We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some issues this time around...”
Review of Wyndham Sedona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Sedona
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We'd stayed here previously, in a larger one-bedroom unit on a second floor and with a balcony. Other than some sound issues, that unit at that time was very good.

This time, however...
We were assigned to a ground level one bedroom unit which I would call a "studio" or B-unit. No balcony but there were a couple of chairs and a small table outside our door. The best part of the unit was the king-sized bed: super comfy with nice linens. The old style TV in the bedroom required use of two remotes to operate. The small bathroom contained a conventional shower/tub and toilet room with the door rubbing against the toilet in order to close. The towels were old and rough. The shower head was awful. Minimal gel/shampoo/conditioner/soap provided. There was a single vanity with decent counter space. There was small washer/dryer unit with detergent, but the washer wasn't working properly. The "great room" contained a modern kitchen and appliances, but, again the set up with the door to the bathroom blocks kitchen drawers and cabinets. There were no "steak" knives but the pots/pans were adequate. The sleeper sofa is oddly angled in order to open, but you had to crane your necks to the left to watch the high-def TV sitting on the cabinet. The dinette chairs were way too low for the table height...it was comical. Wi-Fi worked fine and the unit was clean.

I signed up for the timeshare "update", mainly to get the promised printed catalogue for my elderly mother who owns the time, but when I showed up to the desk at my appointed time, they said that my husband also had to attend. They were willing to re-schedule us but we had other plans. Love the hassle of a timeshare - not.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe one bedroom rather than a studio/economy unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunriseAddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in a 1-bedroom unit for 3 nights in early October. The room was spacious and well-appointed, and very comfortable indeed. We didn't have a view of the rocks from the room, but could see the rocks when we were on the walkway. We didn't spend much time during the day at the resort anyway, so the lack of view didn't bother us. Check-in staff were friendly, we received the sales pitch about time share but were not pressured to attend one of their information sessions. Well, she asked if we would like to book a slot but we said we'd just like to settle into our room after a long day of driving and we never got back to her! You get discounts on jeep tours etc in exchange for your time, but the discounts were not for anything we wanted to do or buy. The resort has an activities room and swimming pool, but we didn't use these facilities. The resort also runs activities daily, including movie nights, astronomy nights, various lectures etc, but we didn't attend these either. If we had had a longer stay, we probably would have joined in some of the activites.

Our unit was on the second floor with no balcony or view. The kitchen was small but functional. We never got around to cooking a meal here, as we were out for too long each day, but there were sufficient utensils provided. There is a washing machine and dryer in the unit, and we used these daily. A small amount of washing powder is provided, sufficient for our 3-day stay. The king bed was comfortable and we all slept well. There are ceiling fans which we used each night, rather than using the air conditioning. We did not hear any noise from the neighbouring unit - although the people below us complained about my children running around for about half an hour at 9.30am while we were packing up the morning we left. Apparently they sounded like elephants so if you have sensitive ears, request an upper floor unit.

The resort is in a good location in West Sedona. There is a Safeway nearby, and also an organic grocery store - I don't recall the name. There are many good restaurants around, and it's a short drive to Uptown Sedona as well as Cathedral Rock and other attractions.

We would happily stay at this resort again should we return to Sedona.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was the 2nd half of a hastily planned and booked family vacation as our first plans got rained out (Colorado flooding). Sedona came highly recommended by good friends and as we love the outdoors and natural beauty, decided to give it a go. As the booking was last minute, the accommodations available in the area was limited. Once I found the Wyndham, I stopped looking, as I had stayed at Wyndham properties before and loved them. This property was no different.

I did ask for an upgrade at check-in, hoping someone had cancelled, but as this was a bit of the peak season for the area, no such luck. Not the fault of Wyndham, I blame the Colorado flooding. Check-in was quick and easy, I believe the lady assisting me was Ingrid, very sweet and actually had lived close to my home some years ago. The property was clean, inside the room as well as the grounds around the resort; the location was great as well. Just minutes away from some of the most popular hiking trails (Cathedral Rock, Devils Bridge, Doe & Bear Mntn) as well as just minutes away from Uptown Sedona (this property is considered to be in West Sedona). The staff was quickly able to make recommendations as to which trails to hike, which restaurants to visit and provide directions to the local grocer as we did have a full kitchen.

Overall, the room was very nice. The kitchen and dining area were a bit small, but that is to be expected in a resort/condominium style room. The bedding was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and clean. Should I return to Sedona (and I hope to one day) I would definitely try to stay at this Wyndham property again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beau J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent a week at the Wyndham Sedona and really enjoyed our time there. We traveled on Wyndham Points and did sit through another sales pitch (which we declined). Our room was a deluxe one bed room with a balcony on the second floor, facing the mountains, which was exactly what we requested. We were however, surprised that our balcony overlooked a mobile home park. We did have an unusual smell in our room, which we ultimately decided was probably from bug spray. They provided a fan which helped a lot.

The area is really beautiful and the October weather was amazing. We participated in a number of the resort activities, some of which were really lame. However, don't miss the presentation by Brian Benally called: "Debunking Hollywood's Portrayal of Native Americans." It was well worth the time.

On Sunday morning they provided a lousy "continental breakfast" with presentations on some of the tours and other activities. Even though they offered tours of Indian reservations, they neglected to tell us that the Indian reservations were closed that week because of ceremonies.
We did the off-road jeep tour and the Verde Valley Train trip which we really enjoyed.

Room Tip: If you don't mind steps, request a second floor with balcony facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hi Fran,

Thank you for providing this feedback along with activity suggestions. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the resort amenities. We hope you come back to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I are Wyndham owners and by far this is one of the nicest resorts we stay at. Guess it has to be since it is in Sedona which is by far one of the most beautiful cities in the United States. The resort is in the main part of Sedona yet off of the main highway. Very clean and laid back, we needed this after spending 4 days in Vegas. We had a one bedroom deluxe on the 2nd floor that overlooked the mountains. the room was very large with a Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom in addition to the shower. All resort employees were great especially Joe the consignor. Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: 2n floor that overlooks the mountauns
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter194940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Sedona while staying at the Wyndham Resorts. We had a two bedroom unit which was comfortable. The unit, itself, was spacious, however, the furniture was fairly dated, or not to my liking. The resort is located on 89A in West Sedona. Coming out of the resort to the main road (89A) was visually appealing as the red rocks were directly in front of you. The resort booked a tour of Sedona for us as an introduction to the area at their cost. It was great. We booked a tour, thru the concierge,for a full day Red Stone tour of the Grand Canyon, some indian ruins and a dormant volcano area with lava beds included. Lynn our tour guide was informative and entertaining. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Wyndam Resort and the Sedona area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deutschamericanwand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

great staff and the location is almost beyond description. we were there in mid September so NO kids and a lot of calm. Usual extortion racket with Wyndham to get your parking pass from the prelude to the owner update scam? Just blow off the [--] get your pass and get to your unit. If your fist time do figure out how to get the bus tour of the town before you venture out. Driver was great and very helpful. Relaxation is the key to the town and the resort. Plenty of fresh air and clear sky. Hiking is a must do,however respect the desert and the altitude. It would take some effort for a visitor to be disappointed with Sedona, but there are some people that could not organize a rock fight? Oh, view the sunset and the stars from the airport. I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvergoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for providing this great feedback including some great suggestions for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the resort location and area activities. We hope you come back to visit for another relaxing vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.4 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2.2 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#21 of 49 in Sedona
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Sedona

Address: 1500 Kestrel Circle, Sedona, AZ 86336-5923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sedona
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#22 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £112 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Sedona 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sedona Hotel Sedona
Fairfield Sedona
Wyndham Sedona Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing