We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Sedona for a relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spot in Sedona for a relaxing stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is a quiet little gem in Sedona. It's tucked down in a canyon with great views. Sat in an Adirondack chair or on our balcony each night to watch the light on the rocks and the moon rise overlooking the infinity pool (which is awesome). Coffee every morning, wine reception at night and VERY prompt and attentive service from valet to front desk to restaurant. No complaints and will stay here again with no reservations. Great spot for families, couples or just a quick getaway.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a courtyard room. The rooms on the outside overlook privacy walls. The vi...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green focused with recycling cans in rooms and messages about towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    285
    113
    18
    18
See reviews for
268
532
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Booked here last minute. Beautiful property, great service, live music in the bar. Would definitely stay here again. Even got upgraded to a view of the creek and the red rocks. Drinks in the bar are well poured. Free happy hour at 5. Love kimpton hotels.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My family and I were in AWE the moment we pulled to the valet (which is included in your resort fee). EVERYONE could not have been more welcoming or personable. Then, we saw our room (one bedroom with living room, sofa sleeper, overlooking the creek, 2 patios, 2 bathrooms--- one large spa tub, next to the pool)--- room 126, on first floor. We were shocked at our amazing room and immediately decided to extend our stay from 2 days to 3. We ate one dinner on the patio of the restaurant, which we enjoyed. Pricey though. Book your room far in advance for best rate and/or use your AAA card, if you can. Location is in uptown with great shopping. Hotel provides free shuttle service within a one mile radius. We loved having them drive us to dinner and pick us up at not charge (except tipping, of course). The best part for us was the heated saltwater infinity pool and hot tub with a gorgeous red rock view. There are two cabanas--- first come, first served. Towels are provided at the pool and there is poolside service for cocktails. Seriously, could not ask for more. Amara provided a top-notch experience and we will be back. Join the free Kimpton In-Touch membership and enjoy free wifi, spa service discounts, and $10 in free honor bar goodies. Loved the high end shampoo, conditioner, body wash, lotion. In room small refrigerator. Would highly recommend to family and friends. A perfect stay!

Room Tip: One bedroom with living room, sofa sleeper, overlooking the creek, 2 patios, 2 bathrooms--- one larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKDHmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Exuma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We chose this place for our weekend Sedona stay because they are a pet-friendly hotel, and we were looking to bring our kitten along. We stayed Friday and Saturday night, saving money by using AAA, the first night was at approximately $180 and the second at $220 for being a weekend night.

It was hard to spot the sign which would take us down to the hotel by the river, and we made quite a few u-turns, but eventually we arrived. Valet was complimentary. I was surprised at just how pet-friendly they were. There was a board out front with all of the residing pet's names written on it, next to a bowl of water and doggie biscuits. In the room, there was a little bed and bowl, kitten size, and even a plaque to place on the door handle. I was happy to see that they'd boarded off the under-the-beds areas, but it seemed our kitten was small enough to climb over them and into an area where she could not be reached at all. Luckily, we have a good kitten, and she would come out when called, but still.

We asked if they had any organic, vegan, or gluten free options on their menu and they said that while everything was made-form-stratch, fresh, and completely local, as well as nicely sourced meats, they had nothing on the menu that fit the latter criteria. I found this terribly disappointing; Sedona is supposed to be a forward-thinking, conscious city, and this wasn't some random motel. The Amara is supposed to be five-star. The staff suggested the ChocolaTree Eatery, where we have been before and were planning to go anyway. Breakfast is not included, and neither is the (non-optional) resort fee.

We had a birthday girl with us, and the chef offered to make something vegan, but we'd have to pay exorbitantly for it. I have experienced birthdays in actual five star hotels - Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, etc - and never have they asked me to pay for a birthday treat. It's always been complimentary.

The shower is for the spontaneous traveler who enjoys a game of Russian roulette. It is like having a tv that spits out random sequences of either the movie Inferno or Frozen. It fluctuates constantly from boiling hot to (briefly) lukewarm then to freezing cold, and back again. If you enjoy experiencing the former, you will very much enjoy the Amara Resort's facilities. It is possibly the worst shower I have ever had the displeasure to experience.

Do you know what's an excellent time to have chainsaw wielding men outside your patio? Why, a Sunday morning at 10am, naturally, according to the good people of Amara resort. Not, like, after noon, once everyone has checked out, oh no. The hedges in question are having so few leaves taken off of them, they could have done just as good (bad?) a job with a pair of scissors. We did not ask the man to move on. He was, after all, with a chainsaw. In my opinion, they're fighting a loosing battle; the grass and landscaping aren't exactly up to par, anyway.

Apparently, there are yoga classes, but we never did go even though we intended to. The girl at front desk insisted there was no chlorine in the salt-water pool, but upon inspection of the air around the pool, it was apparent that there, in fact, was.

The only reason Amara resort gets stars is because of the pet-friendliness. In fact, they treated our kitten better than our birthday girl, even though they only offered doggie treats. I do not recommend this "five star" resort.

Room Tip: Try not to get one where there are bushes, or you'll be in for the sound of chainsawing.
See more room tips
Green Features: Barely existent. Could be much better. For example, organic foods. Organic washing liquid. No chlorine in the pool. Solar panels; it's Arizona! Stuff like that could be implemented.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We chose to stay here to see how it has been incorporated into the Kimpton family. The hotel is in the upper section of town, and has great views into the canyon. It also has the only saltwater swimming pool in Sedona. There is easy access to the main road and shops. The location is convenient other attractions and hiking trails.

Check-in was efficient, although I was not recognized as an Inner Circle member and the benefits were not explained to me, like in other Kimpton properties I had stayed in. The rooms are nicely designed and spacious. Bathroom amenities were CO Bigelow brand. The valets were very attentive and friendly. As with all Kimptons, the evening wine social hour was nice, as was the complementary morning coffee. The spa is also complementary to guests, and include a steam room, shower, and meditation area.

Pool service was lacking, however. After waiting over 10 minutes for the drink menu after asking the pool attendant for it, I ended up asking another guest to look at theirs. Likewise, one drink order took another 15 minutes to come out, and almost 45 minutes for the attendant to give me the check after asked for the bill.

Bell service was also a bit slow in my experience. I waited 20 minutes after requesting checkout bell service only to receive a phone call from the front desk confirming that I asked for help.

Again, this is a nice property with great amenities and location. I hope that the shortcomings I experienced during my stay were isolated incidences. I'd consider staying here again if I knew that the service is consistently good. I mentioned my experiences directly with the staff and they were very attentive and friendly in their reply.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this place five years ago, it is one of two upscale non brand hotels here in Sedona proper, (the main tourist shop area), many more shops located in the various areas of Sedona, though need car or shuttle, this place has been acquired by Kimpton resorts and there are some changes since last here. Biggest by far is it's now pet friendly, this has always been an issue with my travels in that the cleaning up after and designated areas for animals is too close proximity to rest and relaxation spots.so far from what I see the mix isn't visible save for seeing dogs. I'm not anti pets just the seemingly increase in animal waste. Has to be mentioned, this said, I've not seen or smelled anything here. There is a welcome bowl of water and dog biscuits at reception.there is a 24 gym though the walk up to street level will keep you in shape, shuttle offered for you not wanting to make the walk. Everyone is attentive and courteous. Rates are best by talking to front desk, received best price even over [hotel tonight].small bar and restaurant on site though late night here is 10ish, good mix of world travelers here from all over. Standard rooms are adequate, nicely styled and quiet, even with ac blasting, required here 90-100F . Overall a good stay, though more family that solo travelers here, and since that was my motif this time all well on the west high desert .Sedona is beautiful and magical and will catch your breath, over and over

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wpaapw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Relaxing stay in a beautiful resort. Being a fan of Kimpton hotels we decided to give the AMARA a try. The resort was perfectly located, walking distance to all restaurants and shops in town. The valet guys were welcoming and helpful. The front desk was friendly and accommodating. They helped us with dining recommendations and assisted us with setting up a few local activities/tours. The room was modern, spacious and clean with an extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean but small. We loved having free Wifi. We dined several times at the restaurant on the property, Hundred Rox. Service was always great. The resort offered a complementary shuttle service within a mile of the resort. The salt water pool was beyond relaxing- the view from the pool is amazing. The resort also offers complementary coffee, tea and newspapers in the morning and happy-hour wine in the afternoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoccoRoccoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#2 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing