We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have pre, intra and post reviews for this hotel. I reserved this hotel because it was pet friendly. Seeing the warm temps, we decided against bringing our pet. I called and cancelled the pet part of our reservation. At that time I asked if we could have a small refrigerator and was told there is one in every room. I don't recall reading this in any review. I asked if we could have a coffee maker and was told sure, I then asked if there was a microwave available and was also told yes. I was amazed that all these things are available just by asking for them. I was impressed before even getting there. Our stay was wonderful. The rooms are great, very large and comfortable. We had a patio room and though there wasn't a great view it was quiet and serene. We heard music from L'Aubergene next store. The restaurant was very good. Everything tasted very fresh. We did have a couples massage and it was very wonderful, (James was spectacular). The cocktail hour was so fun. Each night we met new people and everyone talked about where they went and where they ate. It was good to get first hand opinions. The absolute best part of this hotel is the scenery. There are gas fire pits all over the courtyard. The hot tub and infinity pool are not only lovely but feel fantastic after a long day of hiking. It was so nice to just have a drink out there and sit and talk. I thought the valet men were the best employees. Everyone was nice but these guys really seemed sincere asking about your day and rushing to get your car. Now, my post experience- I accidently left a pair of pearl earrings on the night stand. Later the day that we left I realized this and called the hotel to see if housekeeping found them. The next day I received a phone call saying my earrings were found and would be sent to me. Very honest employees. This really made my day. I can't say enough about how great this place is.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    291
    115
    18
    18
See reviews for
273
539
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tustin Ranch, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

There is nothing more beautiful in Sedona to me than to watch the sun hit the red rocks at 6:00am and change throughout the morning in the pool of Amara! The pool was heated and I sat there in awe watching the rays of light open the canopy of wilderness behind the infinity pool. Afterwards, we walked along the creek behind the resort and it was gorgeous! It empties to L'auberge resort where you can actually eat by the creek.

We loved our room as it's back sliding door opened into the dining area where we heard live entertainment in the evening and easy access to the pools. Great orange flavored water always available and Very Dog friendly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyesprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Nice property to stay at in Sedona. Not a big property however it has a nice courtyard. Creek right behind the infinity pool that you can walk down to. Pet friendly, but not over run with pets. Only cons, Kind of thin wall. So you can hear everyone in the hall ways, and if you are on the bottom floor you better hope they walk lightly upstairs.

Room Tip: They are all about the same. Two wings, with two story each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakobi_of_scottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Pros: nice rooms, comfy beds, great outdoor patio/pool space.
Cons: attitude of two staff members acting as concierge were very rude. Depending where you are located within the hotel, there may be stairs/outside walkways to get to your room. Not ideal if you have a lot of luggage. Found it very odd the linen carts are kept outside between the buildings, not practical to keep dry from rain or bugs. Also, a lot of empty room service trays built up outside in the walkways.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwatkins83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Kwatkins83,
Thanks for sharing your honest feedback about your recent visit. I am alarmed to hear that the team members that were less than welcoming. That is neither typical nor acceptable. We understand that with many of the rooms at the end of the property that luggage assistance is a must and the team is ready to help. Our guests on here to relax and enjoy Sedona... let us do the heavy lifting.
We are always looking to be better and we will certainly use this feedback to improve our service levels and improve our overall guest experience. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,

Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great Place very clean an great staff as well. We love it was so close to oak creek with hiking right on the creek and super close to downtown but a steep uphill walk not for the elderly. The Fresh Coffee Bar was very nice. No free breakfast though. But the downtown has several restaurants for eating. It's very private. and reclusive

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
JinArizona,

Location….location….location. Glad we were the perfect spot for you explore and enjoy Sedona. The guest service team is always available to take you to the top the hill or anywhere within a mile of the property. In addition, thanks for sharing the great words about the incredible team here. Thanks for sharing your experience and look forward to your next visit to Sedona

Warm regards,

Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is strategically located in the heart of Sedona. It is walking distance from many quaint restaurants and shops. It overlooks gorgeous Sedona rocks, is surrounded by breathtaking scenery. The hotel itself is nice, especially for the price. Definitely worth a visit. Many enjoyable hikes around the corner from it. We had a fantastic time.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nayla222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Nayla222,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Amara. The location is perfect….from the proximity to the uptown shops and restaurants to the dozens of hikes just a few minutes from the property. Thanks for sharing your experience.
Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were only able to spend one evening here but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property is down a steep hill from the main entertainment area, but that was a feature I appreciated the most--being away from the busy main drag. Our room was 'creekside' so we faced the beautiful patio and pool area with a small patio seating area off of the room. The room was very clean and comfortable, especially the bed with its cool, crisp linens. We had both dinner and breakfast out on the patio and the meals were delicious. Staff was friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again if given the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool/patio side to enjoy the beautiful view of the red rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjmegtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Property: Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing