We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TRIED TO RIP US OFF!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Loaf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sugar Loaf Lodge
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TRIED TO RIP US OFF!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

WHAT A CRABBY OWNER ! The reason we selected this motel was because it said pet friendly. All we had to do was declare we had a pet ( a 5 lb Chihuahua ) which we did....both my wife and I told him before we paid ! We put our luggage in the room and left to meet friends....we took Lola with us and did not return until midnight. We checked out at 7:35 the next morning and had Lola in a crate overnight...she was NEVER on the carpet or the bed ! At 7:56 we received a text from Jerry Nelson the owner that we had violated the pet policy and we could expect a $50 charge on our credit card for pet cleaning ! Since we had maxed out the card for the room the card was declined. At 8:14 am Jerry then tried to recharge $25 to our card which was also declined. At 8:22 he then tried to recharge our card for $10 and it was again declined. He gave up ! Now tell me what's wrong with this picture!!

Consider the math ! They have 16 rooms...all pet friendly. Considering that let's say they have only 4 rooms a night with pets...once you check out he charges $50 per room after you have left....let's say only 2 dispute the charge...that's $100 extra per day he charges without cause...multiply that by 7 days times 365 days...he is ripping off his guest for at least $36,500 a year !!! And since it is a pet friendly motel I would guess my estimate is very low !

THIS IS A CON MAN! He is counting on his guest to just pony up and not dispute the charge

Room Tip: See if pool is well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bj E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    120
    32
    15
    4
See reviews for
67
118
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

What a delightful surprise our stay at the Sugar Loaf Lodge was. Started out booking because ratings were good and price was great. Was a GREAT find! Clean and Sufficient for our needs. Sedona is such a "out door" town that we only wanted a clean, comfy bed each night. Sugar Loaf was that and more.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are best. off road and closer to pool and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hamlinmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar City, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

When we first saw the Sugar Loaf, although I had read reviews on TripAdvisor, I was skeptical. It doesn't look like much from the outside but it was a great little place. I was impressed with the clean smell when we walked into the room. Although the place is old, it is well maintained. The A/C worked well, the beds were comfortable and it was very clean. The fridge was a plus and worked well. I will definately stay there the next time I visit Sedona and would encourage anyone else looking for a small and inexpensive motel to give it a try.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTravlin616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

You can't beat the price and location on this motel! Beds were decent and comfortable. Hot tub was perfect after a day on the trails in Sedona. Jerry is very helpful and interesting. We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Sedona!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanditoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This little property is more than it seems. Great pool, hot tub and barbecue area at the back. Nothing fancy but then if that is what you are looking for please feel free to look elsewhere and pay much more. The room was spacious, clean and had all the amenities. Fridge, microwave, coffe maker, ironing board and iron were all there when I arrived. Very friendly staff and always willing to help out. Central to everything from shops and restaurants to trails and sights. Save your money for what Sedona has to offer and stay at the Sugar Loaf Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

After reading several review on Tripadvisor, we settled on the Sugar Loaf. We wanted a clean, non-chain motel and what we found was this and more! Jerry in the office was helpful and awesome. The 24 hr hot tub and BBQ were perfect after a day of hiking and the room was clean and spacious (Rm 16). We met other travellers who told us they always stay here while in Sedona and having repeat customers is always a sign you are doing something right.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cary, nc
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

This place was clean, friendly, well-located and retro. Making reservations was extremely easy as was the check-in/check-out process. It was a very quiet room with comfortable beds. It was nicely located with many restaurants, shops and amenities within-in walking distance. In fact, directly across the street is a great restaurant, Picazzo's Organic Italian Restaurant. I would recommended this budget hotel to my friends. The only reason that I am giving the service a 4 is because the owners were away and the staff, although incredibly friendly, was doing double duty.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamparedmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.5 mi away
Sedona Village Lodge
Sedona Village Lodge
#45 of 48 in Sedona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#31 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sedona
Hampton Inn Sedona
#30 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
1.1 mi away
Whitehouse Inn
Whitehouse Inn
#44 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Andante Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Loaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loaf Lodge

Property: Sugar Loaf Lodge
Address: 1870 W State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-5534
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#18 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One level 15 unit guest rooms. Family owned and operated for 14 years.In-Room Refrigerators. King and Queen Beds. All Rooms Non-Smoking. Walking Distance to Shopping & Restaurants. Private in-room baths.Air Conditioning and electric heat in all guest rooms. Limited Pet Friendly Rooms (must be declared upon check-in). 24 hour cancellation policy(day before check-in). Free High-Speed Wireless Internet. Pool and Whirlpool. Scenic Views. Close to Hiking and Mountain Biking Trails. Shopping, Restaurants. Tours. Theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Loaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Loaf Hotel Sedona
Sugar Loaf Sedona
Sugar Loaf Lodge Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing