We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for young kids”
Review of Rainbow Trout Farm

Rainbow Trout Farm
Ranked #47 of 156 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for young kids”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Had a blast with the kids. It is difficult to extend the fishing time....really no sport to this. But the kids loved catching them anyway. Friendly owner, nice setting. We cooked up our fish for lunch, so bring some sides and drinks with you. You can also switch out your extra fish for smoked trout, which is a nice way to extend the fishing time. Yes, it can get pricey, but it was still a lot of fun. Would go back if we are in the area again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    30
    8
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Beginner's Blast”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We saw the sign for the Trout Farm while heading back into town from photos at Slide Rock. Our three-year-old had recently been asking to go fishing, so we decided to take a look. I figured we'd pay the $1 fee and snap some cute pictures. We weren't dressed or prepared to "really" go fishing!

Thirty minutes later our sides were hurting from laughing and we had caught two fish! It took another few minutes for them to clean and pack the fish in ice, and we were back on the road to Phoenix. Our son had a ball and has been telling anyone who would listen about his "fishing trip." Once we got home, I grilled both fish in foil (per the directions on the brochure) and we had a great family dinner laughing over our "adventure!"

Total price was $28 and well worth it for us (we are bonafide city folk!). For those with young kids who want to try fishing, this place is perfect!

To echo other reviewers, however, pace yourself. You pay for every fish, so make sure you watch the budget. We stopped at two fish and let our son feed the rest of the bait to the fish from the bridge.

Next time, we'll allot more time, bring the grandparents and some side dishes, and have a picnic!

Helpful?
3 Thank lalagirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
289 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We spent an hour on a snowy late morning, after our t-time was canceled, fishing. We had a great time in spite of the cold and snow. If tge weather was nice, we would have grilled our fish on the BBQ's available for customer use and had a terrific picnic. Instead we traded for smoked trout and paid the difference. Cheap entertainment that cheered up my disappointed hubby.

Helpful?
1 Thank rocklvr03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
311 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Easily catch trout & stay to cook a meal for lunch...too cool.”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

If you have never fished or want to have a fun time catching fish - this place is an easy catch.
Because this is not a catch and release pond - the best way to get the most out of the experience is to cook the fish you catch. You do not need to bring anything - they provide everything: bait, fishing pole, bucket, net, and hook remover.

Once you catch fish - and it is very, very easy to catch fish - almost too easy, you can have them gut the fish and provide you with cooking stuff - for only $1.50 per fish. As a family of 3, we caught 3 fish, had them gutted and got the cooking contents for each fish plus drinks which cost us about $35.

All around the pond are tables and BBQs. Once the fish is gutted, chose your table and start following the directions of wrapping the fish in the foil with butter, lemon, salt, garlic powder, and pepper - place on the grill for 10 minutes each side and the fish is ready to eat and delicious. Recommend stopping by the grocery store before and getting some additional food to include with your trout - salad, potato salad - or anything to make it a complete meal. Be careful as trout bones can be tricky - so eat slowly and look for bones before eating.

If you dont plan to cook the trout while you are there - then I probably would not recommend it as you are missing the full experience.

YOU DO NOT HAVE TO BE A PROFESSIONAL. BE WILLING TO TOUCH THE FISH TO GET THE HOOK OUT. THE BAIT IS NOT SMELLY AND THE FISHING POOLS ARE A STRING ON BAMBOO - NO SKILLS NEEDED. TRY COOKING IT - SUPER, SUPER EASY AND IT TASTED GOOD.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ALinCA5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You are not allowed to throw the fish back.”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

If you are a beginner or want to eat trout, go here. It's two small lakes so stocked with fish that if you have your pole in it for seconds you will catch a fish. They do not permit you to throw back the fish no matter what. We offered to pay for the fish and throw back, but they said no, you had to keep it out of the water once caught. So you are really there for fish to eat, not for the fun of fishing, which is more our thing. We were there about 5 minutes, caught enough for dinner and left. It was about 8 to 10 dollars per fish caught and they clean them for 50 cents, which is nice. The fishing rods were not the kind with a reel, but it was just a stick with a string hanging from it with a triple prong hook. One person was there who is a chef who loves trout and he said that it was cheaper then buying fish. But for my family, we just like to fish. This was not the right place since you HAD to keep everything you caught and you caught the fish immediately upon throwing your hook in the water. If you have little kids who just want to catch a fish, love to eat trout, or need help with fishing, this would be a good place for you.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleJanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainbow Trout Farm also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Trout Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing