We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service and magical location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Butterfly Garden Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing service and magical location!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this beautiful and amazing property. The owners are exceptionally hospitable. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and thoughtfully planned. I've never enjoyed the service and location of a hotel quite like I did here. I was there with my family 1 year ago today and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonPomMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
81
86
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

They have done a wonderful job blending a rustic feel with nice amenities and spectacular service and hospitality. The breakfast baskets are a wonderful addition and start your day off on just the right note. This is a great place with wonderful people.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameronludwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a great place to get that mountain feel with touch's of upgraded soft goods in the cabin. They have done a great job of giving you very nice linens and bedding, super clean and just the right amount of cabin feel. The owners are very nice and always take time to greet my dogs, for breakfast we even get cookies for the dogs! They have a market down on the road with just about a little of everything in it in case you might forget to bring something. Can't say enough good things about The Butterfly Garden Inn. It has become a yearly tradition to get out of the heat in Phoenix and drive up to the mountains for a nice little stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rrrrrrrrr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We are presently staying at The Butterfly Garden Inn between Sedona and Flagstaff. It is our first time, and I must say it is a pleasant, beautiful retreat for the summer. The fires although devastating to many first responders and some home owners has not destroyed the beauty and tranquility of this place. There are so many places to hike, especially right now in Flagstaff . Sedona is quite hot, but flagstaff is remarkable. The creek has been shut off because of the rains, but it has not posed any problem for us. There is still so much to do and see! I would not recommend canceling or postponing your trip. This is great! So quiet, so pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This place was wonderful! Very clean and I am a huge clean freak! The grounds were beautiful. The creek across the road was picturesque and fun to explore with the kids. We have 4 children (1,3,5 & 7) and we felt right at home. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful. Our first morning there we requested that our breakfast be "to go", it was perfect for driving! The cranberry orange scones were the best I have ever had. I wanted to buy more the next day, but they were all out, no surprise there!! The cabin was romantic and family friendly at the same time. My husband and I woke up to look out our window at the rock wall of the canyon, it was beautiful! Second morning breakfast was again great, from the adorable picnic basket left by the door! I could only find two caveats, first is there is no A/C, which usually isn't a problem unless its a little too warm. Half way through the night, if you leave the windows open, it cools down. Which brings me to #2, security. There isn't any so guests are free to come and go as the please, but so is anyone else. We didn't have any issues.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4forMelissaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We live in the north end of Oak Creek Canyon and have been wishing for unique, foodie style dining in the canyon, especially at our end! Our wishes came true! The BUTTERFLY GARDEN INN is now serving breakfast and lunch on their charming patio 7am til 6pm 7 DAYS A WEEK!!!

My husband and sons were celebrating FATHER'S DAY weekend and after hiking the east side of the canyon, stopped by for breakfast and were so impressed with the quality and deliciousness of their breakfast! (Fancy Schmancy was great) lMy husband avoids wheat and had a burrito without the tortilla... I got my chance to try the Inn for lunch earlier this week. I had the southwest burger and the fancy schmancy salad....all really delish! Thank you to Frank for bringing this to us!!! Cole the chef is doing a great job! I'm so grateful! I will be letting our neighborhood in on this! We also had a delightful side show of a momma hummingbird feeding it's young on the patio table...

Room Tip: This Inn is charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had our family reunion at the Butterfly Garden Inn, Sedona, AZ. Despite previous fires in the area, there was no damage. The cabins were a little rustic, but very livable. Ours had a kitchen area, eating area, two full beds divided by a wall and a bathroom. I was a little concerned about the no air conditioning in Arizona in the summer, but with windows open and the slight breeze it was OK, and it cooled off at night. A breakfast basket arrived at our door each morning around 7:00 (earlier when we request it) with pastries, yogurt, granola or cereal, fruit and juice. Kuerig coffee maker was in the room. There was an outside area in the middle of the property where we could meet for dinner we all prepared or brought in. There is a Country Market on property which also has hot breakfast, lunch and dinner to take out. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: There are 18 cabins of all sizes. Ours was in the back and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirl701101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
8.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
8.5 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Junipine Resort
Junipine Resort
#5 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Butterfly Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butterfly Garden Inn

Property: The Butterfly Garden Inn
Address: 9440 N State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9623
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Butterfly Garden Inn, formerly Don Hoel’s cabins, is the perfect destination for individuals, families, and retreat groups who want to relax, unwind, and find refuge from the stress of everyday life. Situated 10 miles north of Sedona in the heart of the Oak Creek Canyon, our tranquil inn has charming cabins ranging from one to three bedrooms with full kitchens, each offering a delicious continental-style breakfast basket delivered to the cabin each morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Butterfly Garden Inn Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing