We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet”

Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park
Ranked #10 of 155 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sedona, Arizona, about halfway between Phoenix and the Grand Canyon, is a must-visit place for spiritual seekers the world over. Since 2004, such visitors have been flocking to Sedona’s Amitabha Stupa. (Some call it Sedona’s newest vortex.) Sitting majestically among the pinion and juniper pines, and surrounded by a landscape of stunning crimson spires, it is a jewel to behold. Visit Sedona’s Amitabha StupaOn any given day, dozens of visitors trek up the short winding trails to the 36 foot Amitabha Stupa and the smaller Tara Stupa for prayer, meditation, healing, and the experience of peace in a sacred place. The Amitabha Stupa is open every day from dawn until dusk and your visit is free of charge. (Of course, donations to support the stupa are gratefully accepted.)
Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

On my receint visit to Sedona a very special teacher introduced me to the Stupa, her name is Anahata. She is a Shaman and offers lots of treatments. She suggested that we visit the stupa to pray. I felt at peace as I walked around and around offering thanks and gratitude. Anahata takes her students to the Stupa to pray. I really like Anahata's healing....Anahata Shamangelic Healing was one of the best teachers I had experienced on this trip...A must ....if you enjoy healing...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank solotraveler4149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    65
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A spiritual place ... only sounds are of birds, wind chimes, and hundreds of peace flags gently flapping”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This amazing sacred site/ spiritual experience is not listed on tourist maps but it is so easy to find and get to. In west Sedona, turn on Andante Road toward Thunder Mountain, then make a left on Pueblo. The path is immediately on your right. I have not experienced before such an immediate sense of calm and peace as I did when setting out on this short path to the Stupa.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The only negative thing I have to say about this beautiful place is that it's really difficult to find it!

There are absolutely no signs to point you in the right direction. The free tourist maps don't even have it listed!

The only sign is right at the entrance and that's it. It's a shame... I bet more people would come and visit if they knew it existed.

The last bit of road leading to the park are just stones and gravel, so if you're driving a car, make sure to be careful. There's plenty of free parking space available.

For me, this was a truly magical place... Amazing surroundings and very peaceful. Perfect for meditation.

If that's your kind of thing, go there... you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
276 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A solitary journey, in a sacred space on sacred ground”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Surrounded by peace flags there stands not one but two stupas. If your nature calls you to a peaceful retreat outside amidst the red rocks of Sedona then make sure you visit. It's a quiet place to meditate, pray, walk around the stupa or just BE. There is a serenity there away from tourists, trinkets, and traffic. It is a safe haven for 'letting go' and just BEing all one with the energies of the red rocks @ Amitabha Stupa, Peace Park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lyfeworksjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was my second time visiting. Located in a neighborhood area. Park your car in the lot and it is a short walk. Like nothing I have ever seen before. Very quiet, calming and spiritual.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ikemurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park also viewed

 

Been to Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing