We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We spent a weekend at El Portal, a gorgeous hotel with much attention to detail in the architecture and decor. Even many of the door locks and doorknobs were beautifully detailed and authentic. It was peaceful and comfortable, and the fact that it is dog friendly was a huge plus. The owners, Steve and Connie were very gracious and clearly love dogs. The only thing we would improve is the dog potty area; it was small, not as large as we would like for our medium sized dog, and it bordered on one of the room patios which was a bit distracting at times. We love that it was walking distance to the beautiful Talaquepaque (I know I'm misspelling it!) shopping area and central to many points in Sedona. The front courtyard is so lovely, especially at night with the fire going and soft lights overhead, it gives it an ethereal, woodland look. We loved relaxing out there at night!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony or patio. Although our room was lovely, we booked very late and we...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

We loved having you stay with us...Next time we'll try to have a patio/balcony room available. So glad you loved the fire in the evening and the lighted "canopy."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for El Portal Sedona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012

Puka, Kanani, Junior, my wife and I were delighted with our stay at El Portal. Finding quality lodging when traveling with "Furry Family Members" can be challenging even on the best of days. From check-in to check-out our stay was hassle free, the staff and owners were very helpful with suggestions of area attractions and activities. The breakfast fare was delicious though perhaps a bit over priced, our room was large and well appointed with a great jetted tub. If you're traveling with pets in Sedona it would be hard to beat the comfort and genuine hospitality you'll find at the El Portal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlassBrk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

El Portal is seriously pet friendly! Thank you for staying with us! We loved having all of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We loved our four nights stay at El Portal. It is owned by our gracious and helpful hosts, Steve and Connie. They welcomed everyone and their pets. They made us feel as though we were in our own home. Enjoyed sitting in the great room with the river rock fireplace. There is a big leather sofa and leather chairs in front of the FP. They serve breakfast in the great room and it is fun to meet all the dogs (on leash) and their owners. We met several guests that did not have dogs.
Our room, #3, Garden Room, was beautiful. Our front door was made of stained glass. The detail involved in selecting the furniture was remarkable. The lamps, doorknobs, glass work was incredible. There was a welcome basket for our dog, Angel. It had a blue plaid fleece blanket, towel and doggie treats in it.
I had an opportunity to peek in some of the rooms after the guests checked out. Loved the Molesworth room and Hickory Room. I did not get upstairs to Rooms #11 or #12 but heard that they had a good view.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel9096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. We loved having Angel, and of course all of your family :)
Looking forward to your next trip to Sedona!
Oh, and we are so happy you noticed the details!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is one of the most amazing places to stay. We stayed in the Green and Greener room, which is very spacious with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Steve and Connie are gracious hosts and make you feel extremely welcomed.

I researched many luxury hotels in Sedona and I picked the best. Luxury is an understatement. The main room serves as the reception, breakfast and evening gathering spot for the guests. Its an amazing grand room in itself.

TheTlaquepaque shopping village right across from the El Portal with the best in shopping.

I highly recommend the El Portal!

Thanks Steve and Connie,

Mark and Bill

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanetXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

That is a great room - the Green and Greene....the balcony has a lovely view too. Thank you for your review, and that you consider El Portal Sedona as one of the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We really enjoyed our two night stay at El Portal, as did our Bernese Mountain Dog, Oliver! Our room was gorgeous and spacious, and meticulously decorated in keeping with the Sedona ambiance. A real plus was that Steve and Connie watched our dog while we took a trip to the Grand Canyon. In other similar places, we have had to hire a pet sitter but as Steve said, "We're a pet friendly hotel, this is what we do!" Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy12054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

We loved having you and Oliver stay with us! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We've traveled all over the world and seldom enjoyed a hotel more. The owners have exhibited great care and planning in El Portal. How many times have you gone to a hotel and said, "I wish they.... ? You won't here for they've thought of everything. Furniture is hand crafted and made of beautiful burls and other expensive woods. The bathroom has a Jacuzzi tub, a large tile shower, separate WC and large vanity, all done in beautiful tiles, copper basins...etc.The architecture, Craftsman, furnishings and even the door handles are circa 1920. Julia Morgan could have been the inspiration. But all of that would fail if it were not for the dedication of Steve and Connie. They treat their guests as though this establishment were their home. It might as well be since they seem to be there day and night.
So, for those who come to Sedona to relax and let their cares go someplace else, this hotel is a great place. We've been to Sedona many times and have usually stayed at Enchantment which is a really gorgeous property with its world class spa. But they don't take dogs and this year we decided to take Rex, our German shepherd. He's very friendly and many of the other guests also had dogs. So it was a wonderful experience for our entire family. Rex seemed to understand that he was most welcome also..
When you sum up your experiences in various lodges/hotels/spas you always leave with a memory, a feeling. Rarely have I thought, as I left, "flawless." Such is the case with El Portal.

John Padget
Oro Valley AZ

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chef John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you for your high praises. We so liked having Rex visit. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We came upon El Portal somewhat by accident and are very pleased that we did! The hotel is privately owned. Connie was exceptional and gave us great tips for what to see in Sedona during our stay. You can tell that the owners, Connie and Steve, take great pride in the property and the finishing detail in the rooms make you feel right at home. Our room was huge (2) and just off the courtyard. The courtyard is beautiful! There are hummingbird feeders and bird seed, making the space even more enjoyable. While El Portal does not have a pool, they have an arrangement with the resort next door to use theirs. The hotel is pet friendly, and many guests had very well behaved pets (we didn't). We had breakfast (not included) in the morning and it was good. The salsa is excellent and adds great flavor to the meal. El Portal is just a block away from the Tlaquepaque shopping area, which has great stores and restaurants of all types. I highly recommend El Portal!

Room Tip: Our room (#2) was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

So happy you had a good time! Aren't the hummingbirds the best?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
938 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Address: 95 Portal Lane, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: £213 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Sedona Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing