We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is located in the shopping area of Sedona but you would never know it. It is tucked away and set up so that you really see nothing except the beautiful scenery and yet you can walk a few hundred yards and you are in the downtown district. Rooms were well maintained and quiet. The staff was what really made this place, very happy and always helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumanPotentialDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I'm a big Kimpton fan and have had some wonderful experiences with their hotels, but felt Amara falls short in my opinion and I'm puzzled at the many reviews giving it such high grades.

To be fair, Kimpton recently acquired this property and it is slated for renovations, which may then bring it up to its hype but for now I'd just describe my overall experience as average. When booking, I wasn't enchanted with the overall look of the property which looks very dated but the rooms where clean. We reserved a courtyard view and requested it not be a ground floor patio and had a nice view of the pool and Snoopy rock in the distance.

The pool area is very small and oddly set with a shortage of seating by afternoon. Pool service was non existent while we were there after 4 pm when a waitress who delivered expresso to a couple, told a group of ladies that they'd have to go into the bar to get their drinks and bring them out to enjoy. I think that's odd for a " resort" at 4 pm.

Its location is a plus, right off " Main Street" with many dining and shopping options, though it is an uphill trek which some may have difficulty with. It is set along Oak Creek though the pathway isn't much, I did enjoy a walk up toward an adjacent property .

The great little things that Kimpton offers, like free wifi as a Kimpton in touch member, raid the bar and of course their wine hour were well appreciated. Wine hour especially was enjoyable with staff coming around refilling glasses freely. We always enjoy meeting other guests and striking up great conversation! Coffee was out early in the AM when we came back from catching the sunrise and was appreciated. Valet service was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Loved this hotel but was told that it would shortly be undergoing major renovations so, warning, check the status of renovations before you book here! As I said, I loved it as it was, the room was comfortable, clean, and well laid out (particularly like the shelving in the bathroom for all my stuff). Yoga classes are provided as an amenity and the teacher was terrific. The wine reception was a lot of fun, particularly if you find interesting travelers to chat with; they had a nice little hot appetizer each evening and very freely poured the wine. The front desk people and the valets always greeted us when we returned; the parking service is fairly efficient too. The pool is beautiful. Hope this place stays this nice AFTER it is renovated!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great location, you are walking distance to a lot of the main attractions in Sedona and the views from the hotel are outstanding. The rooms are very clean, the restaurants are just okay in my opinion. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellibaresall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The location is everything you could ask for. Sit out on the tables and view the rocks, skip down the stairs by the pool and you're in a whole other world by the creek, (take a coffee and a book and set up on a rock somewhere) Or head up the stairs for 2 minutes and you're in the town. The staff are incredible, I've never been anywhere like it, and will remember it till the day I die.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We've stayed at the Amara Resort on several occasions and have never been disappointed with the impeccable service by the staff, the comfort of the rooms, or the beauty of the grounds. The Amara is another perfect example of what Kimpton does right!
Pet friendly hotel, complimentary wine hour, great food, beautiful creekside infinity pool, very comfortable beds and really friendly staff. Always greeted with a huge smile and "is there anything we can do for you".
We had a room on the courtyard, lower level. There was an event one night in the courtyard area with about 60 or so guests, that was a little loud but didn't last past 10pm. The room was quiet other than that. Rarely heard the occupants above us.
The pool is very relaxing. Had some service but the hotel would benefit from having a dedicated staff member to service the pool visitors, they could make a nice profit by having a someone serving lunches and cocktails around the pool, but we were taken care of a few times by staff. (not a negative comment but a suggestion)
We will definately stay at the Amara when returning to Sedona and recommend this resort to everyone!

Room Tip: Although more expensive, if you want quiet, get a creekside room. More social, get a courtyard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fletchandsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

As others have pointed out, this place has been taken over by the Kimpton Group. Stayed in end-Jan 2014 and while the staff are fantastic, the property still needs some work done to it to bring it up to Kimpton standards. I'm sure this will happen but in the meantime, you can probably find better value places elsewhere in Sedona.

Room Tip: Aim for rooms towards the outer pool end
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
904 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £202 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing