We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
760
345
146
25
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
760
345
146
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolwine hoursalt rockfree happy hourvalet parking iscomplimentary winelawn gamesresort feevalet guyssteam roomsnoopy rockvalet servicehotel restaurantyoga classesfree shuttlehot tublounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
988 - 993 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We absolutely loved this resort. It is in a great central location in Sedona but has a very secluded view and feel. The pool and hot tub were very nice. The rooms were large and very nice with a balcony and nice view. They had a very fun happy hour and nice bar area off the lounge. We had my in-laws and they gave them a very nice room with champagne and strawberries for their 64th anniversary and just overall took great care of us. I didn't try their Spa services unfortunately.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKasper2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We absolutely loved having you stay with us!!! It is always a better stay when you are able to share it with the ones you love. For celebrating a 64 year anniversary we should have shot off fireworks for that!!! That is absolutely incredible….All kidding aside we appreciate you choosing to spend that momentous occasion with us at the Amara. I hope you come back and try out the Spa services next time.

All the best,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The personnel at the Amara are wonderful! Everyone was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. My only complaint is that the pool was really small for the amount of rooms. No place to sit most of the day.

Room Tip: Stay close to the pool
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Greetings Idbabs,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the kind words about the team… glad you were well taken care of. The staff certainly appreciates the Kudos.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This is the 5th time we have stopped here in the last 3 year's and try as I might to fully review the hotel I have come to the conclusion that this is my dream destination.This year we booked late and nearly didn't make it but once we arrived in Sedona and drove down that steep drive to the Armara a warm glow came over us. Service And staff was excellent as usually.food was good..although expensive..we had room 126 which was a ground floor suite in the newly refurbished wing WOW!! The bedroom and living room where incredible fitted to a very high standard Jacuzzi bath and seperate living room and 3 balconies ..hotel is just completing major refurbishment so was a little noisy.
The views fRom the rear of hotel are probably the best in Sedona and are picture postcard perfect.
Add the Amara to your bucket list..it's a must!
See you next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Greetings Tom082,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Sedona is certainly a magnificent place and I think you hit the nail on the head with it being on a bucket list must. It is so exciting to hear that you are so passionate about the area and that you come back frequently. Glad you enjoyed the renovated suite and new look of the property. See you next year.
Warm regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I expected the hotel to be much better than it was. Although the view from the pool is pretty and the hotel is clean and has a pretty good location, the issue we had was that they (over)charge for everything. We felt that anything that we needed (from getting ice, to parking our car, to ordering room service) we had to pay more than other places of similar caliber. The resort fee is slightly higher than the other resorts, the room services has an extra fee attached to it (other than gratuities), and there were renovations going on, that were not advertised. Overall, just an OK experience. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Greetings avz123,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry to hear that your visit was just “okay”. We certainly strive for excellence and want all of our guests to have incredible experiences. Valet parking, daily yoga class, access to the steam and mediation rooms in the spa; as well shuttle service within a mile of the property is a great value for the $20 resort fee.
Warm regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I visited Sedona around Memorial Day, during the canyon fire, and were a bit disappointed about the smoke during the cool evenings/mornings. However, we had such a peaceful week staying at Amara. We were not disturbed by kids or dogs (it is a pet-friendly hotel), and even the renovations weren't too disruptive. We enjoyed the cabanas at the pool with the beautiful view and loved the free wine hour each night, especially one evening when it was followed by a live guitar performance. The morning yoga class was a nice way to start the day. Great service by the front desk, valet, and restaurant staff. It's close enough to walk up the hill to the Sedona shops and also has access to Oak Creek. I highly recommend the Amara!

Room Tip: We liked our second floor courtyard room, but it is a bit of a maze to get from there to the lobby.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXTravelLady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

TXTravelLady12,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the daily yoga and evening wine hours. Our patio and pool area is a great place to unwind and relax while taking in the view. The live music is certainly an added perk while enjoying the beautiful weather. Thanks for choosing to spend your vacation with us. Until next time…..

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews