We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sedona Cathedral Hideaway
Ranked #16 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful honeymoon stay at the Hideaway. Larry and Kathy took care of everything, from booking restaurant reservations to suggesting good hikes. We especially loved the extensive selection of wonderful breakfasts. Being able to walk to Red Rock Crossing is wonderful. We wanted some privacy and distance from crowds. The location of the Hideaway is perfect for allowing you quick access to Sedona when you want to go out, but without cramming you into a motel or being on the main strip. This is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plantimals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

This place is truly amazing. My wife and I were looking for a destination that
1) was totally unlike anywhere we had been before. (usually we go to the mountains, the beach, big cities.)
2) was way romantic
3) had killer food nearby to match the best of the Bay Area.
4) was totally posh and set with thoughtful detail without feeling pretentious
5) was near to outdoor adventure-- either hiking or mountain biking.

All of these things we found in Sedona Cathedral Hideaway. And more, actually, because Kathy and Larry turned out to be the best- and I mean the best- B and B hosts anyone could ask for. They were amazingly helpful in locating whatever we needed, giving advice on the to-do's, and providing whatever was needed. All of this without ever seeming overbearing or intrusive.

We loved Sedona Bike n Bean for rentals and trail tips. Rented bikes for 3 days. Warning, as far as trail difficulty, "moderate" Sedona felt equivalent to "advanced" in most other areas. Make reservations for your bike in busy season.

That italian restaurant...go there. Kathy and Larry will tell you the one.

Room Tip: bottom room has back access to outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This was our first trip to Sedona and after doing a lot of research we settled on this B&B. It was the best decision we made for our vacation. Originally we were scheduled to stay four nights, but by the fourth night we had to stay another. My wife and I are in our 40's with no kids and travel a lot. From the moment we arrived Kathy & Larry (owners) made us feel at home. They are down to earth people that really enjoy what they do and it shows in how quickly they make you feel like part of their family. They showed us around their very spacious home and the property it sits on. The views from their home of the red rocks and especially Cathedral Rock are spectacular!!

B&B Overall:
The home is large, clean, well decorated and has amazing views from the large picture windows throughout the house. Kathy & Larry give you free run of the house making you feel at home. There are various nuts, chocolates, bottled water, soda and homemade ice cream available 24/7 which is all included in the price. Larry makes the ice cream and I always made sure to have a bowl each night. The views while sitting outside on the deck/patio are breath taking and the peacefulness is very soothing. We even had a pack of Javelina's walk within 8 feet of us while sitting out on the patio. Another perk is the free wi-fi throughout the house.

Room:
We stayed in the upstairs room which is more like a suite. The views from the room are awesome. The room has a queen size sleep number bed, large walk in closet, two person Jacuzzi tub, his/her sinks, large walk-in shower, fireplace, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator along with a couch and two chairs. Our bed was turned down each night with two chocolates on it. It didn't take us long to feel comfy in this room.

Breakfast:
Kathy & Larry cater to your breakfast needs. They will accommodate special diets and food allergies. They have a book of breakfast items mainly used for suggestions, but will prepare what ever you like. Their breakfast kept us full all day long and had us thinking about what we wanted to order for the next day. One word to describe their breakfasts, YUMMY!!!!

Kathy & Larry even put together some fruit and snacks for our day trip to the Grand Canyon. They also supplied us with maps on how to get there and a map of Sedona. They set up a hiking tour and massages for us during our stay. If planning to do any hiking or tours in Sedona, have Kathy & Larry arrange them for you. They arranged our hiking tour which was a private personal tour and we loved it. We can't say enough about our experience at Cathedral Hideaway. The best compliment we can give is to say we will be back and soon!!

Thanks Kathy & Larry for your wonderful hospitality and turning a great vacation into an awesome vacation!!! Wayne & Janet

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We made two great travel choices recently. #1 was to visit Sedona. #2 was to stay at Sedona Cathedral Hideaway. Sedona is lovely and peaceful with magnificent views everywhere you look, and that's also the best way to describe the Cathedral Hideaway! This B&B/home of Larry and Kathy Jaeckel is the perfect location to stay during your visit to Sedona. It is located along a quiet residential road just outside Sedona. The large home is lovely, as is the 2 acre setting, and it's so quiet here that it's hard to believe how close you really are to Sedona. The views along this road are stunning, as is the view of Cathedral Rock from the B&B.

Larry and Kathy go out of their way to make you feel at home and to provide anything you need. Since there are only two rooms for guests , and since they also live in the large home, they are available to pamper you in any and every way. You are welcome to make use of their large kitchen if you need to grab some plates or glasses, and you can also sit in their beautiful living room or other places inside the home. There are also many chairs outside, not just on the deck, but also here and there throughout their property, making it easy to find a quiet place outside to read or just relax as you wish.

Both rooms are luxuriously furnished with anything you could need. We stayed in the Evergreen Room, which is on the main floor and is a bit smaller than the Safari Room located directly upstairs. The only downside that we could see to staying in the Evergreen Room is that is has a queen bed instead of a king bed. If you need a king bed, then stay in the Safari Room.
(BTW, the bed was WONDERFUL!) Also, you can hear water running down the pipes from the upstairs room when you stay in the Evergreen Room, but it's nothing that should deter you from staying in this room. In fact, when my wife and I return, we most likely would choose the same room for the lower price. One advantage to the Evergreen Room, besides the lower price, is that a door from the room opens right onto the deck, which is very handy!

Although Kathy and Larry have a menu of sorts from which to choose your breakfast every morning, you can pretty much make up your own menu as you go. If you want an omelet, for instance, you can choose what you would like in it. Everything is pretty much made to order. We had a variety of items while we stayed here, ranging from yogurt parfaits to omelets to blueberry pancakes, always with fresh fruit, a juice of your choice, and coffee or tea. All of it was delicious and expertly cooked and presented.

The only unpleasant thing to report is that their home/B&B is for sale!! Our strong advice is to visit Sedona and stay here before the place sells!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCHideaway, Owner at Sedona Cathedral Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you so much for your kind remarks, they are very much appreciated. When you stayed with us the B&B was for sale but at the beginning of June we took it off the market and it is no longer for sale. Again, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We travel often. We stay at B&B’s frequently. Perfect, unique, amazing, understatements for our Cathedral Hideaway stay. Far from just a comfy place to lay your head, Larry & Kathy welcome you into their luxurious home with warmth, genuine and sincere. The room, view, made to order breakfasts, beyond fabulous! Pampered, nurtured and rejuvenated, reluctantly we left for home after three short days. However, not before a hot wax hand massage by Kathy and an open mindedness ready to accept experiences that seem to defy logic! But don’t just take my word for it, read all the glowing reviews! Thank you Kathy & Larry for a milestone celebration far beyond anything we could have imagined.

Room Tip: The safari room is wild!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mormor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The Sedona Cathedral Hideaway puts other B & Bs to shame. Kathy & Larry welcome you into their home as if you are family or old friends. The rooms have everything you could ever want and even more. The view of Cathedral Rock is spectacular. The choices for breakfast are endless, and they will prepare for you anything you like. They are always ready and willing to help you with activities, tours or dining options. Larry keeps homemade ice cream in the freezer and it is always available. We had this 2 nights and it is delicious. Thank you Kathy & Larry for making our first trip to Sedona so very special.

Room Tip: The upstairs room is bigger but both are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

More than a B&B, Kathy and Larry share their home with you. We stayed in the Safari room and along with Evergreen Room, the planning of the home provided a direct view (directly in the middle of a picture window) of Cathedral Rock. The wall was positioned perfectly for this during construction. The furnishings were perfect and spotless. We decided to eat in the Safari room to spend as much time as possible in the house. For the technically oriented, the use of solar panels to generate electricity for the home is very interesting and an excellent example of solar applications. The food was excellent with an extensive menu for breakfast with an opportunity to request something not on the menu which is hardly likely. We also wanted a guided tour that Kathy and Larry arranged which was private and suited our needs perfectly - we had a "medium" hike due to a broken ankle and bad knees. Mike was an outstanding tour guide. We have stayed in many B&B's and Cathedral Hideaway stands out as the best. The patio and garden area provide a quiet and relaxing area if your length of stay permits.

Room Tip: Hard to distinguish - Safari room is on the second floor, Evergreen is on the first. Both are perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
2.4 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
952 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,387 reviews
1.9 mi away
A Sunset Chateau
A Sunset Chateau
#7 of 29 in Sedona
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Cathedral Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Cathedral Hideaway

Address: 30 Serendipity Trl, Prices: $285 - $340 - 2 Suites Only, Sedona, AZ 86336-9167
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: £186 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new, private sanctuary with spa services. Personal attention like no one else offers with two large luxury suites. Everything designed for your needs and taste. A one-of-a-kind B&B where indulgence meets peace and tranquility on two breathtaking wooded acres; on a hill overlooking the famous Cathedral Rock & Pyramid Peak. Let the star studded sky, wildlife and friendly hummingbirds win your heart. Labyrinth & medicine wheel on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sedona Cathedral Hideaway Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing