We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully romantic”

Rene at Tlaquepaque
Ranked #16 of 197 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$35
Cuisines: Southwestern, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sedona Restaurant RENE at Tlaquepaque has been the home of casual fine dining for more than thirty nine years and is still winning awards. Diners appreciate the relaxed fine dining ambiance, attentive and pleasant service, and of course, outstanding food and wines. Locals, tourists and celebrities have made RENE a favorite for lunch and dinner. Make your visit to Sedona special ... Dine with us at RENE, fine food in casual elegant surroundings in Tlaquepaque
goodyear,az
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderfully romantic”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Went here for our 30th Anniversary dinner. The food was fantastic and prepared so well - everything was gourmet presentation. Had Flaming Cherries Jubilee prepared at the table - how fun and delicious!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciab48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    227
    99
    51
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever eaten”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Excellent food, excellent service. A+ all around. We went here for our anniversary dinner and couldn't be happier. We brought our dog because we read they had a pet friendly front patio, and it worked out great. They sat us in a corner with a discreet place for our dog to sit and brought a bowl of water for her right away. I can't say enough good things about the food. We tried the cream cheese stuffed mushrooms for an appetizer and they were very rich, but to-die-for good. Then we shared a small salad and the portobello bisque with truffle oil- amazing! For dinner I had the grilled rare ahi and my husband had the antelope- both very good and cooked perfectly. Creme brûlée happens to be my favorite dessert and I order it whenever it is on the menu- they had a vanilla bean creme brûlée which I tried and it was by far the best I have ever had, anywhere. Definitely go to Rene for a special occassion dinner, you won't regret it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LindsayLCubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Elegance In The Desert”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have been coming to Sedona for nearly twenty years and somehow never made it into René. We had a wonderful "date night" there this past weekend. We sat at the bar and had a couple Pernods (how French is that?) and then were lead to a cozy booth. The ambiance is very Old World romantic -- a breath of fresh air from the omnipresent "southwest everything" in Sedona.

We shared some escargots (yummy), had a couple of their tasty rolls, and each of us had a delicious salad with a warm dressing. One of the best salads I've ever eaten.

Wifey ordered the duck, I got a filet mignon, and we splurged on a bottle of 2009 Gevrey-Chambertin that was incredibly delicious. I liked my filet but the wife's duck was scrumptious and complimented the wine so perfectly. Even the veggies accompanying the entrées were no afterthought. Simply outstanding.

Sam, our waiter, was great and very personable without any phoniness. The hostess/owner Ms. Leatherwood was charming and full of warm smiles.

We finished off this wonderful meal with a perfect crème brûlée and two espressos. Both of us felt giddy at how much we had enjoyed our dinner. We have added René to the top of our "Sedona faves" list.

Helpful?
2 Thank algboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My family had dinner one night at Rene. The four of us had disparate entrees, ranging from raw lasagna (terrible) to Touredors (ok). We were ignored for a long time because of a party of 12. The only memorable items were the onion soup and the wine flight.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Soccer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix, az
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

we went to rene's for our anniversary. The food was great, service was very good, and it was a very nice evening.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank luvshawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rene at Tlaquepaque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing