We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Overall a great stay. Only issue is for the price I really don't feel paying for coffee on an honors system and also breakfast is appropriate. We are seasoned travelers and being nickeled and dimed when one is charged over $300 a night is a bit silly. Otherwise very pleased with our stay but given the choices in Sedona likely will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azpabarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We're sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. Coffee is only charged when had with breakfast, and refills are of course free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for El Portal Sedona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Each of the 12 rooms are unique and fabulous. The property is walking distance to several restaurants. The breakfasts offered each morning were excellent. This property is pet friendly and the owners were very hospitable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharmon24fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We would love to have you stay with us again! Wonderful that you loved the breakfasts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Wow!!!
This is all I can say. If you want to stay in an authentic, warm, cozy, outstanding boutique Arizona hotel walking distance to all amenities and fantastic shopping this is the place to stay. This hotel is a gem. The main great room is beautiful and cozy (wood beams and stone fireplace). The bedrooms (we stayed in room 12 and then in room 3) are quaint decorated with high end original arizona/mexican decor (the reason we switched rooms is because we decided to book another night last minute and couldn't get the same room). We decided to go on a day trip to Grand Canyon and Steve moved our luggage to the new room for us due to the fact that we were leaving very early in the morning. In fact we realized that we had left a Corona beer in the fridge in the old room and wondered if they would move that over for us also......he did. Every night they would make a fire in the courtyard for the guests. What a wonderful way to end the day sitting around the fire with friends having a glass of wine and meeting new friends from other parts of the world. They also had free DVD's you could borrow. This place was so cozy that when I crept down to the main great room in my barefeet and pyjama bottoms to get a coffee at 5am in the morning I felt like I was at home.
If you want to stay in a place where you feel welcome, comfortable yet pampered I recommend El Portal. I look forward to going back there time and time again.
Thanks Steve for a wonderful, memorable time.Please don't change a thing to your hotel. You have achieved what you set out to achieve.

Gianna & Gary Loader

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runningwolf43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

So happy you could stay a second night! Sorry for the moving, but it seemed to work out well. Thank you so much for your warm remarks, we love it when our guests feel so welcome, that's what we want you to do...be at home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This gem place is incredible. If you are looking for a wonderful peaceful non corporate stuck up attitude place, you have found the perfect place. This place is just like home. Warm, extremely friendly and best of all, pet friendly. This place is tucked away in the heart of beautiful Sedona.

If you see a negative review from someone on this place, it would only be because they did not like the homeyness and open trust that this place believes in.

Room Tip: Rooms are excellent. Every room is designed differently.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for the great comments, we appreciate our guests! And we love their pets! Our location is the best isn't it? Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

When making reservation months in advance we were told that the Inn was so booked that they had 30 day cancellation period or we loose the entire amount paid in advance for our 2 night stay. That should have been our first clue! During our 2 day stay, the Inn was nowhere near full, even tho we were told this was their high season! When we arrived there was no one to assist with luggage & not even a luggage cart! Our Rim View room was far from luxury! Pillows were flat, towels were worn to the threads! There was a chair in the room that was so disgusting we couldn't sit on it. Nothing at this Inn is complimentary! As seasoned travelers we know most high end hotels/inns provide something that says "thanks for staying here" as a special touch! The only thing we received that we didn't have to pay for was the hair found in our breakfast! The owner did not seem to care that we had this horrible experience & offered nothing to express his concern. Needless to say we did not eat there the next morning! Based on our experience & the fact that there are so many other choices in the area we will not be staying at the El Portal on our next visit to Sonoma!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoolCastles60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We are sorry your stay was not up to your expectations; if we had known there was a hair in your food we would have addressed it. Our cancellation policy is 15 days, not 30. We have over 50 pillows from soft to extra firm, just let us know your preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Nothing corporate or bland about this jewel. While you don't get any views here, there is a palpable feeling of warmth and welcome throught the place. The owners clearly poured immense amounts of time and money into making the facility special. It shows in the no-two-rooms-alike layout, the massive wooden beams throughout, the lovely interior courtyard with firepit and grape arbor, and many other details. Breakfasts in the dining room are a cut above ordinary - forget the diet but try the El Portal omelet. A very happy place.

Room Tip: We four stayed in the big suite, perhaps called the "Governor's". Wonderful!
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pax G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for staying with El Portal Sedona Hotel. We love it when our guests "get" us - the details, and differences. Thank you!
(Oh and the El Portal Omelet, delicious wasn't it?)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This gem was the finale of a 7,700 mile cross country road trip. Well worth the splurge! We landed in Sedona one week before Christmas with the intention of being home for holidays! After arriving, we settled in our private well appointed suite with a private dog area for our pet, we fell in love with the place and the owners . The breakfast menu had great choices and everything was delicious! After getting to know Sedona and the outskirts there was plenty to do. All that being said we ended up celebrating Christmas here with a wonderful home cooked meal . Thank you for having us. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The rooms off to themselves with private dog runs are great!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1lolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

So glad you celebrated the holidays in Sedona, and enjoyed the hotel, food and pet area off your room. There is so much to see and do on a trip to Sedona! We hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
938 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Address: 95 Portal Lane, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: £213 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Sedona Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing