We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Arabella Hotel Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
GreenTree Inn Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Auberge de Sedona(Sedona)
US$409
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sedona Summit Resort(Sedona)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$594
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$525
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveller rating
714
330
133
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
330
133
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolwine hoursalt rockfree happy hourcomplimentary winevalet parking islawn gamessteam roomvalet guysresort feevalet servicesnoopy rockyoga classeshotel restaurantfree shuttlehot tublounge chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
958 - 963 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Sedona offers a great space for a family vacation and the Amara is a great place to spend it. The hotel is overall great but there are aspects that are older and more run down, that need more attention. The rooms are very nice, but have very mediocre amenities that are accessible by the guests. Very nice hotel, and great for families. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank zakthedog2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Zakthedog2005,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Amara. We are thrilled that is was a great spot for you and your family and gets the whole family’s seal of approval. The property will be receiving a face lift starting in less than 3 weeks which is very exciting. We look forward to your family’s next trip to Sedona,

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

First let me say that all the staff we encountered were first rate. From the check in to the waiter who offered to bring me water while we waited for our room to the outstanding valet service.I am glad to read that the hotel is going to have a bit of a makeover. The rooms were ok but a bit awkward layout of the hotel and not the luxury of a resort.

If you are on the upper level, be prepared to have to drag your suitcases up or down a few stairs as the hallways are in staggered sections. While housekeeping did a fine job of keeping our room extremely clean, the hallways always seem to have pieces of outside debris on them.

The hotel met our expectations but if you are looking for luxury, high end, this is not it. Also not sure if any of the rooms have a straight on view of the mountains.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Greetings Breezey,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that the team made you feel at home and that you were well take care of. The guest services team is ready and willing to assist with the arrival process and get you situated comfortably in your room. You are on vacation..... let the team do the heavy lifting, relax and enjoy Sedona. As you mentioned, the property will begin its facelift here in less than 3 weeks. We are extremely excited to the refresh while getting those Kimpton touches.
Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Amara is conveniently located within walking distance of restaurants, shops, and galleries, but quietly tucked behind all the hubbub of the street. There's a peaceful, babbling brook with an easy walk-down from the resort. If you rent a car, you can drive to Grand Canyon in a couple of hours. No need to spend the night there – a day trip is plenty. The yoga classes were not too challenging for a beginner and Kathleen is positive and encouraging. The valet's were always were always genuinely pleasant and extremely polite. The desk staff was helpful and accommodating — always seemed happy to see you. The coffee bar in the morning was a nice benefit, too. Enjoyed a relaxing massage and pleasant conversation with Jari(?) in the spa. My husband and I stayed for three days in late March—sans kids. Overall, it was a lovely stay...I just wish it had been longer!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "patio" guest room 209 which was near the dumpsters; we were already up when the truck came. We still had a view of the red rocks.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatrinaOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Katrina Olson,
We wish you would have stayed longer as well. Great to hear that it was such a relaxing getaway and that staff made you feel at home. Yoga is a great way to start the day and Kathleen is an incredible instructor. We can’t wait for you to come back and maybe even bring the entire family next time. Untill next time…..

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I came to Sedona to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We chose Amara as a part of a Kimpton pricing special. Our check-in was a disappointment as we arrived after 4 pm and had to wait over an hour for our room to be ready. Our only other issue was when we tried to call the concierge we rarely had anyone answer. However, for adults, the property was great. The location just behind the old town main street, putting a lot of stores within walking distance. Our room is in the last building close to Oak Creek and faced the pool area--a Courtyard guest room. We enjoyed Hundred Rox and the free wine hour. We found all the staff to be very friendly, great greetings and customer service. Valet service is included with the resort fee and was a nice service to have your car at your call. I am an In-Touch member and would recommend to others as it provides you free internet and a 20% discount at the spa.

Room Tip: I would stay on the second floor and have a room facing the courtyard or Oak Creek.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Malinda W,
Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us. I am sorry to hear of the delay getting into your room upon arrival. I know it is frustrating after a long day of travel. The team certainly appreciates the great comments and great to hear you enjoyed the valet service. Thanks for sharing your experience. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I shared 2 nights in this hidden hotel, tucked down the side of a slope, below the main street. This created a very quiet location…no cars or road noise on the property. From our first entrance into the hotel, we were always greeted with pleasant comments at the front door by the valet parkers, and attendants. The physical plan is not large, but modern, clean, functional and pleasant. The view from the centre courtyard, from the patio cafe, to the lounge chairs, from the pool or the hot tub was tranquil, and marvellous at sunset, overlooking the red mountains nearby. The room was not large but a comfortable space, well appointed, clean, and with a great bed. All amenities were available (if any toiletry was forgotten, or any devices required). A small balcony permitted an amazing after-dark view of the huge number of stars visible, being away from the lights of the street above.
Not previously been aware of the Kimpton group of hotels, I was pleasantly surprised by the professional and pleasant staff, the perks including a late afternoon free wine tasting, early morning coffee bar, and hotel shuttle for short trips downtown. The concierge and desk staff were all helpful in recommending stores, restaurants, and tours.
While not a 'spa' in the fashion that I would have expected, it was nonetheless very pleasant, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World2Enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Greetings World2Enjoy,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. I am thrilled to hear that you not only discovered the Amara but Kimpton Hotels and Restaurants as well. I am ecstatic to hear that you took advantage of the perks (complimentary wine hour, forgot we go it, etc.) As I have mentioned many times before, the wine hour is the best part of the day. You have the opportunity to meet people from all over the world, exchange stories about your adventures during your day all while relaxing and enjoying a beverage. Its great to hear the kind words about the exceptional team here. They really enjoy what they do and where they do it. I hope that you will continue to seek out Kimpton hotels as your travel and come back and see us soon.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews