We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast surprise”

El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #104 of 197 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Description: Enjoy our famous gourmet Sedona breakfasts in our dining room or in the comfort of your own suite. These delicious breakfasts are made with the freshest ingredients. From the El Portal Omelet to Lemon Buttermilk Pancakes, and an array of à la carte items, this Sedona boutique hotel has what it takes to satisfy any appetite! Our breakfasts can be prepared to suit any special dietary needs and substitutions are never a problem. We accept credit cards, debit, and cash. BREAKFAST IS ONLY SERVED from 7:45 am- 10:00 am
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy our famous gourmet Sedona breakfasts in our dining room or in the comfort of your own suite. These delicious breakfasts are made with the freshest ingredients. From the El Portal Omelet to Lemon Buttermilk Pancakes, and an array of à la carte items, this Sedona boutique hotel has what it takes to satisfy any appetite! Our breakfasts can be prepared to suit any special dietary needs and substitutions are never a problem. We accept credit cards, debit, and cash. BREAKFAST IS ONLY SERVED from 7:45 am- 10:00 am
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast surprise”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were staying at Los Abrigados Resort and saw the street sign for El Portal Breakfast. It is a small Hacienda style hotel which has opened it's breakfast to the public. Beautiful dining area, service a little slow that day but food was good. Were we to got back to Sedona, I'd search it out for breakfast again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PSKURNICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“We found this place charming”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I read the other two reviews for the restaurant, and was surprised the comments were on the low side. It is pretty clear the restaurant opens itself to outside patrons for breakfast, otherwise it is for their guests. We enjoyed the atmosphere; unlike one of the other reviewers experience, there were a number of people in and out while we were there. Some were obviously guests of the hotel, others like us were not. My husband had the brie omelet, I the huevos rancheros. Both were quite good, and ample servings. Cost was $12.99 each. Most breakfasts were $12.99, but other options were on the menu. We enjoyed the more "homey" atmosphere, and we would certainly treat ourselves to breakfast here again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nigmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Weird”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The restaurant only serves breakfast and is in the lobby of a small boutique hotel. I'm not sure if the restaurant is more for guests or the public, it was so confusing. It feels like walking into someones private living room. The menu was extremely limited, only about 6 breakfast options. eggs your way, scrambled eggs, omelet, french toast or pancakes with a few a la carte options. Came with frijoles and country potatoes and your choice of toast or tortilla. $12 avg per choice. My husband went with the scrambled eggs and he got scrambled eggs, I got the "omelet" which was not an omelet AT ALL, it was scrambled eggs mushed back together to make a solid mass. If you don't know how to make an omelet, don't have it on the menu. It was just so weird, the food was not very good and I just felt like I made the wrong choice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cayennev8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winslow
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ate breafast here one morning (didn't stay at the hotel)”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We ate breakfast here one morning because we saw an ad claiming to offer the best breakfast in Sedona, and also offered a 10% discount. Breakfast was ok, certainly not the best. The experience was a little strange....we were the only customers and waited patiently while the front desk receptionist was on the phone. Finally helped by what appeared to be an employee in the lobby having some type of meeting. The coffee was self serve in a room off the lobby, we carried it to a table we chose in the courtyard. The waitress brought our check with our food which made it seem like we weren't welcome to sit for long. Even with our 10% discount it was expensive for a breakfast. A strange experience overall, seemed like we were more of a bother than valued customers from the time we walked in until the time we walked out.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymstrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant review - what a turkey”
Reviewed 23 November 2007

We had a once-in-a-lifetime meal at El Portal for Thanksgiving. Never before had I experienced the opportunity to not be told up front what was on the menu or what it might cost. I also had the chance to experience friendly, albeit somewhat clueless service and oenophobic staff. Maybe it was the wrong evening for El Portal, but this place was a pricey turkey.

Helpful?
2 Thank Zedillo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Portal Sedona Hotel also viewed

 

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing