We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sedona Cathedral Hideaway
Nearby Hotels
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arabella Hotel Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
GreenTree Inn Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Rock Inn(Sedona)(Great Value!)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$498
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
327
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
327
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafari roomcathedral rockkathy larryhomemade ice creambed and breakfastsleep numbergrand canyoneach morningwonderful hostshiking trailsdinner reservationslarge showerupstairs roomjetted tubfour nightsgas fireplacewe've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This was our first trip to Sedona and after doing a lot of research we settled on this B&B. It was the best decision we made for our vacation. Originally we were scheduled to stay four nights, but by the fourth night we had to stay another. My wife and I are in our 40's with no kids and travel a lot. From the moment we arrived Kathy & Larry (owners) made us feel at home. They are down to earth people that really enjoy what they do and it shows in how quickly they make you feel like part of their family. They showed us around their very spacious home and the property it sits on. The views from their home of the red rocks and especially Cathedral Rock are spectacular!!

B&B Overall:
The home is large, clean, well decorated and has amazing views from the large picture windows throughout the house. Kathy & Larry give you free run of the house making you feel at home. There are various nuts, chocolates, bottled water, soda and homemade ice cream available 24/7 which is all included in the price. Larry makes the ice cream and I always made sure to have a bowl each night. The views while sitting outside on the deck/patio are breath taking and the peacefulness is very soothing. We even had a pack of Javelina's walk within 8 feet of us while sitting out on the patio. Another perk is the free wi-fi throughout the house.

Room:
We stayed in the upstairs room which is more like a suite. The views from the room are awesome. The room has a queen size sleep number bed, large walk in closet, two person Jacuzzi tub, his/her sinks, large walk-in shower, fireplace, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator along with a couch and two chairs. Our bed was turned down each night with two chocolates on it. It didn't take us long to feel comfy in this room.

Breakfast:
Kathy & Larry cater to your breakfast needs. They will accommodate special diets and food allergies. They have a book of breakfast items mainly used for suggestions, but will prepare what ever you like. Their breakfast kept us full all day long and had us thinking about what we wanted to order for the next day. One word to describe their breakfasts, YUMMY!!!!

Kathy & Larry even put together some fruit and snacks for our day trip to the Grand Canyon. They also supplied us with maps on how to get there and a map of Sedona. They set up a hiking tour and massages for us during our stay. If planning to do any hiking or tours in Sedona, have Kathy & Larry arrange them for you. They arranged our hiking tour which was a private personal tour and we loved it. We can't say enough about our experience at Cathedral Hideaway. The best compliment we can give is to say we will be back and soon!!

Thanks Kathy & Larry for your wonderful hospitality and turning a great vacation into an awesome vacation!!! Wayne & Janet

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We made two great travel choices recently. #1 was to visit Sedona. #2 was to stay at Sedona Cathedral Hideaway. Sedona is lovely and peaceful with magnificent views everywhere you look, and that's also the best way to describe the Cathedral Hideaway! This B&B/home of Larry and Kathy Jaeckel is the perfect location to stay during your visit to Sedona. It is located along a quiet residential road just outside Sedona. The large home is lovely, as is the 2 acre setting, and it's so quiet here that it's hard to believe how close you really are to Sedona. The views along this road are stunning, as is the view of Cathedral Rock from the B&B.

Larry and Kathy go out of their way to make you feel at home and to provide anything you need. Since there are only two rooms for guests , and since they also live in the large home, they are available to pamper you in any and every way. You are welcome to make use of their large kitchen if you need to grab some plates or glasses, and you can also sit in their beautiful living room or other places inside the home. There are also many chairs outside, not just on the deck, but also here and there throughout their property, making it easy to find a quiet place outside to read or just relax as you wish.

Both rooms are luxuriously furnished with anything you could need. We stayed in the Evergreen Room, which is on the main floor and is a bit smaller than the Safari Room located directly upstairs. The only downside that we could see to staying in the Evergreen Room is that is has a queen bed instead of a king bed. If you need a king bed, then stay in the Safari Room.
(BTW, the bed was WONDERFUL!) Also, you can hear water running down the pipes from the upstairs room when you stay in the Evergreen Room, but it's nothing that should deter you from staying in this room. In fact, when my wife and I return, we most likely would choose the same room for the lower price. One advantage to the Evergreen Room, besides the lower price, is that a door from the room opens right onto the deck, which is very handy!

Although Kathy and Larry have a menu of sorts from which to choose your breakfast every morning, you can pretty much make up your own menu as you go. If you want an omelet, for instance, you can choose what you would like in it. Everything is pretty much made to order. We had a variety of items while we stayed here, ranging from yogurt parfaits to omelets to blueberry pancakes, always with fresh fruit, a juice of your choice, and coffee or tea. All of it was delicious and expertly cooked and presented.

The only unpleasant thing to report is that their home/B&B is for sale!! Our strong advice is to visit Sedona and stay here before the place sells!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCHideaway, Owner at Sedona Cathedral Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you so much for your kind remarks, they are very much appreciated. When you stayed with us the B&B was for sale but at the beginning of June we took it off the market and it is no longer for sale. Again, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We travel often. We stay at B&B’s frequently. Perfect, unique, amazing, understatements for our Cathedral Hideaway stay. Far from just a comfy place to lay your head, Larry & Kathy welcome you into their luxurious home with warmth, genuine and sincere. The room, view, made to order breakfasts, beyond fabulous! Pampered, nurtured and rejuvenated, reluctantly we left for home after three short days. However, not before a hot wax hand massage by Kathy and an open mindedness ready to accept experiences that seem to defy logic! But don’t just take my word for it, read all the glowing reviews! Thank you Kathy & Larry for a milestone celebration far beyond anything we could have imagined.

Room Tip: The safari room is wild!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mormor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The Sedona Cathedral Hideaway puts other B & Bs to shame. Kathy & Larry welcome you into their home as if you are family or old friends. The rooms have everything you could ever want and even more. The view of Cathedral Rock is spectacular. The choices for breakfast are endless, and they will prepare for you anything you like. They are always ready and willing to help you with activities, tours or dining options. Larry keeps homemade ice cream in the freezer and it is always available. We had this 2 nights and it is delicious. Thank you Kathy & Larry for making our first trip to Sedona so very special.

Room Tip: The upstairs room is bigger but both are great.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

More than a B&B, Kathy and Larry share their home with you. We stayed in the Safari room and along with Evergreen Room, the planning of the home provided a direct view (directly in the middle of a picture window) of Cathedral Rock. The wall was positioned perfectly for this during construction. The furnishings were perfect and spotless. We decided to eat in the Safari room to spend as much time as possible in the house. For the technically oriented, the use of solar panels to generate electricity for the home is very interesting and an excellent example of solar applications. The food was excellent with an extensive menu for breakfast with an opportunity to request something not on the menu which is hardly likely. We also wanted a guided tour that Kathy and Larry arranged which was private and suited our needs perfectly - we had a "medium" hike due to a broken ankle and bad knees. Mike was an outstanding tour guide. We have stayed in many B&B's and Cathedral Hideaway stands out as the best. The patio and garden area provide a quiet and relaxing area if your length of stay permits.

Room Tip: Hard to distinguish - Safari room is on the second floor, Evergreen is on the first. Both are perfectly positioned with the same excellent view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews