We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Drive This Stretch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Rock Scenic Byway (SR 179)

Ranked #2 of 149 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must Drive This Stretch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

WOW is all I can say. As you drive this stretch of road from I-17 into Sedona, WOW is all you can say. The red rocks are unbelievable. Being from the midwest with flat land, mountains are invigorating....but RED mountains were AWESOME!!!! We drove this road many times during our week stay in Sedona.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,406
    388
    40
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Fire had charred trees earlier in the summer, but the views of the rock formations were still gorgeous. We stopped for a restroom break at one of the scenic outlooks and found Native Americans had set up tables with crafts that were lovely. The road had been closed earlier and had recently opened, but other travelers reported that the road had been closed again a few days after our trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scenic trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I enjoy travelling by car because of the scenery. I loved travelling alon the Scenic byway for this reason. It's quite colorful, and I enjoy the desert scenery with all the beautiful colors.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Glorious Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The scenery was unbelievable with plenty of places to stop and get out of the car. The drive was not harrowing as some other scenic drives I have been on. It was not that crowded. I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nannelson1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is possibly the prettiest road in Arizona. Keep your eyes on the road and use the pull offs to enjoy the view.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 557NancyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Rock Scenic Byway (SR 179) also viewed

 

Been to Red Rock Scenic Byway (SR 179)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing