We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our three night stay in Sedona”
Review of Star Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Motel
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were driving through Arizona and called to make a short notice reservation. The clerk Sue stayed and waited on us as 89 was closed due to a forest fire, and we had to come from the other end. Stayed 3 nights. Rooms clean, good service and right down town where we could walk in the evening and the view from our room was breath taking. Had coffee on the little porch outside our room. It wasn't like a reg. Motel, more like a little vacation suite.

Room Tip: They have one bed and two bed rooms. We had room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

we thought of staying overnight but stayed for four days. The hospitality from the people in charge was brilliant. Good location, would happily stay again. The room (6) was small but pleasant, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If there are more than two people ask for the suite. Two bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and lounge. Del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doreen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I share different standards when it comes to motels. He just needs a big screen TV, a shower and a place to sleep. I like those things too but cannot overlook when a place appears neglected. Although this is a quiet, centrally located motel right next to downtown and the owners could not be more pleasant and helpful, I think a bit of the rental fees should go into some new carpeting (dingy and not cleaned in awhile) and a good scrubbing in the corners of the bathrooms. The worst was the shower curtain liner: dark and moldy along the bottom, crusty and brown - a sure sign the owner has not looked in a while at the rooms. I love to give positive reviews but this place needs some TLC - new and cheerful bedding and an overall cleaning. For the price you cannot expect luxury but these small things make tourists feel welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JUDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked for 3 nights, based on other reviews and price point. Centrally located in downtown "Old Sedona" so very convenient to all the major tourist attractions, either walking or very short drive.
Room very basic, but adequate amenities, comfy bed and very clean. Mini-fridge and micro handy in the room. No in-house restaurant but you are steps away from a number of places to eat.
My one criticism would be the noise - just no escaping it,whether it was the trash pick up at 7 AM, or the constant flow of traffic, or the construction zone next door. Relatively quiet at night (though one of the nearby restaurants cranked their music late into the night). I would have bumped the rating to a four, if not for the noise factor. Perhaps more solid doors facing street-side would mitigate the noise.
Overall, a decent, well-priced place with great hospitality by the owner.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the motel may be a quieter option, at least until the construction next door is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripperGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Very affordable price right in the center of it all. I loved not having to move my car and being able to just walk from shop to shop, Anne was delightful and truly appreciated each of her guests. Will recommend to family and friends looking for a quick getaway on a budget.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from Sedona and stayed at the Star Motel for five nights. Perfect location for dinning and shopping all within walking distance of a half a block or less. The owner Anne and her staff were great in answering any questions and making your visit a joy. If your looking for a reasonable price place to stay without all the fancy stuff this is the place. The motel is very clean with comfortable beds. We will be staying there again on our next trip to Sedona.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdr0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My dad and I stayed at the Star Motel for one evening after spending four days backpacking in the grand canyon. Like many of the reviews say, the rooms are basic, however they are clean and the beds are comfortable. Anne, the owner, is definitely the best part of the motel and she had excellent recommendations for massages, dinner, and breakfast. The location is great, it's within walking distance of all the shops throughout Uptown Sedona, and for the price, you can't beat it. I would stay at the Star Motel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kajaro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.7 mi away
Sedona Village Lodge
Sedona Village Lodge
#30 of 49 in Sedona
176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sugar Loaf Lodge
Sugar Loaf Lodge
#38 of 49 in Sedona
307 reviews
3.2 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#27 of 49 in Sedona
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.5 mi away
Sedona Motel
Sedona Motel
#35 of 49 in Sedona
371 reviews
6.3 mi away
Desert Quail Inn
Desert Quail Inn
#6 of 49 in Sedona
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Motel

Address: 295 Jordan Rd, P.O. Box 1320, Sedona, AZ 86336-4281
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sedona
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £93 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Motel is located in the historic center of Sedona, uptown. Location, location, location! Galleries, restaurants, and shopping. The motel has been family owned for over 35 years. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Queen and king sized beds, walk in showers with seating, free Wi-Fi, parking in front of guest rooms. All rooms have red rock views. All rooms are non-smoking & no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Sedona
Star Motel Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing