
AmyFK,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we didn’t make you or your children feel at home. We had several opportunities to do so and just didn’t make it happen and clearly missed the mark (crayons and coloring books, welcome gift at check-in, board games, and children’s movies all things we have but never offered) . I appreciate you bringing this to light and it is something we wil address as we want guests of all ages to enjoy their time here.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Had everything we've come to expect from Kimpton - a nicer, contemporary hotel with generally helpful staff. It was a good price in a convenient location, and a helpful shuttle and valet. Very nice view with a nice hike along the river.
A few things that disappointed us though: We had to call twice to ask for a crib, and the linens were gross and had spit-up from another child on it. They ran out of towels at the pool, and did not replenish them, even after we asked, making for a wet and chilly walk back to the room. The pool was supposed to be heated, but was still quite chilly.
The hotel is NOT kid friendly or ADA compliant - we had difficulty maneuvering up and down many 3-5 step staircases with a stroller.
Finally, there are recycling containers in the room - a nice, "green" touch, and we made the effort to separate our recycling, however, we came back while housekeeping was finishing and saw them mix the recycling with the regular trash. How disappointing.

Green Features: Terrible! We set aside recycling into the designated container and then saw housekeeping mix it with regular trash.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drsteph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Drsteph1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and helpful feedback. We appreciate your Kimpton loyalty and trying out the newest addition to the family. The property will receive a face lift this upcoming summer and you will see that Kimpton flare in the décor as well as addressing the mobility of getting around the property. My apologies for the lapse service you experienced and the lack of attention to details. We will certainly address it.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is so conveniently located to Uptown Sedona, you are right in the middle of all the action. Just a short walk up the hill and you are right in the midst of all the shops and restaurants. The views by the pool are spectacular and the grounds are very pretty. We especially liked the pool area, although the pool is much smaller than it appears on the website. We had no reservation and found this hotel on Expedia. The rate was $284 plus another $60 in taxes and resort fees for a total of $344. Our room was very nice, however I was really hoping for a better view than what we had, which was the property next door. That being said, we had no reservation, and it was later in the day. The beds and linens were outstanding and super comfortable. Our girls enjoyed the pool and hot tub. they loved the outdoor cabanas. We indulged in the wine reception, and made full use of the spa amenities; steam shower, shower and toiletries. They also offer free bicycles to cruise around town and the valet parking is complimentary. It does look a little tired and in need of some repairs and clean up, but all-in-all, I very much enjoyed our 1 night stay in this little boutique hotel.

Room Tip: book early to get a room with a view, not a view of next-door properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
LKHughes,
I appreciate you sharing your experience at the Amara. It’s great to hear the entire family enjoyed their time with us. The pool is great place to relax and take in the natural beauty surrounding the property. Wine hour is always the best hour of the day and the shuttle is great way to explore after enjoying a few beverages. The property will get a face lift this summer, with the flare that you come to expect from a Kimpton property. Come back and see us soon.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TO
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I love the property, with great views and restaurants nearby. You get peace and quiet from Oak Creek, but yet, close to all the action. The resort is seeing wear (still in very good condition) but it is going through reno in the coming year. The service is very good and I got the stuff I wanted when asked.

Love the infinity pool but the hot tub was crowded. The walk along the Creek was pleasant. They do charge a resort fee, so you might as well use the amenities. There's yoga in the morning, fitness room, pool.

Breakfast at the restaurant was fine. It was a little slow but food was good quality.

My only complaint is the alarm system was malfunctioning for 1 of the nights I was there. Kept going off in the middle of the night. Wasn't sure if it's the fire alarm or security, but it was annoying. Was too lazy to get out of bed to inquire.

Room Tip: Get one facing the Creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Amara is a very nice hotel... That is if you can get the right room to stay in. There are these doors that connect different parts of the building together. Many people tend to walk through these doors, sometimes late at night. If at all possible, try to get a room away from the door. We stayed here for 3 nights on our vacation. One thing that I do recommend is to sign up for Kimpton InTouch. With this program, you get FREE Wi-Fi (Normally $13.00 per day) and a $10.00 credit to to the full bar or the in room mini bar with snacks. The hotel staff people are great. They all come to work looking like they actually like the job that they have. I have not come across one that doesn't say hi or at least smile. A few other things: they have a free wine hour from 5 to 6, with non alcoholic beverages for the kids. They also have a shuttle that can take you 1 mile from the hotel and pick you up as well. I know that we used that a lot because if we are going less than a mile and don't want to walk up the very steep hill, this would be a great option. You also should try the restaurant at least once, they have amazing food. The room is also the perfect size for a family of four.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the pool and outdoor area. Try to get away from the doors that separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Sam K ,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. I am thrilled that you and your family had an amazing time. You hit all the perks of being a Kimpton In-Touch member (free wifi, raid the bar card, credit for your stay, etc.) as well as the wine hour at night and coffee in the morning. Chef Ric is so glad you enjoyed your dining experience in Hundred Rox. We look forward to your family’s next visit to Sedona.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Amara has many good things going for it, but doesn't quite make it as excellent. Don't expect much of a red rock view, even if you are supposedly getting a room with a view. It's kind of like the hotels with an ocean view that you can only see by looking between the buildings. I know it's easier to see a mountain but you still have to go out on the patio to see much. The rooms lack storage space, enough towel hangers and a coffeepot. The bathroom vanity is way too small for two people to place their toiletries. On a positive note, the staff there is terrific. The restaurant food and service is excellent and fairly priced, with great entertainment most evenings. Try the home made jam at breakfast. The happy hour with free wine was great. We took advantage of their car service one night, getting a ride to a nearby restaurant. Overall we were pleased with our stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Greetings gbthree,
Thank you for the kind words about the staff. They really are amazing. I’m glad you took advantage of the shuttle service and the wine hour. The wine hour is my favorite hour of the day, as you meet some truly incredible people from all over the world and can share your adventures from the day. We certainly welcome the feedback regarding the storage in the guest rooms. When we renovate the guest rooms this upcoming summer we will have additional storage space for all of the rooms. We can always place a coffeemaker in any of guest rooms upon request. We do have complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby each morning but I can appreciate having at least the first cup in your room.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
925 reviews
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
891 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Property: Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing