We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Serene Property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We chose this place because they are a pet friendly property and in the perfect location in Sedona.
Perfect location in uptown next to many shops and restaurants that you can walk to or ride their bikes or take the free shuttle.

I have stayed at Kimpton properties before for business but haven's stayed with my dogs. I was so impressed with how they greeted us and our doggies!

They were mindful of our dogs and gave us a ground floor room backing up to the creek with a wooded patio setting. It was the perfect location and easy to open up our patio door and walk the dogs.

The property is so peaceful with amazing grounds to walk your dog and hang out. The infinity pool and hot tub were beautiful with the red rocks as your backdrop.

We loved it! We will definitely we back to stay and bring our doggies again.

Room Tip: If you have dogs you definitely want a ground floor room backing up against the creek. It is beautif...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGarza2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Was here on a family trip, there were 10 of us total. Our rooms were not ready at the check in time even though they knew we were there waiting. When they finally got our rooms ready, my aunt walked in only to find the cleaning staff had left their bucket of supplies in there. When we told the front desk we were unhappy, we were offered ONE free drink at the bar for our troubles. Insulting. We had to walk out of the way to get to our rooms due to a few flights of stairs being closed for the construction. We tried to order room service one morning but kept getting a busy signal. I don't feel as though the staff went out of their way to accommodate us for the price we paid per night. The food in the restaurant was not that great, either. However, the pool area is beautiful and I could have stayed there all week! Also loved the bonfire pits and the free wine hour. Rooms were nice, but nothing above average. I think this hotel has a long way to go before it becomes the "resort" it promises to be.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I just stayed here for July 3rd to July 6th. We did not see/hear any construction going on so I think it was short lived. Staff is amazing. Grounds are well kept and very quiet. Ample pool and hot tub with central courtyard with chairs and water features. Drinks at the bar were great. Food (Breakfast and dinner) at hotel were awesome- even had live music every night we were there. Valet service is great, and included in your resort fee. There is a shuttle van which will bring you to town also, within 1 mile. The hotel is down a steep cliff so some people may find it challenging to walk up the hill so they provide free shuttle. The hotel smelled great, and was decorated like you would expect at a Kimpton hotel.

Room Tip: ask for second floor which has better views of the mountains.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AlisonC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here recently with some friends. The setting for the hotel is beautiful. Our room was large and the bed very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and most helpful. We enjoyed the free wine between 5 and 6 pm, a nice touch by the hotel. Although the entrance to the hotel is down a steep slope there is a free shuttle to take you anywhere within a mile. Because of the slope the hotel is secluded. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank WarwickshireMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

As mentioned in another review, we also experienced the downfall of the construction taking place. Both mornings we were unable to sleep because of the hammering going on. The worst part about it was the resort and the staff were so wonderful that it was a shame that is one of the memories. The restaurant overlooking the garden and the amazing red rocks in a great spot for outdoor dining. Brent, the food and beverage manager, came by both nights to make sure our dinner was good. We will definitely return to this magical spot, after the refurbishment is complete.

Room Tip: Try to get a creek side location, very peaceful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bballwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were totally unaware that this hotel was under refurbishment when we arrived so that was disappointing. However with that aside whoever is responsible for allocating booked rooms to guests did not think this through as we were initially put in a room where they were accommodating the contractors. Carpets were being laid immediately above our room during the night and the contractors were in and out of their rooms all night as the work was being done primarily during the night. After complaining to the hotel manager that we had had no sleep whatsoever the first night, it was rectified very quickly and we were given a beautiful suite overlooking the creek that runs along the back of the hotel. What a shame that this situation was not considered before we arrived. We had a 7 hour day of driving on our tour the next day which we were very tired for.

The hotel itself has reasonable facilities, the reception staff double up as concierge as well and they are lovely people but don't have enough knowledge to be concierge too. Valet are excellent and very helpful. The general staff are very friendly and service is good.

The hotel is very centrally located off the main high street of Sedona so everything is within walking distance which is useful. However there is a very steep hill to get up and down to the town. Valet will give you a lift in a golf buggy though if you can't manage it.

Food is very good.

If you choose this hotel make sure you check everything you require and ask questions. Make sure you are very clear with the type of room you require, any other facilities or help you may need and noise!

Room Tip: Ask about contractors, noise, light (our first room was also very dark and dingy), and any other fac...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on our very first trip to Sedona in 2011, it was hard finding the place because it was in uptown and is a bit secluded. The place is very nice and the staff as well, what you expect from a 4 star accommodation. The only thing is that you have to walk uphill to get to the street and the driveway is a bit narrow and steep. We also got a room that was on the back of the hotel and we were looking at another yards property but the room is really great, we were not able to use the pool since it was winter time. We are actually thinking another trip to Sedona this July and seriously considering the hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buringot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
901 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
938 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £201 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing