We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Great People - Deserves All the Kudos it Gets”
Review of Adobe Grand Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adobe Grand Villas
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed in the Sedona Breeze suite in February 2014.
Lower level suite near the entrance from parking lot and in the building across from the lobby area
There are tile floors throughout the unit.
The rooms utilize 110V electricity and have plenty of outlets
The bedroom, kitchenette, and sitting area are nicely furnished. The sitting area has a small wicker table and cloth chairs. The kitchenette has a small table and chairs
The gas fireplaces in the suite are dial (time) operated. They do make a clicking noise while the fireplace is turned on. If hearing clicking annoys you, suggest you request a suite without timed gas fireplaces.
There are speakers in the room and bathroom that are wired to a CD player on a night stand
A wall bed is in the suite if needed
King size bed was very comfortable (firm), pillows were very soft (not firm)
There is a deadbolt on the entry door and the patio door to the porch
Master bathroom has large walk in shower and toilet area with a small amount of counter space and sinks. The bathtub is jetted and has a gas fireplace beside it. The shower is large enough for four people comfortable (not that we tried to fit four people). Do not expect a lot of water pressure from the overflow shower buckets.
The tap water is safe to drink. It had no ill effects on us.
There is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. The toilet is eco friendly (water saving). There is a small window that can be opened.
Soaps, shampoo, conditioners bottles are provided daily in the bathroom
You can hear the fountain in the entrance area from the bathroom area in the suite.
A safe is provided in the closet. The locking mechanism is based on a code you choose or a credit card
There is a chest of drawers with multiple drawers in the closet and ample space for hanging clothing
Various type of hangers are provided in the closets.
A hair dryer, ironing board and iron are provided in each room
Ceiling fans are not present in the suite
A bread maker, coffee maker, coffee grounds, small refrigerator, silverware, glasses, plates, coffee cups are provided in the kitchenette. Paper towels are provided
Television in the suite is a flat screen about 32 inches sitting in a wall unit next to the gas fireplace.
The curtains on the windows do a good job of blocking out light
The walls between suites are not soundproof. We heard various noises in the suite above ours.
The maid services did an excellent job every day.
There is a do not disturb door hanger, but they will clean the room with you sitting on the porch/patio area if you prefer.
On porches/balconies two chairs and a table are provided. Great place to sit and watch a sunset.
The wireless network worked well. There is a computer provided for guest usage in the lobby/restaurant area. Connection speeds were good.
Snacks (chips, nuts, granola, popcorn, fruit) are provided each day in your suite.
You can request or deny fresh bread made in your suite each day via a card placed near the bread maker. Types of bread we had were raisin bread, and wheat bread. The smell of fresh bread is intoxicating in the afternoons.

Reception
The front desk is very helpful. They were happy to talk about and book excursions. The reception personnel are full of ideas/opinions on what to do if you ask. There are books and an area with various fliers of activities. Bottled water is provided at the resort if needed. Evening treats (cookies, bars, mini cakes) are put out in the evenings in the lobby.

Excursions
Excursion can be booked through the front desk but can also be booked directly. There are various excursion flyers in the lobby area. The Pink Jeep tours are amazing (recommend the Broken Arrow tour) and is a great way to see various red rock sites in a short time. Renting Rzrs or ATVs is another option that seems very popular. Winery tours are also available.

Restaurant
Breakfast was served daily beginning at 8:30AM. The costs of breakfast are included in your stay. The breakfast meal served changed daily (banana pancakes with ham steak, salmon omelets, yogurt parfaits, etc…). There is not a menu presented to you and you order items. The wait staff tells you what is offered and asks if you would like it. You can order other simple things instead if you please. Tables fill up after 8:45AM-9:00AM, so recommend going early. There is a small number of tables for two people. Breakfast can also be served in your suite if requested. Chef Michael does a lot of excellent meals with great ingredients. We did not eat other meals onsite as there are various restaurants in the area that are amazing.

Pool
There is one small pool located by the lobby/eating area. There is a seating area around the pool. They keep the pool clean even when it is out of season. The hot tub is available all year round. Bottled water and beach towels can be obtained by the pool

Location
The location is in a commercial/residential area. You will drive by various businesses if turning off of Route 89A to reach the resort. The entrance to the resort is not highly visible on Hozoni Road to people not from the area. Just go slow on Hozoni road and you will be fine. The gravel parking lot is large enough for all of the guest’s cars.

Spa
The onsite spa utilizes outside personnel so appointments are necessary. Certain masseurs only do certain types of massages and the appropriate masseur needs to be scheduled. All of the spa personnel we encountered were very professional and thorough. We loved the massages we received and would go back.

Airport
Small airport with some issues, but nothing horrible. Be prepared to wait arriving and exiting via Sedona Airport. We had no issues, but the check in process, baggage check, and security can take longer. The views descending and ascending from the planes are worth the wait.

Car Rental
We rented a vehicle from Budget Rent A Car. The pickup process was drawn out and unneeded items were pushed. The return process was painless and quick. Recommend renting a vehicle with higher clearance if planning on visiting any trails not on paved roads as some of the parking lots are off of gravel roads that are not level/cleared.

Notes

Recommend reservations at restaurants for nights, as the best places get booked up quickly in high season. Go to Thai Spices, Picazzos and Barking Frog if on a budget. Splurge at L’Auberge or Elote Café for a special meal if possible. Most restaurants are fine with business casual dress. Most restaurants were accepting of a collared shirt/nice T-shirt and nice shorts/jeans for men for dinner.

There are various grocery stores in West Sedona. The best grocery store we found was Frontier Natural Foods for all natural items. There is also a Safeway in West Sedona for cheaper options.
We loved this place and would recommend it to anyone. The setting is great but the personnel working at the resort really make a difference. From Gabriel at the front desk helping with tours and ideas to a different Gabriel going out of his way and tending to a peculiar guest’s needs to Michael’s great meals and surprises this place is very special and deserves all the kudos it gets.

Room Tip: The gas fireplaces in the suite are dial (time) operated. They do make a clicking noise while the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buffgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

How many hotel rooms do you walk into where you smell freshly made bread in your bread maker??? What an amazing first impression! Not to mention a beautiful room! My husband, who never comments about any hotel room, told me twice how pretty and nice this room was!

I booked the Antiquities Room, and it was beautiful. I honestly can say that I've never stayed anywhere and had as many "extras" in a room as here. The fridge had lots of butter (for that bread!) in addition to sodas, water, creamers, etc. They also had a basket with lots of different munchies; Fritos, trail mix, nuts, microwave popcorn, etc. If that wasn't enough food, you can go to the lobby and get snacks, candy bars, along with a coffee bar which has teas, cocoa, cider, appetizers before dinner, and then after dinner they put out cookies for your sweet tooth!

Several super-nice things that happened...which made them go over and above in the customer service category....we arrived about 9:45am even though we weren't checking in until later that afternoon. The staff was so thoughtful in asking us if we had eaten breakfast and then they immediately whisked out a placemat, napkins, silverware, and then crepes were in front of us! Who does that?!?!? Then, I forgot to flip the sign over saying that we wanted fresh bread, and when I told the gentleman who did the turndown service that I made a mistake, he ran off to get us some dough for our bread maker. Also, I went to the office the night before we left just to let them know that we were going to be leaving by 6am to get to the airport and they prepared a "to go" breakfast for us to eat while we were driving to Phoenix....waters, scones, bananas, trail mix, an apple, and an orange. Again, who does this?!?!?

It's those little extras that put them off the charts! My only complaint is that our two nights weren't enough!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank beck1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at the Adobe Grand Villas in Sedona and it was truly a wonderful experience. Our room was beautiful, and the food, prepared by Chef Michael, was extraordinary. We particularly enjoyed the private dinner he prepared our first night-truly a memorable meal. But despite all this, what truly stood out about this bed and breakfast was the unfailing friendliness and hospitality of every staff member. We also appreciated the complimentary beverages and snacks, a truly welcoming touch. We travel a lot, and we both truly felt that this is the nicest place we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

When we drove into the parking lot, my first impression was the hotel/bed and breakfast was not very large, and the street it is on looked like it belonged to a suburb. But our room was huge, as was the bathroom. I believe that each of the rooms are different -- our was the Sagebrush, and it had interesting furniture, a desk area, a sitting area, a fireplace, a small kitchen, a balcony with a table and two chairs, and a bathroom with a separate shower (the water came out of what looked like a large vase) and a bathtub with jets. The breakfast was superb -- we met the chef, Michael, who offered us a different breakfast each morning, with the option of ordering whatever else we wanted. We also had one of his dinners -- excellent. And the service was wonderful. The person who welcomed us and showed us the room was very helpful, and whenever we asked for a recommendation of where to go in Sedona, the people working there came up with great ideas.

Room Tip: Look on the website -- they have photos of the different rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This place is over the top! Each room has its own theme (we stayed in the Timbers)and they are all equipped their own bread maker which they bake daily at 3pm. When you enter the room it smells heavenly... like grandmas kitchen. The food is glorious! Chef Michael is a genius. Each course of our dinner was served by the chef personally in our room (he only does 2 in room dinners a nite so reserve him early). I had pretzel crusted salmon and he had a garlic goat cheese stuffed filet... both to die for! The other staff are all so pleasant and go out of their way to please their guests. Will definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MakesMeSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

From the minute Gabe and Michael greeted my husband and me at the door - to the yummy breakfast-to-go for our long drive back to Los Angeles, three days later-this boutique hotel experience was amazing! We stayed in the French Quarter suite and it was so romantic and comfy with a lovely mountain view! The feather bed feel of the California King bed was heavenly and the 2 fireplaces and the two person Jacuzzi tub are really a lovely treat! We had fresh baked bread ready for us each day and the hors d'oeuvres at 4 pm were so good. I can't wait to try Gabe and Michael's recipes.

Our friends from Phoenix came to visit us and it is just a little hard to find late at night, so make sure to ask for really detailed directions when you make reservations - especially if you are coming in late. We also had dinner at the Oak Creek Brewing Company and Ken's Creekside which were recommended by Michael and they were both yummy-especially the BBQ Ribs at Oak Creek.

It is so nice to find a whole crew of hoteliers that really know how to treat guests. The lovely ladies who take care of the rooms are always smiling and everyone seems like they love their jobs! A real treat when traveling in this country!

We can not wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms look very nice online but we only saw the French Quarter,the Silver Spur and the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belgin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Yes, there were some averages during my stay at this place. First, if you are a first time visitor to Sedona and arriving late at night as I did, this place is hard to find. Poorly sign posted and so well hidden that not even the local gas station attendant knew where it was. At 10.30pm, looking for this place for 30 minutes, I was well lost.

But one of the managers, Gabriel, actually answered his cell phone at 10.30pm and directed me where to go. Good service was a 5. Locating the poorly sign posted place was a 2.

Indeed Gabriel cooked during the weekend. He isn't quite Nobu Matsuhisa or Jamie Oliver. Home cooked food is what you will get and it is a 3+ quality.

But, they will make you anything you want, give you more food and bring it to your room. They listen and serve. Another 5.

The room was the White Dove. Enormous and romantic with a superb view. A bathroom as big as most hotel rooms. Exquisitely appointed, superb king bed, lush carpet, Jacuzzi tub and elegant walk in shower. Fresh bread and little chocolates. Absolute 5.

Beaten and tired, I tried the spa. Masseuse Robin, a reiki master, listened to everything I said and used her well proven hands to make me feel 10 years younger. Another 5.

And finally, when I put it all together, I simply haven't been treated better in a hotel in the United States for a very long time. This place is a throw back of valuing guests that predates today's electronic age as the hotel is full of people with great interpersonal skills. What a concept. I WILL be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank saravanan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.0 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
971 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Inn Above Oak Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.0 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Grand Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Grand Villas

Address: 35 Hozoni Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336-3765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#1 Family Hotel in Sedona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#1 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#9 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £306 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adobe Grand Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Thunder mountain in Beautful west Sedona, Conveniently located to the areas best restaurants and shopping. Enjoy the serenity of our 900 ft or larger, grand private villas, complete with freshly baked bread in your room. Gourmet breakfast prepared fresh daily, and complimentary snacks, and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adobe Grand Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Grand Villas Hotel Sedona
Adobe Grand Hotel
Hotel Adobe Grand
Adobe Grand Villas Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing