We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite respite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Exquisite respite!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We just spent 3 days at the charming El Portal Sedona Inn with our dog. If I had to nominate a lodging in the category of Bliss, this would be it. The Inn is an adobe hacienda with only 12 rooms, each decorated in a unique style reminiscent of the 1920's and 30's. The attention to detail in the design of the building, and original antique furnishings gave the Inn that special touch that one yearns for, but is hard to find. The Innkeepers & staff have that graciousness that makes you feel that you are visiting friends. Every day I would look forward to the delicious breakfast and upon return in the evening enjoy a lovely happy hour and relax in front of the courtyard firepit. Steve arranged a jeep tour that was one of the highlights of our trip and also provided advice of attractions to see. In fact, I found the Inn's brochure the best guide of activities to enjoy while visiting Sedona. If you are planning a trip to Sedona, go the El Portal Sedona's website and book a stay. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: The Arts & Crafts room has a nice patio and dog yard. The website gives you a tour of each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at El Portal Sedona. We love it when our guests enjoy the wonderful things to do in Sedona, we want you to enjoy what Sedona and El Portal is all about! Jeep tours are FUN!
Thank you for your insightful remarks about our attention to details in the design of the building and antiques.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    45
    24
    18
    4
See reviews for
112
287
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband, 9-year old daughter and I just spent a lovely extended holiday weekend at El Portal. We have been spending family vacations and holidays in Sedona for 25 years. This is the first time we stayed at El Portal but it wont be the last. The property is beautiful, comfortable, and ideally located for short strolls to Oak Creek, and Talaquepaque. Over the years we've enjoyed staying in historic, antique hotels but the El Portal offers all the historic charm of an early 1900s property but with something truely historic hotels and lodges cant offer - huge, luxurious bathrooms! The staff were all very accomodating and friendly and the owners' attention to detail was evident. We will certainly return to the El Portal.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. We stayed in RM 12 and recommend its extra size and sleeper sofa if travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaBurrowsHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for staying at El Portal - we appreciate your attention to detail, and that you loved the bathrooms! :) Our location is very central to many Sedona sites! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My wife and I love to go to Sedona and always stay at El Portal. The owner, Steve is fantastic, as the rest of his staff. I put most of my comments in the TIP section (below) by mistake. So to comment on the rooms, go online or call and you will be able to view each of the rooms photos and videos of each, price and availability. You certainly will want to stay there. Book on line or call. Our next stay with them in just before Christmas, 2014.

Room Tip: Great 12 room hotel in the middle of Sedona. (check a map) The owner, SAteve is nearly always there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbrochtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! It was good to see you again. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is our 5th trip to this awesome inn. Why do we keep coming back? Because we are very particular about where we stay and El Portal fits the bill like no other. In fact, we couldn’t imagine staying anywhere else in Sedona because we’ve had the best. El Portal is quite conveniently located and so uniquely crafted and decorated, that you will not find anything like it − period. Each of the 12 rooms has its own character and style. The atmosphere of the inn is cozy and relaxed, due in part to the friendly and caring staff. Steve and Connie, the terrific owners, are most helpful. Steve is quite knowledgeable about Sedona and the surrounding areas. He is also knowledgeable about other related topics and you will quickly discern that Steve is a really smart guy. Terri, the concierge, is always friendly and helpful and goes the extra mile to get you whatever information you might need to explore. The housekeeping staff – Moré, Sylvia & Esperanza – is first rate and will keep your rooms tidy and provide you with delicious breakfasts. The huevos rancheros and lemon pancakes were our favorites. We truly looked forward to having breakfast in the magnificent great room. This room has a wonderful ambience that is warm and inviting. We have met some of the most remarkable and well-behaved dogs in this room. Around 4:00 p.m., you will find snacks consisting of Sylvia’s homemade salsa (rocking), chips, cheese, olives, fruit and quesadillas.

We stayed in Room 12, the Governor’s Suite, for 7 nights. This room is very large with beautiful antique furniture. There are redrock views from both the living room and bedroom. There is a fireplace that we enjoyed immensely each evening. The king bed is custom made and is so comfortable that you will sleep most soundly amidst luxurious linens.

There is a warming fire in the courtyard to invite you back on chilly evenings. Chairs and blankets are provided so that you can sit and enjoy the aromatic smell of the pinõn wood.

If you are looking for a relaxing, unique stay, and want the feel of being in someone’s home, rather than in a hotel, then you have come to the right place. There is a sense of spirit and wellbeing pervading here and like magic, El Portal will leave you feeling remarkably rejuvenated.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zen2peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
It is always a pleasure when you visit. We look forward to your trips - as much as you do! Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleighr
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I are seasoned travelers and have a great respect for proprietors that go the extra mile for those that have chosen to stay at their property. There are plenty of other hotels in Sedona and we keep coming back to visit with Steve and Connie. We have never had better experiences than those we have had at El Portal Sedona. We visit Sedona twice per year for four to five days each trip and stay with Steve and Connie each time. It is such a comfortable, relaxing and educational experience each time. Don't make the mistake of missing El Portal. You will not forget the experience. Before you leave you will be talking about how fortunate you were to have chosen this great hotel and trying to figure out how and when you can get back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We always enjoy your visits, and appreciate the loyalty. Can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Overall a great stay. Only issue is for the price I really don't feel paying for coffee on an honors system and also breakfast is appropriate. We are seasoned travelers and being nickeled and dimed when one is charged over $300 a night is a bit silly. Otherwise very pleased with our stay but given the choices in Sedona likely will not return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azpabarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We're sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. Coffee is only charged when had with breakfast, and refills are of course free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Each of the 12 rooms are unique and fabulous. The property is walking distance to several restaurants. The breakfasts offered each morning were excellent. This property is pet friendly and the owners were very hospitable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharmon24fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We would love to have you stay with us again! Wonderful that you loved the breakfasts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
1,177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Property: El Portal Sedona Hotel
Address: 95 Portal Lane, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Sedona Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing